We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aristella swissflair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a fantastic stay at the Aristella just before Easter, can't fault anything about, reception staff were excellent and really helpful on arrival. Room was very nice, modern, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and the option to request different eggs, omelettes etc.
In a nice quiet location with a short pleasant walk to the main restaurant and shopping street. About a 100m walk to the ski bus. In 25 years of skiing this would be one of my favourite ski hotels.
Zermatt itself is a great resort, wasn't busy even at Easter, very few snowboarders which made a pleasant change, restaurants good, as expensive as you'd expect a resort like this to be.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevePerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    38
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
118
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The nice owner Katja and Beni run this very Swiss hotel by themselves.
And you can feel the difference, as they do everything to make you happy. The Aristella is central, but off the noisier streets. Well, Zermatt is not really noisy anyway.
The newly renovated hotel has in fact a Swiss flair, but it is a bit more modern then others. The price is OK. You will find cheaper 4* hotels, but none which will take care of you as much as they do.

Room Tip: Ask! They help you as much as they can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife and I booked 6 nights at the Aristella Swifflair hotel in Zermatt, our stay there was very enjoyable and the staff quite pleasant. The receptionist Jasmine was very attentive and also helped us with some booking difficulties that we had due to my wife's visa.

The rooms, while not very large are cozy and well furnished with thick carpeting, we specially liked the wooden slanted ceiling which provided an authentic touch to the experience. The views of the Matterhorn were breathtaking, I can recommend you take a room on the top floor to maximize the view. One thing that I haven't read mentioned about the rooms, is the silence at night. I've never slept in such a quiet room, it felt amazing and thanks to the jet-lag we were able to sleep and wake up early to maximize our time on the slopes.

The ski-room is well equipped and has a boot drier which proved to be quite useful. We rented a pair of snowboards from the ski-shop literally in front of the hotel, you can save 20% by booking online in advance (from skiset.com). Not a lot of snowboarders in Zermatt as the trails cater more to skiers with long cat ways connecting the slopes and many flats, but overall still enjoyable. We made use of the wellness center almost every day after riding, it was a bit uncomfortable being around naked old men in the sauna but it seems to be a Swiss custom as strange as that may be.

We didn't opt in for the half board option since we wanted to try as many restaurants as we could but we did dine at the hotel restaurant one night and the flambe there was excellent, the lamb and veal were delicious. Breakfast was decent, could have been a bit more variety but overall quite nice with a choice of smoked fish, hams, egg station and fresh orange juice.

Location-wise the hotel is about 2-3 minutes walk from the ski-bus that takes you to most stations and a 10 minute walk to the main street or Sunnegga station. We didn't mind walking to the ski-stations since we were in snowboard boots which are much less cumbersome than ski boots.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet, hassle free stay in Zermatt.

Room Tip: Ask for the Hochalpin (top) floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Destructor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Great staff, super modern rooms with views of the Matterhorn. On top of superb Swiss food. This hotel is less than three years old and runs like a Swiss clock.... Crisp without the edge. Could ask for a better place in its price point.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank F A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at Aristella for two weeks and was very satisfied with our stay. If you can stay in a delux room with balcony overlooking the Matterhorn and village....perfect. Breakfast was more than adequate and afternoon tea a nice addition. The dining room offered a delicious meal if you are too tired to go out after skiing. The spa room offered a bath, relaxing lounges and sauna. Aristella is a short 5min walk to the lift buses and if you're lucky Peter might be driving by in the Aristella car and collect you. The girls at the front desk could not do enough to help meet our every need and always with a smile. The service staff were also very attentive. Thank you to the Perren family for your hospitality.
We hope to come back again
P.S. Zermatt is a WONDERFUL and expensive destination so be prepared to hand out your $

Room Tip: Room 401 was fantastic with balcony overlooking Matterhorn and village
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
298 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is very modern, quite clean with friendly receptionists that answer promptly your request and in a good location but nothing is really outstanding in a way that has one coming back for more. Breakfast, like the hotel is correct, but not exceptional.
In the afternoon the hotel provides an after skiing snack , but again, the quality of the food is average.
The room is comfortable with a small varanda but more on the small side and the furniture is somewhat unexciting...

Room Tip: Choose a room with a veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiriamM972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is not a high-end luxury hotel and only really scrapes by as a 4-star hotel. Despite that all sounding rather negative you really dont need much more than this for a long weekend skiing. The staff were polite and helpful, the hotel itself is modern, clean, well-maintained, and has most of the facilities you would want (bar a swimming pool perhaps), and it just ticks all the boxes. There really is nothing to complain about as there is nothing wrong with it, but it is also hard to get overly excited about.

POSITIVES:
- not overly expensive
- helpful staff
- modern and well-maintained
- has a decent steam room and sauna (FYI Naked only, no bathing suits allowed - Swiss style!!)
- Ski hire shop directly opposite (with 10% discount if staying at the hotel)

NEGATIVES (none of these are deal-breakers):
- requires a 3-4 minute walk with skis to the nearest ski bus stop, down either a slippery slope or perilous steps
- small rooms with limited cupboard space (hence probably not the ideal hotel for a weeks stay)
- unexciting breakfast (but has everything you would want...i just had a sense that the 'extras' are missing)
- uninspiring design (modern, clean, well-maintained, just lacking any 'oomph)

Overall it is absolutely fine and recommended for a short ski trip in Zermatt.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJINTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#16 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aristella swissflair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aristella swissflair

Property: Hotel Aristella swissflair
Address: Steinmattweg 7, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#21 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#22 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aristella swissflair 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Aristella swissflair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aristella Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing