We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't like this hotel you shouldn't travel”
Review of Admiral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Admiral Hotel
Ranked #72 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“If you don't like this hotel you shouldn't travel”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This hotel is indescribably beautiful with all it's woodwork and furnishings. We sat on our balcony with a perfect view of the Matterhorn. It was so clear that we were able to take pictures from the balcony. Bedroom was large with the dreaded European double beds. Bath was spacious and clean. Easy walk to train station, although hotel picked us up and later delivered us back to the train station as a courtesy, and short walk to town. The owner, Karin Julen, was most helpful in providing information as well as a good breakfast. Great Hotel.

Room Tip: I believe they all face the Matterhorn but if not ask for one that does. Try Potters (it's not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArthurNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
21
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Attention to detail abounds in this incredibly cozy, rather luxurious chalet-inspired boutique hotel. The staff was SO friendly. But the most noteworthy thing about my two night stay at the Admiral was my quality of sleep. I slept with the French doors open to the street below. It got very cool at night and I could hear the run off water from the Matterhorn through the night. Bundled up in fluffy down comforters, I slept in my giant wooden bed with a belly full of delicious Swiss fondue. Absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nphummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

We will be making our 3rd stay there over Xmas.
For us its perfect, may not have the luxury of other Zermatt hotels, but its spotlessly clean, friendly and relaxing. Plus it has a great position, away from the noise of Bahnhofstrasse, 100m to Sunegga lift and right next to the bus stop for Klein Matterhorn lifts

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

The Admiral is a very nice and quiet hotel with good rooms, bathrooms and a nice wellness area. The Proscecco wiht breakfast is a nice touch! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is great for skiers, accross the Sunegga lifts and 50 mtrs from the busstop to the Matterhorn lift.
It being March we paid almost 300 Francs per night. Was it worth it? Only because it is in Zermatt and in high season. The website makes the hotel look fancier than it is in reality. We would definitely go back but if you expect luxury you will need to go to one of the fancier (and much more expensive!) places. This was nice but not special.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monequ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2007

When I decided to go to Zermatt I had a look at all hotels/garni between 120-160 euros/night. Admiral caught my eye because I liked a lot the room which seemed spacious and comfortable. When we arrived I realised that the picture that was shown on the web was Admiral's one and only suite. I thought this was a bit deceiving as there was no mention in the site about different sized rooms. I had even asked the size of the room and I was told it was about 35 sm. not even close.

However when i got over the initial disapointment and I had a better look at the room, I saw a cute room with a wooden ceiling, very clean, good quality toilet paper (yes it does matter!!), nice bathroom with view of the Matterhorn, and generally well maintained. The balcony itself was not used much because it sat right in front of Cornergrat station and as such it was not as romantic. generally the location was central, opposite to sunnega paradise (one of three major ski areas), and close to the second ski area. also the bus stop was very close to the hotel. In retrospect i would have prefered somewhere more towards the centrer. Beware: centre is not exactly by the river but one street up.. Admiral's breakfast was good quality but limited ie I wished to have some hot breakfast too. (boiled eggs does not count as hot - omellette and bacon does). Generally the hotel was very clean which was nice to have but on the entrance and on the way to the sauna there was a weird smell, not unpleasant but distinctive...

Overall a good stay but as i was hoping to combine romance, skiing with a bit of luxury I was somehoe disapointed. We had a great time there, but given the choice I would stay somewhere else...Again, my husband was very happy with Admiral and wanted nothing more. I seemed to be the demanding one.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank AthensGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#67 of 111 in Zermatt
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Style Hotel Zermatt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#50 of 111 in Zermatt
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alfa
Hotel Alfa
#87 of 111 in Zermatt
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#26 of 111 in Zermatt
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Hotel

Property: Admiral Hotel
Address: Matterstrasse 23, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#47 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#48 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#61 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Admiral is located just a few minutes' walk from Zermatt's train station and is also very close to the valley station of the Sunnegga Express. The Matterhorn Express cable car and the Gornergrat Monte Rosa train can be reached easily by the electric bus. The stop is located directly in front of the Admiral hotel. All rooms feature an LCD TV, free wireless internet access and all double rooms have a balcony. Buffet breakfast is included in the room rate. After a grand day out in the fresh mountain air the wellness area with a sauna, a steam bath and whirlpools invites you to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing