We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very cosy homely hotel with a great view”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
india
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a very cosy homely hotel with a great view”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

the breakfast was good ,room clean and spacious , the location is ideal just a stone throw away from the hustle and bustle of the main street in a quiet lane . the swimming pool and jacuzzi was asthetically designed , on the whole it was a pleasure staying there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    27
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
55
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed just one night at this hotel and would definitely recommend it to others. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast selection and service was great and the view from our rooms, exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MnC_inTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2010

good hotel in Zermatt with a great pool area! Also very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel555666777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Every single aspect of this hotel and it's staff went above and beyond any expectation. Next time I am in zermatt I wouldn't think of staying any where else!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granitepeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

I was in Hotel Rex with my father and brother in the 21st of March to the 28th.
First the chauffeur was a very kind guy thet treated us very well.

Then the room (401) was big and very conforable. The hotel was very clean and with a familiar ambient.

We used to stay in Mirabeau and Rex's spa was even better than Mirabeau's.The breakfast was very complete with very good juices(although not fresh squeezed ...) and bread.

The only upset is the lack of wi-fi in the rooms.

The location was brilliant, near to the best restaurant area of Zermatt and also close to the Matterhorn Glacier Paradise Ski lifts.

The staff was 5 star and the view from the room was breathaking.

I'm sure we'll be back to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alem94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Booked the Rex through Inghams and cannot fault it at all. Very traditional hotel with outstanding service. We had room 301 and 302 which apart from a great view of the Matterhorn also gave us a shared lounge area. Nothing was ever to much for the staff. Great spa, very decent breakfast and easy access to all that Zermatt has to offer. However no ski in and out which is rare in Zermatt anyway. One thing to keep in mind in Zermatt is that eating out is great but tends to be very expensive at the least 50£ per head but really the sky's the limit. if I were to come back I would consider getting half board which is only about 100 to 150£ more expensive per week.
As far as the skiing goes I was a little bit underwhelmed with Zermatt. Some of the lifts are a bit outdated like endless drag lifts on the glacier and some lifts like the Matterhornexpress and Kleinmatterhorn cable car can have you queue for 45min and more. Also most challenging runs are further down or very high up so when snow and weather is soso all one is left with is relatively unchallenging red and blues. The classification is also a bit strange some Zermatt blacks would pass as light red in Sankt Anton or Val d'Isere.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penistone, uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Just returned from a week at the Rex (booked through Inghams). We cannot praise it enough. We had a standard twin room (303) very clean ,spacious, fantastic view of the Matterhorn, great bathroom (robes & slippers, hairdryer, included), The wellness centre is amazing with plenty of space,saunas,steamrooms ,great pool ( as good as any spa day i've had in the UK) Great location, 2minutes walk to ski bus, or plenty of electric taxis if you prefer (charge 12 CHF,share with others and can drop to 3chf) to any of the 3 main lifts. Great being bed & breakfast as plenty of restaurants to choose from and only 3 -5 minutes walk to the main street but many just around the corner.The Stockhorn (next door to hotel) is amazing for grill or fondue and Grampies is a great Italian. The staff at the Rex are amazing,very polite,helpful and always in the background if needed. Drink prices at the hotel bar are very reasonable. The breakfast is served 0700-1100 and is good, not outstanding but sufficient and fresh. A good ski storage room with individual heated boot warmers in basement. Would definately recommend the Rex .

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScoobyPenistone_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#41 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel
Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel
#62 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#34 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#87 of 109 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#45 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Riedstrasse 9, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#39 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#44 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing