We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #35 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

My friends and I stayed for 11 days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We all had fantastic views of the Matterhorn and the rooms were clean and reasonably sized. Francis and all of his staff were very friendly, accommodating and made us feel at home. The meals were excellent, especially the dinners which consisted of five delicious courses each night.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank KentToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you ver ymuch for your feedback. We will inform the kitchen about the good job there doing. It would be great to greet you some other time in our hotel. Regards Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    124
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
115
115
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

we came to Zermatt looking for views of the Matterhorn and were not disappointed as we could see it from our hotel room. Waking up a little earlier and opening our curtains showed this amazing view of the Matterhorn. Our room was very comfortable and breakfast was very enjoyable. The location is excellent and only a short distance away from the train station. The staff were very helpful in many ways.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcfinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you very much for this positive feedback. We would be very happy to greet you some other time in our hotel. Greetings from Zermatt, Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zabul, AF
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was a decent, clean, reasonably priced (by Swiss standards) hotel in a good, central location. The best thing about this hotel was the breakfast. This was probably the best (inclusive) hotel breakfast spread that I have ever seen! The staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The facilities are nice and ample, and I didn't even have time to enjoy all that they offered. I didn't get a room with a view of Mont Blanc as I had hoped, but the room's view was still quite beautiful. The only negative is that the room was quite small. I was traveling solo, so it wasn't a big deal to me, but two people with big suit cases might find the conditions a bit crammed. Perhaps other rooms are more spacious. The location is close to the main drag, but do take a taxi to and from the train station if you have heavy bags - it's a bit of a trog.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Mont Blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolZermatt, Owner at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. The next time we will try to get you in a room with Matterhorn view. Our single rooms unfortunately do not have Matterhorn view.

Greetings from the sunny moutains
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

During our stay, an extended weekend end of January, we were several times impressed by the over average service minded staff, who really kept us comfortable the four days we where there.

The hotel has a central location, nice and clean, good breakfast and a friendly staff!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SushiTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Our first trip to Zermatt in January 2014 which won't be our last as we must go back and a big part of the must will be that we stay at the Hotel Bristol.
What a delightful find was this hotel. Staff were super efficient, very friendly and always eager to help with any request. We felt so at home and relaxed being welcomed so fulsomely.
The location is fantastic, right on the bus stop to the ski lifts and only a brief 1 minute walk to the Main Street.
Our room was great, plenty of space by European standards and the bathroom was excellent.
Breakfast was included in our tariff and it was first class.
We loved Zermatt, such a beautiful place and are determined to return. When we do, we will definitely be staying at the hotel Bristol.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Francis (the owner) was so wonderful. He knows everything about Zermatt and skiing. Great views of the Matterhorn on a clear day and there's very good complimentary breakfast with lots of choices of great food. At 6:00 Francis and his wife Josephine host an apero with prosecco and delicious passed hors d'oeuvres. We had a terrific stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked this 3-day, 2-night long weekend months ago, and have been blessed with perfect fresh snow, and bright blue sky, the view from the bedroom was incredible, straight on the Matterhorn, what else to ask for?
We asked to be moved to another room when we arrived as it did smell of cigarette smoke. We got upgraded with one of the top floor rooms, very spacious, very clean, with nice balcony and of course full view on the Matterhorn, from the bed. The staff was very friendly, everyone one of them. Breakfast was one of the best I ever had (I am on a gluten free diet and they had so much choice of gluten free bread, cakes, cereal). The spa area is small but perfect for what you need after a long day out skiing in the cold.
It is very quiet even though it's right next to a busy bar. We will definitely go back there next time we are in Zermatt.

Room Tip: The room we had under the roof was fabulous, quiet with perfect view, number 503 if you can chose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cunningpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#44 of 110 in Zermatt
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.1 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#26 of 110 in Zermatt
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
902 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 3, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#26 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#33 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing