We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“close to everywhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“close to everywhere!”
Reviewed 26 March 2011

From this hotel you can practically go anywhere on foot: to the station, to the restaurants, to the shops. It's just a 3-minute walk (carrying luggage) from the station and the "Bahnhoff E-bus stop". So if you want to go to Matterhorn glacier paradise cable car station, you just hop on the E-bus in front of your hotel.
The check-in and check-out procedure is fast.
The room is standard, with kitchenette and electrical stove but no cooking wares. No electric kettle and coffee making amenities.
But it's all forgotten when you see the breakfast. Their breakfast is super, with wide-array of bread and confiture, cakes, etc. Fulfill yourself before attacking the freezing coldness of Matterhorn.
This hotel also provides you with free Wifi, so take beautiful pictures of the romantic Zermatt, and send them to your loved ones in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boonnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    118
    46
    22
    10
See reviews for
90
91
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

OK, so its only my first night but I feel so strongly about reading all these negative reviews that I am staying up to write this!
We are two young professionals in our early 30's been skiing for over 20 years in many luxury resorts but for the last 7 years been coming to Zermatt with our family and friends - being pregnant we booked late and our usual Hotel Butterfly was fully booked, so my husband and brothers came across this hotel via the web and booked straight away as it was a great deal including all the transfers - after booking looked on here and have been worried for the past four months about what to expect.
I should have saved my energy as we were greeted off the train by our own taxi sent from the hotel, a warm welcome from reception and luggage delivered to our room - staff great and very chatty.

Ski boot room all looked fine, secure, each room has their own space which makes the busy periods a lot easier. Our room was a great size, 100% clean, lots of hanging space for ski suits, luggage areas and my bothers even had a mini kitchen in it! The bathroom is a little small and dated but clean and safe with a good shower - what more do you need?! Good size balcony and most importantly a comfy bed with proper duvets! Perfect.

We came down for dinner, good atmosphere in the bar, live piano music (pretty modern music at times) fire blazing and again lots of friendly staff.
Dinner, great waiter, free glass of wine on arrival and 5 yummy courses of food - great service and if you don't like a course they offer you 2 or 3 other options - great for fussy or pregnant people!

i asked for an extra pillow at 10.30pm to the man on reception but said i didn't expect it tonight but he insisted and someone brought one to my room 2 minutes later. Another example of great service.

If you are paying this great price in Zermatt which is one of the expensive resorts in europe you are not going to get the same hotel style as the 5* ones, but you are paying a fraction of the cost but getting great service and in a great resort. Book away would be my advice and come along with realistic expectations knowing the price difference you would pay in the other 4 & 5* hotels in Zermatt.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeppsandparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

I booked the Ambassador through an agent and when I saw some of the reviews here, I was worried. Turns out the place was great. There were six of us; my wife and I, married daughter, son-in-law, son (18) and daughter (15) who stayed there for a week of skiing in a self-catering appartment. There were two nice bedrooms; one with a queen, and one with two singles and a pull down queen in the living room. All the beds and bedding were super comfortable and the place was really quiet for sleeping. The kitchen, while small, was well equiped with everything we needed to make great meals. While there was no micowave or toaster, there was a three-burner stove with oven, large fridge with freezer, sink, dish rack and all the pots/pans, kettles, coffee maker, silverware and cooking untencils you need. Minutes from the hotel is a good-size co-op store with the best fruits and vegatables, meat, cheese, bread, eggs and everything else you could think of to make our breakfast and dinners in the hotel (saving big bucks). We had a good size balcony on the 4th floor overlooking the town with an amazing view of the Matterhorn each morning (loved my morning coffee out there). There is a place to store your skis and boots in the basement. You can put all your gear on at the hotel and walk 5 minutes to the ski bus or Gornergrat train to get you on the hill skiing within a half hour from leaving the hotel. While we did not interact much with the staff; when we did , they were polite and helpful. There is free wireless internet on the first floor sitting area that worked fine. For the price we paid, we found the hotel to be an exceptional place to spend a week in one of the most beautiful Swiss towns around.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravellilng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We felt compelled to write this review having just returned on the 12th Feb 2011. We had a great skiing holiday and considered the Hotel to be ideal with exceptionally friendly and helpfull staff, great food and we enjoyed the piano bar in the evening. We also read the negative reviews prior to travelling and our expectations of the Hotel declined, but much to our delight they proved to be completely incorrect.
Upon arrival we were allocated an Apartment which apart from a well appointed bedroom also had an entrance hall and a well furnished lounge. Yes the bathroom is a little dated but value for money we were well satisfied.

We had a great weeks weather and we had views of the mountains and the Matterhorn.

The swimming pool and sauna were excellent. The location close to the station is probably not the best in Zermatt but this is more than compensated by the short walk to the Gornergrat station and the viliage.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterwburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Having just returned from this hotel I am relieved! I was worried after booking it and subsequently reading all of these negative reviews. We stayed for a week and had a great stay. Staff couldn't do enough for us, particularly the receptionists and waitresses in the restaurant. Great food, breakfast had a huge choice of cereals, muslis,bread, and cooked (bacon,sausage eggs) every morning. Evening meals 5 courses, and staff happy to make substitutes if you don't like anything on the menu. Rooms could do with a bit of updating but were fine, with ensuite bathroom (with a bath) and balcony. Rooms also have a free to use safe which was helpful. We were skiing so not in the hotel during the day but found the evenings very pleasant with a good atmosphere. Great for skiers, 2 minutes walk to Gornegrat railway or skibus (8-10min journey to gondola). I used the swimming pool once and found it fine. Great stay, friendly staff, good food. Would return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satisfied_traveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

The ambassador hotel staff need to go for diplomatic training urgently. When we arrived, the receptionist was arguing with another guest who was leaving. The room was appalling , less than a 2 star room. The hotel is sited next to the railway station, and does not have good views at all. These are the positives.

The trouble really began for us, when we tried to use the Wi Fi which can only be used in the bar lounge. It was very slow to non existent, and I tried to complain. What a mistake !

I was told rudely that it was working, then that since it was "free" I should be satisfied.

The one "manager" spent his time drinking beer at the bar, the others were very rude and unhelpful.

This hotel should loose it's star rating urgently.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Appalling24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Stayed for 2 nights with group of 30 middle class, older Brits. Awful food in dingy basement restaurant. Surly staff. Filfthy balcony. No toiletries in dingy bathroom, except one dispenser of low grade soap. No one liked it, even those with better rooms.

Plus points: free access to wifi with own laptop (pay to use their computer) excellent pool...but no changing facility!! Sauna not working when we were there. Made a really poor start to our 12 day trip.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank deCourcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Style Hotel Zermatt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#15 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Zermatt

Property: Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
Address: Spissstrasse 10 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#29 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Zermatt 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine-style Group-oriented Hotel, comprising three 5-story structures linked by public rooms. We are delighted to inform you that progress on the complete renovation and re-decoration of all the Ambassador's rooms and suites, including bathrooms, is going very smoothly and to schedule! Demolition and cabling complete, walls being painted, new windows and floor boards being installed. Next step furniture. We can't wait to show our clients the result of this long-awaited change! See you in December 2014! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zermatt Ambassador Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing