We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing stay”
Review of Hotel Mirabeau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mirabeau
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Solothurn, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I went with my girlfriend to Zermatt for a romantic weekend. Zermatt has many properties and it is not easy to find the perfect one. But we find it!!! I really can recommend the Hotel Mirabeau. The staff is very helpful and super friendly. When we arrived they picked us up by the train station and proposed us a couple of activities to do in Zermatt. We got a beautiful, new renovated room with an amazing view to the mountains. And the best thing is the modern Spa and Wellness which was included in the room rate. In the morning you can enjoy a huge breakfast buffet with a Matterhorn view. We definitely come back to this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mantou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieJulen, Deputy General Manager at Hotel Mirabeau, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Dear Mantou P
Thank you for your kind words and your positive feedback. We are happy that you and your girlfriend enjoyed a romantic weekend at our Hotel Mirabeau & Alpine Residence. The satisfaction from our guests is very important for us and we are glad to hear, that we could satisfy your requirements. Our Alpine wellness, where our guests can relax after a long day, combined with the great views you mention, makes a holiday in Zermatt an unforgettable memory.

We wish you a wonderful time and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you and your girlfriend again with us here in Zermatt.
Marie Julen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    85
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
128
292
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Upon arrival at Zermatt station, we were met by the hotel's transport, who promptly loaded our luggage into the vehicle, and of we went.

Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised to be told we have been upgraded to an Alpine Junior suite. The gentleman at the reception counter personally escorted us to the room to make sure everything was to our liking. I had requested a room with a Matterhorn view, and that is precisely what we got.

The room, needless to say, was better than we had expected. But the real clincher was waking up the next morning to a flawlessly clear day, with a stunning view of the Matterhorn from the sizeable balcony. I spent a considerable amount of time on the balcony just admiring the view.

Breatfast was very good, as you would expect from a Swiss resort hotel. Needless to say we didn't spend too much time in the hotel, as there were so many other things to do, like take the train up to the Matterhorn. Unfortunately the rest of the day was cloudy and ultimately the view of the Matterhorn from my room balcony was the best view we had during our stay. This alone made this a worthwhile stay.

On the day of departure, we were once again ushered to or waiting vehicle at precisely the time we had requested and off we were to see the rest of Switzerland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Matterhorn. Well worth the small extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieJulen, Deputy General Manager at Hotel Mirabeau, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Dear H S
Thank you very much that you took the time to write us this lovely review. We are glad to hear that you had a great experience at our Hotel Mirabeau & Alpine Residence and that you enjoyed the arresting view from the balcony to the Matterhorn.
We would be really joyful to welcome you a next time in Zermatt, hopefully, as our guests.
Marie Julen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We were at the Hotel Mirabeau in Zermatt for 3 nights. Our check-in was pretty easy, we were brought to our room in the Alpine Residence by the gentleman at reception. However, to get to the residence, you have to go down and through a pretty stinky tunnel in order to go up again to the rooms. The elevators are tiny so this is tricky if you're a party of more than 3 people. The room itself was fine although the bathtub was practically in the bedroom and the bathroom itself was tiny! We had a spectacular view of the Matterhorn and luckily one day of clear skies so we could see it. As others have said, housekeeping was not stellar. They were just about getting the job done so trash wasn't cleared and towels weren't always replaced when requested. There was also a disgusting sheep skin rug in our room that was full of dust and dead flies. When I asked housekeeping to take it away they seemed confused about why. This was the only hotel we stayed in in Switzerland that did not have any complimentary water in the rooms. Wi-if is surprisingly fast but breakfast is mediocre. The restaurant closes really early. We got back at 8:30 and were hoping to get dessert and coffee at the hotel but were told the restaurant was closed. Service was ok - the concierge and reception were helpful, the restaurant staff was sullen. All in all, our stay in Zermatt was fine. If you get a really good deal, this hotel might be one to consider. If you're allergic to any 'light' trees, this hotel is one to avoid. The wood in the rooms seems to be untreated which is really bad for those of us with allergies.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rkn172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed 4nights in June.The room was standard room(Matterhorn view) and 4th floor.While we stayed there,the weather was almost perfect!We could see Matterhorn perfectly from our room.we could take great pictures of beautiful Matterhorn shining brightly by the rising sun!
The room was clean and comfortable.Staffs were all kind but the restaurant was not so good for us.We had dinner on arrival day,but it was little salty for us.Not bad but not so good.But the breakfast was excellent.(especially home made yoghurt!)

Room Tip: Matterhorn view room was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shibainuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieJulen, Deputy General Manager at Hotel Mirabeau, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Shibainuzuki,
Thank you so much for your review and great comments! Maybe during you next visit you should try our local Valaisan Buffet as dinner option, a favourite with our international guests!
We hope to see you again soon and remain,
with warm regards from rainy Zermatt!
Marie Julen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

3 star first floor and pool
1.5 star rooms (basic room was dirty, cleaning staff left dirty rags in room, refused to take out trash)
The so called exercise room (a closet) contains 4 machines, three were broken and even tv there didnt work right.

Seems like the hotel really wants a certain type of client. My sense is that non wasps arent very welcome

Room Tip: stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

An luxury hotel which provided all needed. The staff name Maria were very good to us. She can speaks Thai and also upgraded the room to a junior suits for us. The 5 courses dinner was very good, we got offer by email with the price 35 chf per person, it was almost half price deducted. I suggest you try an air tour by Air Zermatt which is not far from the hotel . You can hop up to the summit of Matterhorn in just a minute. (320 chf for 30 mins)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyYing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieJulen, Deputy General Manager at Hotel Mirabeau, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Khun LadyYing,
Khop khun maak kha! It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you soon again!
Jook Dee!
Malee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for four nights as part of a three centre trip around Switzerland. This was our first visit to Switzerland and we were not disappointed. This hotel was by far the pick of the three we stayed in. The others were fine too but the food, ambience, comfort and general attention to detail were wonderful at the Mirabeau. It has a lovely pool and Spa which was the most inviting I have seen. I cannot recommend this hotel too highly. Would go back tomorrow if I could!!

Room Tip: No preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieJulen, Deputy General Manager at Hotel Mirabeau, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Irene,
Thank you so much for your review! We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon with us (tomorrow if you wish, we have a room available ;-))
Kind regards,
Marie Julen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#13 of 111 in Zermatt
955 reviews
0.4 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 111 in Zermatt
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#15 of 111 in Zermatt
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#9 of 111 in Zermatt
771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabeau

Property: Hotel Mirabeau
Address: Untere Mattenstrasse 12-14 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#15 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Mirabeau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
..Welcome to a magical place! Hotel Mirabeau is a third generation family owned and managed property in Zermatt, Switzerland. The hotel is located in the calmer part of the town, with a majestic view on the Matterhorn and the surrounding Michabel Mountains. With our restaurant ZerMatta, and the 15 points Gault Milliau and Michelin featured gastronomic restaurant Corbeau d'Or as well as our bar and the Joseph's Wine Lounge our guests can enjoy fantastic Food and Wine - the fine art of living. The design of our two buildings is stylish yet alpin and our mountain spa features several saunas, steam baths and relaxation rooms, a newly build pool and jacuzzi as well as a large array of treatments; from couple wine-therapy to chocolate massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mirabeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabeau Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing