We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price - quality for this Zermatt hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mirabeau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mirabeau
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good price - quality for this Zermatt hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

We spend 5 nights in September 2009 in this superior 4 star hotel. We booked a junior suite on the second floor in the main hotel (not the residence) with a marvellous view on the Matterhorn. This hotel is well-situated and only a couple of minutes from the railway station. It is very quiet.

Here are our remarks of our stay:

We liked:

* Good, efficient & friendly reception staff
* Breakfast buffet that is open till 10h30am so you have enough time in the morning.
* Our room was renovated and the room design was very nice. The flat screen TV was hidden in a closet (very good idea), perfume sticks, candles, free safe, big balcony, big shower, dressing gown, slippers and umbrella. Room is very clean.
* Sauna area is quite small but you have extra towels, spring water in self-service, etc. There is 1 bio sauna with herbs, 1 classic sauna, 1 hamman and 1 rest room with heated water beds. Just nice after a day in the mountains!
* View on the Matterhorn if you request this kind of room. The view in the morning when the sun comes up is really astonishing.
* Free internet
* Small but nice garden
* The hotel owns also the “Corbeau d’Or” which is a very good restaurant in Zermatt quoted 15 at GaultMillau. Half-board is very good as you have 5 “gourmet” dishes every evening. You can also choose from two different menus.
* In the dining room, a big television screen shows you the weather conditions, webcams, etc. Cocktails are very good at the bar in the evening. The fire place was burning every evening!
* When we left, we got a little present from the hotel owner to take home. Nice!

We didn’t like:

* The interior swimming pool (shared with another hotel) is a bit too cold even after some swimming. It is also very slippery when walking around so pay attention!
* Sauna & spa: the Kneipp treatment where you walk through hot & cold water was not working well. The hot water was really too hot and the jet streams were not working properly. Forget it!
* Service during evening supper: Either they were too tired or some staff was missing. Thus, the quality of service was variable from average to good. The wine selection was good but there was no wine waiter to advise you on local wines. For information, supper ends quite early around 10h30pm so in case you start rather late, you will find yourself alone in the big restaurant. But this is not the fault of the hotel…
* We found the bed a bit too soft. Also, they did not have junior suites with 1 big bed but only with twin beds. I do not know if the standard rooms are equipped with big beds or not.
* Bathroom is a bit small with only one wash-hand basin. You could expect having 2 for a junior suite.
* The hotel has been partially renovated so some parts are still quite old (70’s style) so you have a mix of old and new.

Conclusion: we liked this hotel very much and you get the right services for this superior 4-star hotel. We can recommend it if you intend to visit Zermatt. This is your typical modern Swiss hotel that is just excellent when spending your holidays in Switzerland. We rate this 4-star hotel as “very good”.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissSpaceBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    78
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
121
279
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
340 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

Pros: Great staff and service, good food in the restaurant, good location, spacious room with view of Matterhorn. Cons: Room was too hot, only ventilation was to open doors and windows. If you stay, request a fan upon arrival to make the room more tolerable - too hot with the sun beating down during the day.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cemckeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

This was the best hotel we'd stayed during our 6 nights in Switzerland. We had the perfect view of Matterhorn when we opened the curtains (#105) with a big balcony. The breakfast was excellent with all sort of fresh fruits (even with donut peaches), assorted cheese, cold cuts, breads, etc.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank user1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Hotel Mirabeau is in an ideal location for all Zermatt facilities. Views of the Matterhorn superb. All staff well trained, attentive and friendly. Rooms and public rooms of an excellent standard. Food to 5 star standard. Always something different with plenty of choice. A nice touch at the end of our stay was a gift of a loaf of bread presented by Mr. Julen.(owner)

We will return in the winter to see the village in snow. We do not ski but there is plenty to keep you entertained.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelworld39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

Zermatt, the car-free village in the Valais of Switzerland is a resort with an abundance of hotel choices, and I've tried six or seven of them. The Mirabeau, a four-star establishment, has through the years proved its dedication to the best traditions of Swiss hospitality by careful attention to the details of cleanliness, decor, and cuisine--through recent expansion of its facilities. The Julen family, in my experience, has made me feel at home and has given me excellent value, despite the current feeble state of the dollar. My expectation is that the Julens' attention to detail and provision of value will endure, and I'll be greeted as a good friend when I check in again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peregrine40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

Wonderful hotel with contemporary development, ever friendly/helpful staff, food good enough to have come out of a good restaurant let alone a hotel's. Excellent spa facilities.
Rooms with a Matterhorn view are spacious, have very comfortable beds, south facing and really do have those wonderful views. A totally brilliant place to spend a peaceful week in the mountains either hiking in summer (as we were) or skiing in winter (which we will!) Back to Mirabeau next time we're here? You bet!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molarman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#16 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resort Hotel Alex
Resort Hotel Alex
#15 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabeau

Property: Hotel Mirabeau
Address: Untere Mattenstrasse 12-14 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Mirabeau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
..Welcome to a magical place! Hotel Mirabeau is a third generation family owned and managed property in Zermatt, Switzerland. The hotel is located in the calmer part of the town, with a majestic view on the Matterhorn and the surrounding Michabel Mountains. With our restaurant ZerMatta, and the 15 points Gault Milliau and Michelin featured gastronomic restaurant Corbeau d'Or as well as our bar and the Joseph's Wine Lounge our guests can enjoy fantastic Food and Wine - the fine art of living. The design of our two buildings is stylish yet alpin and our mountain spa features several saunas, steam baths and relaxation rooms, a newly build pool and jacuzzi as well as a large array of treatments; from couple wine-therapy to chocolate massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mirabeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabeau Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing