We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family run hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #37 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great family run hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This hotel is set in a wonderful location, right in the centre of zermatt, it's a 5 min walk, or 2 min electric car ride. The staff were very helpful, informative, and friendly. Clean room, very warm and cosy! The breakfast is limited, but it's free, and so that made it taste very nice ! I stayed in the style hotel, which is 4 star, and the Bristol is way better! Very nice steam room, sauna and jacuzzi!

Room Tip: Go for the Matterhorn view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisatkinsonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    116
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
111
108
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kathmandu
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

The hotel is a 10mins from the station.the room had a lovely view and nice.but the bathroom was very small but was clean.the hotel had steam,sauna jacuzzi which we enjoyed.the view from the room was breathtaking.had a great stay.the breakfast was very small but ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniKathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Although we just stayed one night in Hotel Bristol, if we are ever in Zermatt again, I would definitely choose this hotel. The owners did a wonderful job renovating the sleeping rooms. Our room was modern with clean lines and felt very spacious.

But the best part of the hotel is the rooms facing the Matterhorn. It is totally worth the extra money to upgrade to a Matterhorn view room. We woke up to a slightly cloudy day, but we could watch the clouds move past the mountain and see the changing scenery right from our balcony. We had a room on the 5th floor, and it was completely unobstructed. Wonderful!

We didn't use many of the other amenities at the hotel, so I can't comment on the quality of the spa/sauna. But the breakfast was very good, with a very nice selection of bread, cheese, cold cuts, some hot foods (soft boiled eggs, pancakes, sausages etc), fruit salad and even gluten free options.

The Hotel Bristol is such a nice little retreat in Zermatt, and I would say the prices are quite competitive. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors facing the Matterhorn are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank expateurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here with our two teenage sons the week before Easter and had a lovely time.
The location of the hotel is nice and central, in comfortable walking distance to all lifts (in snow-board boots), and centrally located for eating out in the evening.
The rooms are very comfortable, and bathrooms have been recently renovated and are modern and comfortable.
Breakfast was lovely, choice of everything, fruit, Bircher-Musli, cereals, eggs, bacon, sausages, pancakes, everything.
Staff both at reception and in the dining room are friendly, attentive and very helpful - we even got our son the best haircut ever, which was booked by the receptionist.
Transfer from Tasch (where you park your car) up to Zermatt and then to the hotel by the electric buggy was seamless. In short a very easy and comfortable stay.
The view from the window in the morning of the Matterhorn was spectacular - what a welcome to Zermatt.

Room Tip: Get one that faces the Matterhorn, so you can wake up to the view of the mountain every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Hotel Bristol in March as a last minute trip. We knew this hotel from the past, having spent a week there almost 10 years ago. The hotel is centrally located, close to bus stops to Sunnegä and Little Matterhorn Express. With the change in owner, it has been partially redecorated.The room was on the smaller size, nevertheless, we managed to store all our belongings. The bathroom was certainly tiny, however it's layout is just what you need and the shower perfect. Hairdryer and bathrooms amenities are provide. Best mattrasse ever! Good breakfast with a lot of choice. The halfboard is fair priced and we heard from other guests that it was worthwhile. The very best however is the stunning view from your room balcony (furnished and has hooks to airy your gear) to the Matterhorn! Don't miss the sunrise!
Hotel Bristol offers a good price/value ratio bearing in mind it is Zermatt!

Room Tip: Room with Matterhorn view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflower651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights (sort of at the last minute) in March after deciding to extend a 2 week stay in Zermatt (the first 2 weeks were in an apartment). As a result of our last minute booking there were limited options available with most hotels being fully booked. We selected the Bristol based on lt's ocation as all available hotels were more or less the same price for the same standard of accommodation.

The Bristol is a relatively small hotel which seems to be very well run - owner/manager has a very visible presence - rooms are "as documented" on their web site - 22 or so Sq M - well laid out with lots of clothes storage and a small but modern bathroom. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room on the 4th floor had a fabulous view of the Matterhorn. The breakfast, which is included in the room rate, was pretty good. The ski room is very convenient. There is a mini-bar in the room which is only filled on request, which is a great idea as you can buy anything you would like (e.g. snacks, soft drinks, juices, alcohol etc) in the mini-mart right outside the hotel at very reasonable prices.

The hotel offers half-board which we did not use - there are plenty of excellent restaurants with a minute's walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxury-lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
453 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We decided on relatively short notice to go skiing in Zermatt the last week of Dec/first week of January--a peak time. We were able to get a reservation here and it worked out great. Hotel Bristol is in the heart of town. Just up the stairs from the ski shuttle and walking distance to restaurants and shops. The owner, Francis, was attentive and went out of his way to make sure we had a good experience. He was friendly and made our dinner reservations and made good suggestions for other activities. He was accessible and spoke to all the guests personally, in multiple languages. We had a great view of the Matterhorn from our room. (Must be on the right side of the hotel for this.) The other staff were very friendly and accomodating as well. We would stay here again without hesitation. Had a great experience.

Room Tip: request a Matterhorn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#40 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#32 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#16 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambiance
Hotel Ambiance
#58 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 3, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#26 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#33 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing