We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #36 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Hotel Bristol in March as a last minute trip. We knew this hotel from the past, having spent a week there almost 10 years ago. The hotel is centrally located, close to bus stops to Sunnegä and Little Matterhorn Express. With the change in owner, it has been partially redecorated.The room was on the smaller size, nevertheless, we managed to store all our belongings. The bathroom was certainly tiny, however it's layout is just what you need and the shower perfect. Hairdryer and bathrooms amenities are provide. Best mattrasse ever! Good breakfast with a lot of choice. The halfboard is fair priced and we heard from other guests that it was worthwhile. The very best however is the stunning view from your room balcony (furnished and has hooks to airy your gear) to the Matterhorn! Don't miss the sunrise!
Hotel Bristol offers a good price/value ratio bearing in mind it is Zermatt!

Room Tip: Room with Matterhorn view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunflower651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights (sort of at the last minute) in March after deciding to extend a 2 week stay in Zermatt (the first 2 weeks were in an apartment). As a result of our last minute booking there were limited options available with most hotels being fully booked. We selected the Bristol based on lt's ocation as all available hotels were more or less the same price for the same standard of accommodation.

The Bristol is a relatively small hotel which seems to be very well run - owner/manager has a very visible presence - rooms are "as documented" on their web site - 22 or so Sq M - well laid out with lots of clothes storage and a small but modern bathroom. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room on the 4th floor had a fabulous view of the Matterhorn. The breakfast, which is included in the room rate, was pretty good. The ski room is very convenient. There is a mini-bar in the room which is only filled on request, which is a great idea as you can buy anything you would like (e.g. snacks, soft drinks, juices, alcohol etc) in the mini-mart right outside the hotel at very reasonable prices.

The hotel offers half-board which we did not use - there are plenty of excellent restaurants with a minute's walk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxury-lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We decided on relatively short notice to go skiing in Zermatt the last week of Dec/first week of January--a peak time. We were able to get a reservation here and it worked out great. Hotel Bristol is in the heart of town. Just up the stairs from the ski shuttle and walking distance to restaurants and shops. The owner, Francis, was attentive and went out of his way to make sure we had a good experience. He was friendly and made our dinner reservations and made good suggestions for other activities. He was accessible and spoke to all the guests personally, in multiple languages. We had a great view of the Matterhorn from our room. (Must be on the right side of the hotel for this.) The other staff were very friendly and accomodating as well. We would stay here again without hesitation. Had a great experience.

Room Tip: request a Matterhorn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Travelling out of season in Switzerland can lead to some great surprises. We stayed in this hotel having found a good rate for it at the tourist info centre near the railway station in Zermatt. We arrived at night so it wasn't until the morning that we were able to appreciate the room we had. Our room had a clear view of the Matterhorn and viewed at sunrise, just as the sun hit the tip, it was a moment to treasure forever. The room has very comfortable beds (twin) and a small, but clean and modern bathroom. All very clean and fresh. The staff were very chatty and helpful regarding an evening meal (as we specifically wanted something local) and a great game of wooden ten pin bowling in the sports bar underneath the hotel was a great end to the evening. The breakfast was very fresh and had a super selection of juices, meats, breads and the usual cereal. This was our first visit to Zermatt and based on the our out of season stay, we would return in season without question.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We were so impressed with this hotel, it seemed they had thought of everything a guest may need. Centrally located, our hotel room for three was simply decorated, spacious, comfortable and clean. We had an enormous balcony, that ran the length of the room and offered a view, although not of the Matterhorn. The bathroom, with bath, was light,a good size and clean. There is also a wellness centre which we didnt use, plus it seemed, toys for younger children's use.

Breakfast was great, with a large choice and the opportunity to make your own pancake /waffles and boil your own egg, with individual ladles and egg timers...cute! The staff were so helpful and friendly, suggesting two great restaurants for dinner. We nearly always eat out, but the menu for their own dining room actually looked really good.

They offer an Ipad for complimentary use with complimentary wifi and had a constant supply of complimentary chocolates on the reception desk. Children gave this property a big thumbs up. In a town that is astonishingly expensive, we thought this represented great value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foreignshores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I am writing from my room in the Bristol - with a fabulous view of the Matterhorn - having stayed an extra night because I felt so comfortable here. Last night I stayed in-house for dinner and it was a delicious version of a home-cooked meal! This hotel is clean, modern, efficient but also small enough to feel cozy - and the owner Frances, along with Karolina at the front desk have been outstanding - very good choice for a solo professional woman. Ski bus stops right in front and the Matterhorn gondola is an easy stroll down the same street. My only disappointment was that the wellness facilities closed at 8pm and the guest computer was not set up to allow for me to get some work downloaded but I should have checked on that capacity on my own! I would happily return to this personable hotel.

Room Tip: Paying a little more for the Matterhorn view is worth it e.g. Rm 404 got morning and afternoon sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globalist2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We booked through Expedia and chose the lowest class double room for $170/night, which is very inexpensive for Zermatt. We were pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel is, and by how nice the room was. The staff was very friendly, and they even upgraded our room for free. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are updated, and the breakfast is free. What more could we ask for?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Daniela
Hotel Daniela
#43 of 110 in Zermatt
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#16 of 110 in Zermatt
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Schluhmattstrasse 3, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#26 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#33 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £129 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing