We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel National Zermatt
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Pollux(Zermatt)
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$254
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Astoria(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
US$284
US$274
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Petit CHARME-INN(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$146
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$285
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Alpenroyal(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
US$231
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alpenblick(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$176
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$393
US$366
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$343
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
240
60
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
60
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcome drinkski lift passesfluffy robes and slipperstrain stationlast minute bookingexcellent accommodationswimming pool and spaski vacationshort walk to the main streetmain liftsa wonderful stayglass of proseccorestaurant reservationslounge chairshotel is in a great locationmatterhorn viewlittle things
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2013

In this hotel everything is almost very good. There is always something missing to make it very good.
The stuff is friendly - but bit stingy. We had two rooms but got only one hotel give away (lips treatment lipstick), though they had our rooms free on the day we left we were charged CHF 50 for each hour of late checkout.
The rooms are nice - but missing a heated rack in the bathroom to dry the towels or wet bathing suits.
The ski room is convenient - but missing a phone to contact the front desk.
The room is made up for the night - but they forget to lay out the bed side mattress.
There are bathroom soap and shampoo - but there is no conditioner.

I stayed in a number of the same level hotels in Zermatt and there it always felt that you are getting "something extra" here always "something less".

One thing is really great - it's location and the room view to the Matterhorn. .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Matterhorn view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burshtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNationalZ, Direktionsassistentin at Hotel National Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Burshtine Family,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to review your experiences here in our Hotel National Zermatt.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the unique location of our Hotel, the comfort of our rooms and their panoramic view to the Matterhorn.

Our Give Aways are meant for every single guest. We are rejoiced that you liked the lipsticks and therefore truly regret that you missed out on some! We will take your comment to review the process and handling of these articles just to make sure that every guest gets to know the true promise of our Give Aways!

With the beginning of this winter season we extended our standards with a number of 5* standards which we gladly provide our guests on top of the actual 4* standards. The bed side mattress is one of these additional standards and we will surely review the implementation of this standard to achieve a hundred per cent realisation.

Our bathrooms have been renovated in 2007 last. That you missed out on a heated rack we will definitely take into account for upcoming renovations in our bath rooms. The next large designated renovation will take place in our National Spa – giving the pool area a complete new makeover.

We are aware of the lack of a direct contact facility from our ski room to our reception. We are planning to setup a telephone line as well as a key drop in facility so our guests will be no longer forced to make their way twice to reception and to the ski room. These facilities will be set up latest till the beginning of the upcoming winter season.

Thank you for your feedback on our Late Check Out policy. Actually, this policy we implemented only a short time ago and we are still in process of reviewing whether this policy will approve or fail. Your comment is therefore valuable receiving a significant evaluation.

We would be be pleased to be able to welcome you here again - in our Hotel National Zermatt - making it better next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We have just stayed at this hotel for the second time. It is well located for the ski lifts and for the town centre. Food is of a very high quality and staff are very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

In some respects, trying to review the National is a little difficult because I had spoken to people familiar with the hotel before I went, and they always described it in superlative terms. That could set me up for a disappointment, and while very, very good - and in many ways it was perfect for a ski vacation in the Alps - I would not use phrases like "the best", or "the most amazing" which I had heard others use in describing different aspects of our stay at the National.

Location: It is very nicely located. It is about a 7 minuted walk from the Zermatt train station, although the most direct route from the station to the hotel goes down a very narrow and busy road that was covered in ice. We discovered it was far more pleasant to walk through the main village and take about 12 to 15 minutes to walk between the station and the hotel. The National is also directly across the street from the funicular and ski lifts to the suenegga ski area.

Service: The staff at the National are friendly and helpful. I have no complaints about the staff, but they do not really go above and beyond as at some top rated hotels. For example, they will happily book the hotel shuttle to get you and your belongings to the train station, but they seem reticent to let you know that such service is available if you do not ask. This is a minor thing, but these minor things pile up. If one is paying five star prices, one hopes to have more than four and a half star service. The cleaning staff were also a little too efficient: on our check out day, they had the room cleaned up while we were at breakfast and we felt we were being pushed out of our room a full two hours before we needed to be out.

Food: They serve very, very good food at the National. Again, though, expectations had been built up to a ridiculous level. One acquaintance had told me unequivocally that the National's breakfast buffet was the most amazing spread I would ever see. It was great, but not quite as good as some such as the breakfasts at the Kirchbuhl in Grindelwald.

Rooms: The rooms, like the entire hotel, were comfortable, clean, and provided a feeling of coziness that was just right. The room - in fact the entire hotel - was devoid of clocks. This did contribute to a certain sense of sensory deprivation because it was so dark in the room once the lights were turned out for the evening. This only really mattered because in January when you need to be off the mountain by about 4 each afternoon, you do like to get started with your day on time. In some rooms, the noise from the Gortnergrat train starting up at 5:30 each morning also disrupts sleep.

One complaint we did have, and which we heard echoed by other guests, is that the temperature in the rooms and the common areas of the hotel was way too high. They really keep the heat cranked up, and the only way to get the room cooled down is to open a window. One really does not expect to go to a ski resort in the middle of winter and wake up each night drenched in sweat.

The National also needs to upgrade its WiFi service. Too many areas - including the rooms at the end of the hallways - had poor and intermittent internet service.

Overall, we had a good stay. For a ski vacation, it was close to perfect. It just wasn't the GREATEST as we had been told.

Room Tip: Try to get a room above the first floor (remember that the ground floor is floor zero). The rooms on the second and third floors have spectacular views while the first floor views are obscured by a slope behind the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WDTVancouver_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Very highly recommended. The National is perfectly located across the street from the Sunnegga lift and a few minutes walk from the main train station and the Gornergrat railway station. A very high level of service begins as soon as you step off the train and the porter whisks you away in the electric taxi. Aylin at reception provided us with wonderful service throughout our stay. Rooms are very comfortable, if not opulent and most of them overlook the Matterhorn. The spa and indoor pool are beautiful. Breakfast is really good, but I recommend eating elsewhere for dinner, as there are so many great restaurants nearby. The lobby bar is the hub of activity for the whole place, and there is an enclosed cigar room just off the lobby. Really flawless service throughout the hotel. We would highly recommend the National for families and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: For Matterhorn views, the higher the better.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waterloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The hotel National is a warm, friendly hotel with excellent service. It is very clean, the spa is amazing and the location is superb with immediate access to the Sunnega ski lifts. This is a terrific spot for families. Perfect Swiss hospitality! Thank you.

Room Tip: room 301 is a quad and is quiet with a great view of the Matterhorn.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews