We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find!”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great find!”
Reviewed 7 July 2007

My wife and I booked this hotel based largely on the good reviews we found on this site, and they were spot-on. This hotel was more than we could have hoped for. The location was great, the staff were helpful, courteous and knowledgeable and our Junior Suite (Room 24) was spacious, cofortable and tastefully decorated. We had a southern view room with a beautiful view of the Matterhorn between some trees from our balcony and the hotel was quiet.
Due to the fact that we had an early morning to climb Breithorn we were not able to make breakfast so the staff prepared two lunches to take with us at no charge. Upon our return from a rugged day of climbing we asked for tea and coffee, which arrived within minutes to our room. We made extensive use of the large jacuzzi and saunas after two long days of hiking. We were very sad when it was time for us to leave Zermatt and Hotel Rex, and we would highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The jacuzzi and saunas were awesome after two days of climbing
  • Disliked — We really had no complaints
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    27
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
55
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Isles
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2007

Very comfortable bed and breakfast. 10 minutes walk from ski-lifts. Superior rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast could be better. I would recommend if visiting Zermatt. At peak times all rooms are block-booked by travel agents which means paying a premium which is irritating.

  • Liked — clean and spacious
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aristeppus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Rex this summer and found it perfect for our needs. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful (lending us umbrellas when it tipped down one evening) and the place was spotless.
The room, a junior suite, was ideal - and had a balcony with views of the Matterhorn. We also made full use of the wellness spa which was the perfect place to relax after a hard days hiking.
Breakfasts were good too and the selection of restaurants nearby was excellent. We also made use of the bakers across the road for packed lunches to take with us on our walks.
All in all, would recommend this hotel to anyone and we'd stay there again when we venture back to Zermatt.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sammiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2006

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Hotel Rex. The hotel is in my opinion perfectly located close to Zermatt village centre, 2 mins from the ski bus, best après ski bars (Papperla bar) and good restaurants. We like to try local restaurants so did not miss eating in the hotel, especially due to proximity and choice of the local establishments. Special recommendation to the fondue restaurant directly opposite the hotel. (forgotten the name)

Our Junior Suite was comfortably furnished with traditional wooden panelled walls and the most amazing view of the Matterhorn. The reason we chose this hotel, however, was the wellness facilities which I am pleased to say are truly top quality - wonderful after a hard days skiing.

We received exceptionally friendly service from the reception staff, they were especially accommodating in giving us a late check out and helping with our luggage and drop off at Zermatt station.

In general its a great place, nicely modernised where it matters (except for the lift which is out of the 1970's) and I would be happy to stay here again on our next Zermatt visit.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank British_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
316 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2005

This place was simply the best we stayed at. I would give high marks on almost everything - location, rooms, bathrooms, views (could see the Matterhorn from the balcony on sunny days from some rooms), service and breakfast. The only downside was that the hotel didn't have a restaurant for dining, but there were plenty of restaurants within walking distance and that worked out. I've travelled quite a lot and this was easily one of the best hotels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sushar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#41 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel
Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel
#62 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#34 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#87 of 109 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#45 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Riedstrasse 9, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#39 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#44 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing