We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Couronne(Zermatt)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Astoria(Zermatt)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Eden Wellness(Zermatt)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
192
133
21
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
133
21
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmatterhorn viewpancake stationtrain stationgreat hotelgreat viewrun hotelcable carrecommend hotellong weekendski rentalconvenient locationfamily roommodern bathroomyogurtrestaurants and barsbreakfast buffeteasy access
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We decided on relatively short notice to go skiing in Zermatt the last week of Dec/first week of January--a peak time. We were able to get a reservation here and it worked out great. Hotel Bristol is in the heart of town. Just up the stairs from the ski shuttle and walking distance to restaurants and shops. The owner, Francis, was attentive and went out of his way to make sure we had a good experience. He was friendly and made our dinner reservations and made good suggestions for other activities. He was accessible and spoke to all the guests personally, in multiple languages. We had a great view of the Matterhorn from our room. (Must be on the right side of the hotel for this.) The other staff were very friendly and accomodating as well. We would stay here again without hesitation. Had a great experience.

Room Tip: request a Matterhorn view
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Travelling out of season in Switzerland can lead to some great surprises. We stayed in this hotel having found a good rate for it at the tourist info centre near the railway station in Zermatt. We arrived at night so it wasn't until the morning that we were able to appreciate the room we had. Our room had a clear view of the Matterhorn and viewed at sunrise, just as the sun hit the tip, it was a moment to treasure forever. The room has very comfortable beds (twin) and a small, but clean and modern bathroom. All very clean and fresh. The staff were very chatty and helpful regarding an evening meal (as we specifically wanted something local) and a great game of wooden ten pin bowling in the sports bar underneath the hotel was a great end to the evening. The breakfast was very fresh and had a super selection of juices, meats, breads and the usual cereal. This was our first visit to Zermatt and based on the our out of season stay, we would return in season without question.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Matterhorn.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We were so impressed with this hotel, it seemed they had thought of everything a guest may need. Centrally located, our hotel room for three was simply decorated, spacious, comfortable and clean. We had an enormous balcony, that ran the length of the room and offered a view, although not of the Matterhorn. The bathroom, with bath, was light,a good size and clean. There is also a wellness centre which we didnt use, plus it seemed, toys for younger children's use.

Breakfast was great, with a large choice and the opportunity to make your own pancake /waffles and boil your own egg, with individual ladles and egg timers...cute! The staff were so helpful and friendly, suggesting two great restaurants for dinner. We nearly always eat out, but the menu for their own dining room actually looked really good.

They offer an Ipad for complimentary use with complimentary wifi and had a constant supply of complimentary chocolates on the reception desk. Children gave this property a big thumbs up. In a town that is astonishingly expensive, we thought this represented great value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foreignshores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I am writing from my room in the Bristol - with a fabulous view of the Matterhorn - having stayed an extra night because I felt so comfortable here. Last night I stayed in-house for dinner and it was a delicious version of a home-cooked meal! This hotel is clean, modern, efficient but also small enough to feel cozy - and the owner Frances, along with Karolina at the front desk have been outstanding - very good choice for a solo professional woman. Ski bus stops right in front and the Matterhorn gondola is an easy stroll down the same street. My only disappointment was that the wellness facilities closed at 8pm and the guest computer was not set up to allow for me to get some work downloaded but I should have checked on that capacity on my own! I would happily return to this personable hotel.

Room Tip: Paying a little more for the Matterhorn view is worth it e.g. Rm 404 got morning and afternoon sun - but the other side mountain view (e.g. Room 402) was also very nice.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globalist2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We booked through Expedia and chose the lowest class double room for $170/night, which is very inexpensive for Zermatt. We were pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel is, and by how nice the room was. The staff was very friendly, and they even upgraded our room for free. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are updated, and the breakfast is free. What more could we ask for?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews