We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel - would recommend to anyone and everyone”
Review of Hotel Mirabeau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mirabeau
Ranked #16 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb Hotel - would recommend to anyone and everyone”
Reviewed 12 September 2008

This was by far the best hotel we stayed at in Switzerland. It combined 'chic' with Alpine homeliness and I would give it 5 stars all the way. Really recommended.

  • Liked — the comfort and the decor
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Galoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    83
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
127
290
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Hotel rooms were OK, but the restaurant was very disapponting. Although their restaurant are reportedly awarded, you could have had much better food less expensively in other restaurants in Zermatt. Because the dinner was inclusive, it was very disappointing.

  • Liked — mountain view
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

Hi - Stayed in the Mirabeau for a skiing holiday. I wasn't disappointed, but I did think I'd get more of a 'Swiss' experience than I did. They rooms try to be modern, but they are a little dull really. There is nothing wrong with them, but I just felt like it lacked character somewhat. Something possibly a little more luxurious for the price.

The rooms have south facing views of the Matterhorn, which was nice. They provide an extra blanket and cushions for the outside chairs. The beds were comfy and clean and were turned down every night with a chocolate put beside the bed. There was a safe, minibar, extra towel for the spa, fruit (apples which is a bit uninspiring), TV etc. The bathroom was stylish, but the soaps and shampoos were quite caustic and caused my skin to feel really dry afterwards so I think upgrading of the cosmetics provided would help. I also found the room really overheated and dry - so felt a bit claustrophobic and not able to breath (humidifier would have helped). We had to keep the balcony door open at night to help with this.

The breakfasts were nice enough - would've liked to have asked the chef to make pancakes rather than just omelettes and eggs. We didn't eat here as we got the impression it was over fussy and overexpensive and there are a lot of good restaurants with high quality food in Zermatt.

I went to the Spa for a couple of treatments and the staff were really welcoming and friendly. The staff were fine in the whole hotel and we didn't have a bad experience on the hospitality front. I found the pool a little uninspiring and nearly came a cropper using the hotels complimentary slippers at the side of the pool - so a caution notice should be put up.

Josef's bar is stylish again, but overheated! You don't need a fire when the heating has been cranked up to high! But they serve soft drinks as well as wines in there - as well as cheese and home made chocolate.

The internet computer was infected while we were there, which was a bit of a pain as sometimes you need to check your bank balances etc.

The lockers for skis were good - especially the heated boot things so your ski boots were nice and warm in the mornings.

As detailed, its not a bad hotel at all - but I just felt it lacked something. But I can't put my finger on it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Overheated
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2007

We stayed at this pretty Hotel for 7 nights just recently, partly to celebrate a special birthday, and we'd read that the hotel is known for it's quality of food. We booked it independently and at short notice too! Took an Easyjet flight from UK, and train from Geneva Station just below the Airport which goes straight into Zermatt with just one change at Visp. We had a warm friendly greeting and our bags were taken to a lovely Junior Suite in the Alpine Residence, which was modern, bright and very clean-spotless actually! The service from Tamara, Hanah, Patrizia and all the staff in reception was excellent, they were friendly, polite and interested in what we had to say or ask. The restaurant staff, headed by Anita, were truly a joy to be served by, and treated us very nicely and they also managed the different languages perfectly. The Hotel owners, Sepp and Rose Julen were excellent hosts, and especially during most evening meals they enjoyed spending time chatting to all the guests. No one seemed to be excluded, and we could see why there were some guests who were regulars. Food: Well, we saved the best 'til last. The breakfast is a great buffet with plenty of hot and cold choices to suit all tastes. The evening meals are 5 course including a salad buffett, but don't be turned off by that. All the food laid out was continually refreshed and and never looked tired like a typical Buffett. Very enjoyable locally grown vegetables and salads with lots of freshly prepeared fruit also at breakfast time. Its easy to see how visitors return home having gained weight! The quality of all meals served to us was really excellent and equal to 'A la Carte' antwhere else. It would be hard to beat this exceptional standard and the hotel must be proud of it's reputation for offering the best food in Zermatt. All meats, fish and vegetables were prepared, well cooked and presented hot and very neatly displayed. All credit and our grateful thanks to Alain Kuster the head chef and his team. There is a separate A La Carte Restaurant which is available to guests generally at a supplement. We tried it once, it was another lovely evening being pampered with top quality service and delicious cuisine.
With plenty of sunbathing areas in the pleasant gardens it was nice to relax in the afternoons after trekking up to the Matterhorn or strolling thru the mountain villages. Zermatt isa great place to rejuvinate the body and mind and the hotel Mirabeau was absolutely the best place to stay. We will thoroughly recommend the Mirabeau to anyone considering Zermatt for a holiday. We'll certainly be back as soon as the opportunity arises.
Well done to everybody, and thank you for such a pleasant holiday experience!
Our best wishes to you all.
Stuart & Alice, Bedfordshire, UK.

  • Liked — Everything-read on...
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sj291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2007

Upon arrival in Zermatt we contacted the Mirabeau and they picked us up promptly at the train station in one of the tiny electric buses which are the only motorized vehicles permitted to operate in the village. Our driver delivered our luggage to our room and our ski equipment to a ski locker reserved for us in the ski room on the basement level of the building. The ski lockers offer boot driers inside each locker.

We stayed in a junior suite in the new Alpine Residence section of the hotel. The room was large by european standards and very contemporary, featuring hardwood floors, plaster walls, wood accent paneling and a beautifully tiled bathroom and shower with a separate wc. The room had a sitting area, two balconies, small refrigerator, wireless internet and a beautiful view of the Matterhorn. The room felt and smelled new and the cleanliness was A+.

Breakfast and dinner were served in the dining room of the main hotel which is connected to the Alpine Residence by an underground corridor. Breakfast was buffet style with a great selection and an "omelette station". Dinners were outstanding!
Our dining plan offered at least two entree choices each evening. All dinners are five course gormet delights. The Swiss "theme night" dinner is not to be missed. The dining room is formal and beautifully decorated with warm wood paneling.

The owmers and staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

All in all - a very charming hotel in perhaps the most scenic ski destination in the world.

  • Liked — Beautiful new rooms in the Alpine Residence
  • Disliked — A few blocks from the main village area (but that can also be a plus)
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_Margo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2007

My husband and I went here for a ski without children and had such a lovel time at the mirabeau. We upgraded our room ,bathrooms a little small but generally the bedroom was very comfortable with a fantastic view of the matterhorn.The food was superb ,menu changing nightly and offering 5 courses.The staff were excellent so friendly and helpful.swimmimng pool was enormous but to have it to youselves get there before 4:30!! Location was ok ,about 5 min walk to bus stop and then we usually caught taxis home after the skiing rather than wait for the bus.The bars and nightlife were fun ,about 10min walk away.I am glad we didn't have our children at this hotel as there were not many families there . we would definitely return here for an escape from the kids!!!!!!

  • Liked — the food and staff
  • Disliked — the location
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank raycornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#12 of 111 in Zermatt
954 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 111 in Zermatt
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 111 in Zermatt
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#13 of 111 in Zermatt
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabeau

Property: Hotel Mirabeau
Address: Untere Mattenstrasse 12-14 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Mirabeau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
..Welcome to a magical place! Hotel Mirabeau is a third generation family owned and managed property in Zermatt, Switzerland. The hotel is located in the calmer part of the town, with a majestic view on the Matterhorn and the surrounding Michabel Mountains. With our restaurant ZerMatta, and the 15 points Gault Milliau and Michelin featured gastronomic restaurant Corbeau d'Or as well as our bar and the Joseph's Wine Lounge our guests can enjoy fantastic Food and Wine - the fine art of living. The design of our two buildings is stylish yet alpin and our mountain spa features several saunas, steam baths and relaxation rooms, a newly build pool and jacuzzi as well as a large array of treatments; from couple wine-therapy to chocolate massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mirabeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabeau Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing