We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in Zermatt”
Review of Hotel La Ginabelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Ginabelle
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful hotel in Zermatt”
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We had a wonderful time at La Ginabelle. Great food; very nice and polite staff: very clean with plenty of towels; very good room size. The only "negative" point are the pillows...too soft and square shaped! I will sincerely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    70
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
124
99
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Scotland
Level Contributor
240 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

This family run hotel is a real gem. Our room was very large and felt more like a suite as there was a sofa, small table etc. It gave the feeling of being very homely and well looked after. The meals were very good and overall we could not complain about anything. There is a beautiful swimming pool and other leisure facilities to allow the guests to feel pampered. The decor within the hotel is typical of the region with lots of wood and yet a very contemporary feel to it all. Would recommend this to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasvegas-marmalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We stayed in the family room on the top floor. A double bed and a loft with two singles. Huge bathroom, and a interesting type of whirlpool tub. Nice room.
Breakfast buffet looked pretty standard for Swiss / Europe standards, but we found out at the table you could order eggs, ham, and omelets, so well above average.
We didn't try the restaurant for any other meals.
This hotel is a short walk from the train station in Zermatt - very close to the shopping area.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

This hotel deserves a higher rating. The decor is traditional alpine, so not slick, but there is a comfort and a cosiness here which is hard to find elsewhere. No the staff do not grin and gurn like waitbots, but they are quite sincere and helpful. The food is really, really excellent, and I am picky about food. Please do treat yourself to Austrian wines while you are here - they are lovely and good value, even the pricier ones. Spa is very good - I had six treatments and I found the people mostly to be very experienced and results oriented. You are not simply receiving a half hearted treatment designed more to treat your mind than your body here - they believe in what they do! The bar is quiet because there is so much apres ski in Zermatt, but the staff is good, the pianist is fun and the scene is quietly convivial.

The kids club is the real selling point here - and it could be improved. There is a nice array of activities on offer, but the week we were there there was a group of feral French children, seeming orphans, running riot and being malevolent, disrespectful and when they could get away with it, violent to the other children. This should have been handled better. They need more than one hapless person on duty in the kids club, and a robust policy toward children who are violent. We have stayed at Ginabelle more than once, and on previous visits the kids club was not so chaotic.

Nonetheless I would not hesitate to stay here again - in spite of the aformentioned feral children, by and large the clientele here at Ginabelle is very good. People are quiet, quietly friendly, and behave themselves. There is no rowdiness. This is a lovely hotel for a famliy looking for an excellent ski holiday with child care and wonderful food.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beauchamptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosmalen, Holland
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We had a lovely spacious room. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We booked only bed & breakfast, breakfast buffet was balances and fresh eggs were made on request.
I had a wonderfull full body massage. And the lady in the bar made a delicious Caipirinha without alcohol........ ! We liked the seperated wellness areas; one for families and one 'real' one, very clever! Easter sunday the breakfast tables were wonderfull decorated, compliments to the staff and the family.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I visited a dozen hotels in Zermatt during the last 15 years, but this was definitely the worse experience. The most stunning fact is that the hotel owners try to save where ever they can ... this is surely their right to make their business profitable, but then they should do it in a clever way without the customer noticing it at every turn. I turned up at the wellness at 7.15 pm (supposed to close at 8 pm), when every sauna was already turned off. The staff switched it on again, but explained to me that this was standard procedure at this hour to save costs ... Internet in the hotel ... only at the reception desk ... I wanted to pay my bill with a Diners credit card (accepted as stated) when the employee asked me for another credit card because Diners was charging so high fees to them she told me ...
The most important cutback is the friendliness of service, no smile, very brisk answers, no real help ... except for the porter ... but then he told me when he waited for me to deliver my skis back to the shop not to be too long else his boss would get very upset with him ...

There are plenty of good hotels in Zermatt, even for a smaller price, the new wellness is great to be fair, when then a hotel is about service and feeling well, which doesn't happen at La Ginabelle.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roblux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2010

I read several reviews that mentioned unfriendly staff, but that was not my experience at all. The staff were very friendly, curteous, and professional. The views are fabulous!! Because it's a block of f the main street, it was very peaceful and quiet. but within easy walking distance to all of the restaurants and shopping. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmbtwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christiania Mountain & Spa
Christiania Mountain & Spa
#25 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunstar Style Hotel Zermatt
0.3 mi away
Resort Hotel Alex
Resort Hotel Alex
#13 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Ginabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ginabelle

Property: Hotel La Ginabelle
Address: Vispastrasse 52, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel La Ginabelle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every Season our guests enjoy the overall recovery and relaxation. Our strength is to make your holiday experience a unique dream. With us you will not only fill up with joie de vivre but also feel at home during your vacation. Families and single traveling couples will feel comfortable likewise at Hotel “La Ginabelle”. The jewel of the house is our new vitality world. Besides the in and outdoor "good mood fun pool" with the various water attractions, herb bath, finnish sauna, salt water steam bath, infrared sauna, tropical shower and relaxation room with water beds, the "La Ginabelle" offers its guests a wide range of beauty and other treatments. And additional reasons to visit us are the quiet but central location of the hotel – 2 minutes walking distance to the mountain railway and the valley descent; the outstanding gourmet cuisine, family and children friendliness and the high quality equipment and furnishing of our hotel. Your host, the Abgottspon-Schell family and staff are looking forward to welcoming you soon at the "La Ginabelle". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Ginabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing