We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spa Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2008

We were recommended to stay at the Rex by a group of fellow skiers who've been going there for years. And having sampled the Rex, we can see why.

Our rooms were spacious and immaculate with snowy white bedding and luxurious duvets. Some of the bathrooms are still to be renovated but even allowing for that, they were sparkling clean. Loads of hot water for the deepest baths. Nice touch to get robes and slippers as well.

The spa facilities are superb and perfect after negotiating that black run down to Furi! I loved the steam room, and the huge jucuzzi. Also check out the menthol shower - and let us know if you work out to use it. You can lie on a lounger and look through the class ceiling up at the ski.... or the snow.

Being well behaved Scots we kept our cossies on, but beware - a lot of European men let it all hang loose - and why not?!

Nothing was too much trouble for Kristophe and his team. They sorted out lift passes and booked the wee electric taxis. Not that you really need to. Just hovver outside the hotel for a bit and within mins you will have a passing taxi zooming in. The drivers particularly like groups of 4-6 as they get more money that way.

Great breakfasts as well. Delicious hot scrambled eggs, fresh bread that you toast yourself, loads of cheeses and conserves.

Can' recommend the Rex enough. Go if you can!

The Meikles + friends

  • Liked — spa facilities
  • Disliked — tiny lifts
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareBearScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    27
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe, CA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2008

Stayed in a South facing suite (room 401) and had unbelieveable views of the matterhorn right from the bed! 2 Balconies, a kitchen which included sink, fridge, stove and pots/pans/plates/silverware etc. made it easy to store food and have some meals in the room.

The staff was very helpful. Our luggage was checked in at the airport in Boston, dropped at the train station in Zermatt, where they picked it up and brought it to us.

Separate area to store skis and boots (with boot warmers) made it easy and convenient to deal with our gear. The pool, hot tub, steam room and showers in the spa area were pleasant and relaxing.

Breakfast was a delight, and on our last day we left before they started serving. Our waitress packed up some croissants and chocolate milk for us to take.

The location worked well, as it was an easy walk to shopping, restaurants, and the ski lifts, but felt like we were able to get away from the crowds and noise easily.

Beds were very comfortable. They were 2 singles pushed together, which has been my experience with most European hotels. The pillows and duvets were awesome! Bathrobes and slippers were provided to wear down to the pool which was appreciated.

Over all, this wasn't the most budget-conscious option, but well worth the price!

  • Liked — Views, Service, Comfort
  • Disliked — Cost!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tahoegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2008

Great Hotel. Very good buffet breakfast. The hotel, the spa and the rooms were all very clean. Only a few minutes walk into the main town with lots of bars and restaurants. Taxis are also easy to get, they work off battery like the Milk Float. The staff were really friendly and helpful. They have a very nice bar. We would go there before going out for our evening meal. This is definitely the best B & B we have every stayed at.

  • Liked — Spacious and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hopetravels59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2008

The hotel is in an excellent location for catching the ski bus to all ski lifts. The family run and friendly atmosphere make this a comfortable and relaxing place to stay. Our room was very spacious (particularly for a ski resort). The bustling nightlife and restaurants are less than 5 minutes walk away. By far the best thing about this hotel was the newly built 'wellness' centre complete with swimming pool, sauna, steam room and large jacuzzi. The perfect way to ease the aching muscles after a hard day on the slopes!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank Live_the_dream06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2007

My wife and I booked this hotel based largely on the good reviews we found on this site, and they were spot-on. This hotel was more than we could have hoped for. The location was great, the staff were helpful, courteous and knowledgeable and our Junior Suite (Room 24) was spacious, cofortable and tastefully decorated. We had a southern view room with a beautiful view of the Matterhorn between some trees from our balcony and the hotel was quiet.
Due to the fact that we had an early morning to climb Breithorn we were not able to make breakfast so the staff prepared two lunches to take with us at no charge. Upon our return from a rugged day of climbing we asked for tea and coffee, which arrived within minutes to our room. We made extensive use of the large jacuzzi and saunas after two long days of hiking. We were very sad when it was time for us to leave Zermatt and Hotel Rex, and we would highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The jacuzzi and saunas were awesome after two days of climbing
  • Disliked — We really had no complaints
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Isles
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2007

Very comfortable bed and breakfast. 10 minutes walk from ski-lifts. Superior rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast could be better. I would recommend if visiting Zermatt. At peak times all rooms are block-booked by travel agents which means paying a premium which is irritating.

  • Liked — clean and spacious
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aristeppus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Rex this summer and found it perfect for our needs. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful (lending us umbrellas when it tipped down one evening) and the place was spotless.
The room, a junior suite, was ideal - and had a balcony with views of the Matterhorn. We also made full use of the wellness spa which was the perfect place to relax after a hard days hiking.
Breakfasts were good too and the selection of restaurants nearby was excellent. We also made use of the bakers across the road for packed lunches to take with us on our walks.
All in all, would recommend this hotel to anyone and we'd stay there again when we venture back to Zermatt.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sammiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#41 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel
Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel
#61 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#32 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#86 of 109 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#46 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Riedstrasse 9, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#39 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#44 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing