We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful week in Zermatt!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel National Zermat
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful week in Zermatt!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel while on a "fun" work trip with my company. The room was very comfortable, the food was incredible and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I noticed that there is a half board option and I would recommend it because I was really impressed by the variety of food for breakfast and dinner. I gained weight while I was there!

I also enjoyed the spa very much and had a fantastic massage by Sandrine. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 214 at the end of the hall which apparently was bigger than other room (with a seat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    54
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
102
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I've had the pleasure of booking two group events at Hotel Zermatt which exceeded all expectations. Everyone was happy with the hotel, staff and amenities. The in-house restaurant serves the best 'free hotel breakfast' I've ever tasted, and dinners are top quality. The in-house bar is also well stocked in a comfortable setting with friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macbisquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The location is key as it's across the road from one of the main lifts and practically next door to an efficient rental shop that comes with a discount from the hotel; the buffet breakfasts and the lunch and dinner menus are fantastic; the rooms are comfy; and most importantly - the staff are absolutely lovely and very helpful. We were a large group of 32; would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiskymanhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The hotel is very good. Wonderful service, near the rental sky and Sunnega lift, a great view of the Matterhorn, the spa is very good, jacuzy, sauna, room for the family is very comfortable. The breakfast and dinner is very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Amazing property. Outstanding location immediately across from mountain access and ski rental. Thoughtful and knowledgeable staff and a totally cool spa. Book this place and don't worry about anything else....they take care of everything! Just relax.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTGAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I and several of my skiing buddies have stayed at the Hotel National two times and absolutely love the hotel. The hotel has great amenities from the pool and sauna to the comfort of the rooms. When we book we select he half board (this is a must) as the dinners are wonderful.

The location across from the Sunnegga funicular gets you to the slopes quickly.

If you are a skier you need to go to Zermatt and when you do stay at the National!

Room Tip: half board is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z8185DEricharda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

When they say that this hotel is 20 steps from the Sunnega lift, they are not kidding, it's the perfect location to start off a great day of skiing! Our room was very clean and spacious with a great view of the Matterhorn! The staff at this hotel were more then welcoming in every way and made our experience very memorable. From the quick pickup at the train station when we called to the welcome drinks and snacks when we arrived to check in Aylin and the rest of the staff took care in every detail with a smile! We had a lovely dinner in the hotel the first night and enjoyed the variety of fresh breads, meats, cheeses and fruits at breakfast along with the made to order eggs every morning! Our lift tickets were purchased for us while we ate breakfast each morning so once we were dressed and ready we were out the door to pick up our skis and get onto the lift! The hotel is also a very convenient 10-15 walk to the center of town if your legs are not too tired from skiing of course! The turn down service in the evenings with the chocolate on the pillow was a lovely finishing touch to every day! Thank you to everyone at the National for a wonderful long weekend in Zermatt, we wish we could have stayed longer in this cozy hotel in a winter wonderland!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tj1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#15 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National Zermat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National Zermat

Property: Hotel National Zermat
Address: Matterstrasse 39, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel National)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#19 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#21 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#21 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#24 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#37 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel National Zermat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel National is conveniently located in the centre of Zermatt, right across from the Sunnegga Ski Lift and only a 5-minute walk from the train station. As the only one in Zermatt, our hotel offers exclusively south-facing rooms with balcony or a terrace in every room. The large majority of rooms also offers a spectacular view on the Matterhorn. All rooms are comfortably furnished and equipped with twin size beds, bathroom with shower-bathtub, 42"HD TV with radio, bathrobe and slippers, bathroom amenities, Nespresso coffee and tea bar, mini bar, telephone, Wi-Fi. Culinary, the National Restaurant offers true Swiss Cuisine. At breakfast fresh regional products await the guests. In the evening, you have the choice between à la carte dishes, a daily alternating Swiss Menu or an unique Cheese Experience served in the separate traditional Stuebli Restaurant. During the day and evening, the Cosy Bar invites to linger, relish a piece of cake, a light bar snack or of course enjoy a drink. For your well-being, a gorgeous wellness area is at your disposal. Within 360 square meters it offers indoor swimming pool 60 square meters sauna, steam sauna, grottoes and more. The Spa Team offers a vast range of relaxing and sport massages, as well as beauty treatments. For the sporty guest the hotel also offers a well-equipped fitness room with TV, as well as a solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel National Zermat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing