We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, nice people!”
Review of Hotel Welschen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Welschen
Ranked #1 of 32 Zermatt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely place, nice people!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is a lovely place to stay in Zermatt. Nicely decorated small hotel with cozy, comfortable room; and with a view of Matterhorn! It is around 10 minutes walk from railway station and very close to the stations / lifts for the view points. Breakfast served was good. The people in the hotel are very friendly and helpful. We had a room with a view of Matterhorn and we loved it.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayantan_Ghati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    29
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Welschen is a clean, cozy and nicely-appointed chalet-style hotel, situated along the side of a hill, across the river from the center of Zermatt. The hosts provide a friendly, professional level of service, comfortable rooms with a terrific view of the Matterhorn, and a nice breakfast each morning.

It's quite lovely and situated just far enough away from the bustle of the village to have a peaceful vibe. Yet the restaurants, clubs, and shops in the village are less than five minutes easy walk away.

Easy, because it's downhill into town. Many reviewers have mentioned the uphill approach from town to the hotel. We didn't mind it. Even after a couple of bottles of wine, we just took it slow. It would be no fun with luggage, but the hotel provides a shuttle for you and your luggage to and from the station, so that's not an issue. Just email them to let them know your arrival time and call the hotel on the courtesy phone in the Bahnhof plaza when you get off the train. The Courtesy Phone is right in front of the Kiosk convenience store.

We enjoyed our stay at the Welschen and recommend it with one caution. There is a new hotel/condo being built adjacent to the hotel. We arrived on Friday afternoon and there was noticeable construction noise until work halted around 6. The site was quiet the rest of the weekend. There is a construction crane at the site which may obstruct the view. Check with the hotel about the status of the work, especially if your stay includes weekdays.

Room Tip: You came to Zermatt for the Matterhorn, get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A lovely hotel- just the way you picture a romantic hotel in the Alps. Nice rooms, a lovely breakfast and the owners to meet and greet you and give you the tips you need, We spent NewYear's eve and had a room facing the valley (and MAtterhorn) it was absolutely spectacular. When I first saw that there were I do not know how many steps to get to the main door, I worried about carrying all my ski equipment, but you know what- it is no deal at all- they have a pathway

Room Tip: the double rooms are of a good size, the single one's small, but still cozy ! A hotel you feel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grykristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, was given a room with the kitchen. clean and comfortable. Great place, but only if you are able to climb a few flight of stairs. Will choose this again if return to Zermatt. Away from the bustle of town, but just 5 minutes walk away, Great host and well and thoroughly personalized attention.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that faced the Matterhorn, on a clear day - you will wake up to fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Hotel Welschen. The breakfasts were just as you'd hope for, with rich coffee and lots of fruit and a variety of fine cheese and etc. Our room was also fine. The location is, as others have remarked, quite nice as it's just a little bit (minutes) from the main cow-paths. Zermatt can be very busy and in the summer there's a bit of outdoor partying and music, etc. The Welschen is just a few hundred meters from all that buzz. That was fine with us. If you set you expectations down a few notches from what you might imagine based on other reviews, this place will not disappoint. But it was not so fabulous as some have written. It was just fine, and I'm not trying to damn by faint praise. Just don't expect a remarkable experience, but do expect a very pleasant and comfortable one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank professor-type
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights and would definitely return if we come back to Zermatt. The room we stayed in (room 10) was traditional in style but with a modern bathroom and a great view of the Matterhorn. As other reviews have mentioned the 'fish bowl' bathroom is not to everyone's taste but there is a curtain you can pull and a sliding door. The upside to this is being able to see the Matterhorn from every room!

Top marks for the breakfast, an excellent range, well presented and also with very tasty granola.

The hotel's location is on the outer part of the village but it is not far from the station. It took us 5-10 mins to walk with heavy rucksacks, 10 mins if you stop at the delightful Fuchs bakery on your way past!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Lovely family-owned hotel. Well situated close to centre but not amongst the bustle. Our bedroom looks out to the Matterhorn, surely the most spectacular mountain view in Europe. Hotel very tasteful and a lot of trouble has been taken over the details. Steps up to hotel but everything in Zermatt is up.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JMS833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#15 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Welschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Welschen

Property: Hotel Welschen
Address: Wiestistrasse 44, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Welschen 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOTEL WELSCHEN is situated at a quiet and sunny location, providing a magnificent view onto the Matterhorn. Even though the hotel was fit to offer modern conveniences, we strived to preserve the homey and rustic nature of the chalet-like building.The Sunnegga Express is only a minute away. And also Gornergratbahn, the bus to Matterhorn glacier paradise – Valley Station, the train station, and the village’s center are in only a few minutes walking distance. In a new outbuilding, we offer a private spa on 95m², which can be booked at a fee for up to 8 persons. As from summer 2014, a lift will take you from the street right to the hotel’s entrance door level. We strive to make your holidays in our hotel a stay as pleasant as possible. Free WIFI is available all over the building. The entire hotel is non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Welschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing