We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Struck it lucky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
NSW
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Struck it lucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at Aristella for two weeks and was very satisfied with our stay. If you can stay in a delux room with balcony overlooking the Matterhorn and village....perfect. Breakfast was more than adequate and afternoon tea a nice addition. The dining room offered a delicious meal if you are too tired to go out after skiing. The spa room offered a bath, relaxing lounges and sauna. Aristella is a short 5min walk to the lift buses and if you're lucky Peter might be driving by in the Aristella car and collect you. The girls at the front desk could not do enough to help meet our every need and always with a smile. The service staff were also very attentive. Thank you to the Perren family for your hospitality.
We hope to come back again
P.S. Zermatt is a WONDERFUL and expensive destination so be prepared to hand out your $

Room Tip: Room 401 was fantastic with balcony overlooking Matterhorn and village
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    38
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
58
120
22
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
298 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is very modern, quite clean with friendly receptionists that answer promptly your request and in a good location but nothing is really outstanding in a way that has one coming back for more. Breakfast, like the hotel is correct, but not exceptional.
In the afternoon the hotel provides an after skiing snack , but again, the quality of the food is average.
The room is comfortable with a small varanda but more on the small side and the furniture is somewhat unexciting...

Room Tip: Choose a room with a veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiriamM972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is not a high-end luxury hotel and only really scrapes by as a 4-star hotel. Despite that all sounding rather negative you really dont need much more than this for a long weekend skiing. The staff were polite and helpful, the hotel itself is modern, clean, well-maintained, and has most of the facilities you would want (bar a swimming pool perhaps), and it just ticks all the boxes. There really is nothing to complain about as there is nothing wrong with it, but it is also hard to get overly excited about.

POSITIVES:
- not overly expensive
- helpful staff
- modern and well-maintained
- has a decent steam room and sauna (FYI Naked only, no bathing suits allowed - Swiss style!!)
- Ski hire shop directly opposite (with 10% discount if staying at the hotel)

NEGATIVES (none of these are deal-breakers):
- requires a 3-4 minute walk with skis to the nearest ski bus stop, down either a slippery slope or perilous steps
- small rooms with limited cupboard space (hence probably not the ideal hotel for a weeks stay)
- unexciting breakfast (but has everything you would want...i just had a sense that the 'extras' are missing)
- uninspiring design (modern, clean, well-maintained, just lacking any 'oomph)

Overall it is absolutely fine and recommended for a short ski trip in Zermatt.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJINTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is, I think, the sixth time we have chosen to stay at the Aristella Hotel. As always, they looked after us so well. Extremely helpful staff and nothing is too much trouble for them. This year we upgraded to a larger room which was lovely - very comfortable. We look forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Our stay this year was as great as last year's. The warmth of the welcome, the quality of the rooms, and the helpfulness of all the staff were superb. This is what staying in a properly family run hotel is all about.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at the hotel the first Week in February 2014 visitng from the U.S. The Hotel Aristella is a fantastic, centrally located, place to stay in Zermatt! Upon our arrival the staff provided extensive information about the area and escorted us to the room to make sure that the room was acceptable. It was great! Very large room with sitting area and king size bed. It was also extemely clean. The common areas and spa facilites were also very nice and comfortable. We upgraded to a deluxe room and had a hug balcony with a perfect view of the Matterhorn. A full breakfast (including Amercian) was provided as part of your stay and the food and staff were great. My wife and I ate at the restuarant for dinner and had a superb meal. We also visted the bar area almost every evening for a glass of wine and enjoyed visitng with others traveling to Zermatt. The owner, is also onsite to personally make sure that everyones needs are being met. The staff and owner were extremely friendly. We plan on deffinently returning to the Aristella and would not stay anywhere else in Zermatt.

Room Tip: The Deluxe room for two was well worth the value and provided a great view of the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffG3207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murphy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay and appreciated the friendliness of the hotel staff. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast Buffett was wonderful with the most delicious omelette. It spoiled us for the rest of the trip as no other breakfast came close to how good this was. With candy on our pillow at night and chocolate at our departure and tea and cake in the afternoon all these small touches added up to a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racndlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#24 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#25 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Christiania Mountain & Spa
Christiania Mountain & Spa
#26 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aristella swissflair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aristella swissflair

Property: Hotel Aristella swissflair
Address: Steinmattweg 7, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#22 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#23 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aristella swissflair 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aristella swissflair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aristella Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing