We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant and a huge thanks to all the staff”
Review of Hotel Mirabeau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mirabeau
Ranked #14 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Even though I travel constantly in USA and Europe - this is the first time I've felt I had to write a review. The hotel was exceptional - the room was spacious, clean, comfortable with a great balcony, breakfasts were amazing with plenty of choice and the evening meals and the service in the bar was great. But what set this hotel apart from the rest for me was the service from the owner and all the staff - with a special mention to Duarte. We were there on a skiing holiday and my partner broke his leg on the first day, the support, help and service we received from the hotel was amazing, well over and above what they needed to do. So a big thank you to the Mirabeau and I can not recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: South facing room with balcony with a view of the Matterhorn was beautiful
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp T, Assistant to the General Manager at Hotel Mirabeau, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Rhian G,

thank you very much for taking time to rate us on tripadvisor so outstanding! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

We always try to live courtesness and hospitality service at one, as we are convinced, that individual service is not only necessity but more a heartfelt philosophy. We are very happy, if it pleased you.

Skiing is of course what Zermatt lives of - beside of the Matterhorn and the vast choice of other activities. Sadly, your partner could enjoy the white snow sport only shortly.

As our hotel provides many opportunities to dwell, we hope you enjoyed our SPA area, the WineLounge, the chimney bar and of course our restaurants zerMatta as well as the fine-dining Corbeau d'Or! Our culinaric highlights are created by our head chef Alain Kuster and his crew.

We sincerely hope, you'll be coming back one day and experience the full skiing area again! In the meanwhile, we send you all our best wishes and please help us to pass our "Get well soon!" wishes to your partner!

Sunny regards from Matterhorn village,
Philipp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mirabeau
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

What a great way to start the New Year! On arrival at the train station we were greeted by the porter who took our bags and drove us to the hotel, a very short drive away! Whilst the porter took our bags to the room, we were given a tour of the hotel and its facilities to ensure we knew how to make the most from our stay.

We chose a room with a Matterhorn View which didn't fail to dissapoint, a spacious room with a private balcony and incredibly comfortable beds - much needed after not having ski-ied for years!

The hotel not only has an indoor heated pool but a wellness centre too which my wife took full advantage of, she dissapeared each day for an hour in the relaxation and steam rooms whilst I preferred the sauna!

The food was great. The breakfast was typically European and whereas I'd normally opt for a full English, I enjoyed a healthy omlette cooked to my liking my the chef. Alison revelled in the fresh fruits with yoghurt, pastries, assorted breads, swiss cheeses and meats. The evening meals were quite a treat -I've never experienced such a sumptuous five course meal on a half board basis before!

The hotel is perfectly located for making the most of Zermatt's three ski-lifts; Sunnega, Gornergrat and Furi. The hotel was just 5 minutes walk to Gornergrat, 10 mins to Sunnega and 2 mins to the bus stop that takes you to Furi for free.
In addition to being perfectly located for the ski-lifts the hotel is centrally positioned and just a short walk from the main street where all the shops, bars and restaurants are located.

My wife and I throughly enjoyed the international feel of the hotel. In the hotel we met a couple of other British families but many other nationalities including American, Austrailian, German, French, Spanish and Russian, it really felt like we were on holiday.

There are many other great things I could say about the hotel; Josephs bar, the heated ski locker room, pc and printer for public use (free of charge), the chocolates they presented us with on departure, the fact they sent us our ski goggles (we forgot to pack them) back to England for us.

They say New Year, New You - well that is certainly what my wife and I felt after a week's stay at Hotel Mirabeau!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank folconer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp T, Assistant to the General Manager at Hotel Mirabeau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear falconer24

many thanks for taking your time to write such an outstanding review on tripadvisor. We are glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us so much and could benefit of all our facilities and the Zermatt area!

We are happy, if you are. What seems to be the case here.

Please let us know soon enough of your next visit to Zermatt! See you soon... at a magic place!

Warmest regards,
Philipp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Mirabeau hotel is located in the town center. As we arrived by train, the hotel staff picked us up with their cute electrical car and drove us and our luggage to the hotel (though it was within easy walking distance from the station). They were there when the train arrived, so we didn't have to wait at all. The staff was very attentive. We got a free room upgrade to a huge room with Matterhorn view and a large rooftop terrace. Sitting outside and looking at Matterhorn at sunset really was something. The hotel had a spa center with different saunas, ice cold outside shower, relax room with flotation mattresses etc. The cable car to Gornergrat was also close to the hotel. The breakfast was fabulous with lots of fresh fruit, fresh strawberries and a large choice of hot and cold items. We really enjoyed our stay and the attention to detail added extra value to the experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CissiSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp T, Assistant to the General Manager at Hotel Mirabeau, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear CissiSweden,

many thanks for your time to write such a good review on tripadvisor. We are glad to read you and your family enjoyed your stay with us!

The whole Mirabeau team tries to live courtesness and hospitality service at one. Nice, if it pleased you. Our culinaric highlights are created by our head chef Alain Kuster and his crew. We always give our best to deliver highest food and lodging quality.

Have you also tried one of our fabulous relaxation treatments? Our SPA therapists are happy to provide professional advise.

Please let us know soon enough of your next visit to Zermatt! See you soon... at a magic place!
Sunny regards,
Philipp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Wouldn't ordinarily write a review on tripadvisor but hard work deserves a reward. This hotel delivered in so many ways (essentially ticking every box) with such a nice feel it seems mad not to thank them openly. Being family run works really well when there is such evident pride and the staff have bought into the service concept. Loved our stay. Everyone was friendly and helpful (cliched but true), breakfast and dinner were great, the spas are more than adequate for post ski recouperation, you only have to walk a minute to get the bus to all the main ski arteries and well priced. Its not Claridges but you feel like you're getting value. Wouldn't think twice before returning. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: no need for matterhorn view. its there all day long when you are outside.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charles b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp T, Assistant to the General Manager at Hotel Mirabeau, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear charles b,

many thanks for your time to rate us so outstandingly well on tripadvisor. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us!

The whole Mirabeau team - under experienced and professional guidance of family Julen - tries to live courtesness and hospitality service at one. Nice, if it pleased you. Our head chef Alain Kuster and his crew create daily new culinaric highlights.

Have you also tried one of our fabulous relaxation treatments? Our SPA therapists are happy to provide professional advise.

We are looking forward to welcome and pamper you again ... at a magic place! Simply let us know of your next visit in Zermatt. See you next Winter?

Best regards,
Philipp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was our second visit to Zermatt and second stay at Hotel Mirabeau (our first during the winter ski season). We had never skied in Europe and the lovely folks at Hotel Mirabeau made our entire trip simple. They advised about the trip from Tasch to Zermatt, they picked us up at the train with ZERO wait. They organized our skiing so that our passes waited for us at the desk. They provided lockers for our skiis and boots with boot heaters. They provide a phenomenal breakfast. We are a little pillow crazy and the staff provided wonderful oversized pillows. The pool and sauna area is lovely. Our family was looking for a place to play dominos and the bar welcomed us and served wonderful snacks and drinks. We are planning on returning next year and will absolutely be staying at Hotel Mirabeau.

Room Tip: I think our rooms were nice but on a previous trip we were housed in the annex and the rooms were fa...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp T, Assistant to the General Manager at Hotel Mirabeau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Mary M,

thank you very much for taking time to rate us on tripadvisor so outstanding! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

We always trie to live courtesness and hospitality service at one. Nice, if it pleased you. Our culinaric highlights are created by our head chef Alain Kuster and his crew. Skiing in the vast area of Matterhornglacierparadise/Sunnegga/Gornergrat are just one of many experiences with us. Have you tried one of our fabulous relaxation treatments? Our SPA therapists are happy to provide professional advise!

We are looking forward to welcome and pamper you again ... at a magic place! Simply let us know of your next visit in Zermatt. See you again next Winter?
Best regards,
Philipp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Mirabeau is a dream come true. Well located, fabulous staff, gourmet meals and a hot tub, sauna and wellness center/spa to help your tired muscles at the end of a long day of skiing.
We had a festive and fabulous Christmas week at the Mirabeau this year and would recommend to anyone - couples and families alike.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Matterhorn facing side for sure!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp T, Assistant to the General Manager at Hotel Mirabeau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Nell D,

many thanks for your time to rate us so well on tripadvisor. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us!

The whole Mirabeau team tries to live courtesness and hospitality service at one. Nice, if it pleased you. Our culinaric highlights are created by our head chef Alain Kuster and his crew.

The Christmas week is always a magic thing to enjoy in our hotel. Not only the snow but also many lights, glitters, candles and beautifully decorated christmas tree give our house a great and calm atmosphere. In 2013, we had several different menus and buffets as well as a little christmas surprise on the room for all our guests which booked the half-board option.
Have you also tried one of our fabulous relaxation treatments? Our SPA therapists are happy to provide professional advise.

We are looking forward to welcome and pamper you again ... at a magic place! Simply let us know of your next visit in Zermatt. See you next christmas?

Best regards,
Philipp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have been at this hotel beginning of December, still low season. The location is optimal in a quiet but central area of the town. Also very close to the Gornergrat and Sunnegga mountain trains (walking distance). Only the area of the small Matterhorn is farther away and can be easily reached with the bus. The stop is very close to the hotel. The staff is very friendly and we got upgraded at arrival to a room with Matterhorn view. The breakfast buffet is good, very high quality food. The room is clean and nicely furnished. Also the bathroom is fine.
We had dinner once at the hotel and the food and service is of good quality.
The only lowlight is the skiroom: every room has its own ski 'wardrobe' which is tiny and the skiroom itself is tiny, not very comfortable.
I recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp T, Assistant to the General Manager at Hotel Mirabeau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Clo C,

thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

We always trie to live courtesness and hospitality service at one. We're happy to hear, if it pleased you. Our culinaric highlights are created by our head chef Alain Kuster and his crew.

The lockers are built to store 2pairs of skis and 2 pairs of boots with an integrated heating system for dry shoes the next day. There are several benches in the corridor to sit on while you change comfortably your boots. Although the room in the main-building seems narrow, it is perfect to spend only a short time there, as you'd rather be longer on the slopes. The locker-room in the alpine residence - where we have modern residence junior suites designed and furnished with local materials - provides more space.

We are looking forward to welcome and pamper you again ... at a magic place! Simply let us know of your next visit in Zermatt - maybe once during the summer season to enjoy some hiking?

Best regards,
Philipp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#13 of 111 in Zermatt
975 reviews
0.4 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#16 of 111 in Zermatt
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#7 of 111 in Zermatt
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#9 of 111 in Zermatt
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabeau

Address: Untere Mattenstrasse 12-14 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £150 - £622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Mirabeau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
..Welcome to a magical place! Hotel Mirabeau is a third generation family owned and managed property in Zermatt, Switzerland. The hotel is located in the calmer part of the town, with a majestic view on the Matterhorn and the surrounding Michabel Mountains. With our restaurant ZerMatta, and the 15 points Gault Milliau and Michelin featured gastronomic restaurant Corbeau d'Or as well as our bar and the Joseph's Wine Lounge our guests can enjoy fantastic Food and Wine - the fine art of living. The design of our two buildings is stylish yet alpin and our mountain spa features several saunas, steam baths and relaxation rooms, a newly build pool and jacuzzi as well as a large array of treatments; from couple wine-therapy to chocolate massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mirabeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabeau Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing