We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful hotel!”
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpina Hotel
Ranked #70 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Hotel Alpina, well, what a fantastic hotel! I have nothing bad to say about the place. The hosts were wonderful (even with a rather sick 4 year old!) the breakfast was lovely, the rooms were very clean and the bed very comfortable. We had great views from the room of the mountains all around. It's in a wonderful location only having to walk about 5 minutes (if that) to the town for dinner or shopping.

Our family was split into two rooms and both had great views and a balcony, tv (with English channels, BBC 1,2 itv, channel 4, film 4, cbeebies, CBBC etc) and hair dryers.

I read another review saying that they had to wait for the lift and they had to still take the cases up some stairs. I stayed when it was very busy and I never had to wait for the lift. You did have to take the cases up some stairs but it was literally four small steps.

There was a boot room and ski room which was great. Had such a lovely time when staying there. The hosts I really can't thank enough they were friendly, helpful and very welcoming. Considering this is one of the cheaper hotels in Zermatt it's absolutely fantastic. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic_toria391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

Very cute, clean (well up to swiss standards!), cozy little hotel. Great central location so you can walk everywhere easily, nice breakfast, friendly host. Our room was great! Given the price I was not expecting very much but was really pleasantly surprised. Saved so much money staying here. Would definitely go back or recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmax0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Hotel Alpina is centrally located but quiet at the same time. So if you want to go for dinner or drinks in the evening, it is literally just a two-minute stroll and you don't need the expensive Electrotaxis.

The breakfast is very good, and you can request extra eggs at a small fee.

The rooms are totally fine - nothing outstanding, but a decent bed and bathroom.

There is a quite cool retro-50's-style lobby room on the reception floor. Almost a trip back in time with books - and daily newspapers! Great service! You can also sit outside in the garden.

But the best of it all is really the hospitality. You feel welcome from the first minute, they are very friendly, they even kept the breakfast open for us and even replenished as we were a bit late - certainly not a given everywhere in Switzerland!

So if you are looking for a down-to-earth and welcoming place to stay in Zermatt, Hotel Alpina is warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsh_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I think August is a very popular vacation season, and this was the cheapest hotel I could find on some booking website, so I didn't really have a high expectation of the hotel.
However, when I arrived, it turned out to be just right, if not perfect.
The breakfast room is very nice, decorated with pictures Zermatt and pictures of the owners of this hotel (which, I remember, is about over 100 years old). It makes you feel having breakfast at home.
The room is not very big, but big enough. The bath room has a bathtub, and it is quite big compared with the price...haha I guess it is designed for cleaning the skiing equipments, maybe, cause you need room to move around with that big stuff.
The introduction leavelet in room is very informative, I enjoy reading the stories before sleep. The stuff is very friendly as well.
When we came back with fruit, they gave me plates, knives, spoons to enjoy my fruit in the room. They even asked me if I wanted some hot water, very considerate!:)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marylinsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Walking distance from the station even with luggages. Nice to walk through the village to get there. Close to shopping area, food and big supermarket. A bit of a walk to the base of Mointain Glacier Paradise funicular station, but a view like that, you are not going to feel it. Also very beautiful at night.

My room was a quad one, so a bit tight. Bathroom was decent sized. Everything was really clean. Wifi is bit tough to get locked on, need to find spot for good reception.

Owner was really nice, letting us use the ski store room downstair for us store luggages and change after skiing. Breakfast was a bit dull, but hot cocoa made was delicious.

Price is even cheaper than central Geneva.


  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xyzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Having moved to this hotel from a really special hotel (who couldn't accommodate us for the whole xmas period, and nor could we afford to accommodate them either), Hotel Alpina was a bit of a disappointment. Not a scrap of traditional swiss-ness, or any creature comforts.

This hotel had the smallest bathroom i'd ever seen - and an elevator that stopped between stair cases at foyers between floors so you still needed to lug bags up and down. Also- one elevator in a multi story and fully booked hotel was sometimes a wait.. Small room.

Having said that - exceptionally helpful and friendly staff, a huge snow-stuff room for bags and the like, and basic but good quality breakfast. This is probably the best value hotel in Zermatt and in the end i think i would stay there again actually - it was quite comfortable, friendly and i loved the little lounge downstairs to hang out and write home from!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathylee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

After 6 days hiling the Haute Route, five of us enjoyed an excellent night in a clean and comfortable well ran hotel, with very friendly and very helpful staff. Breakfast was also excellent.
Fenton (Ireland)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrogTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#85 of 110 in Zermatt
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Romantica
Hotel Romantica
#46 of 110 in Zermatt
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alfa
Hotel Alfa
#86 of 110 in Zermatt
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Zermatt
Hotel Continental Zermatt
#74 of 110 in Zermatt
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambiance
Hotel Ambiance
#56 of 110 in Zermatt
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beau-Rivage
Hotel Beau-Rivage
#73 of 110 in Zermatt
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Address: Englischer Viertel 5, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range: £118 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing