We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for some”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
Ranked #53 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel offers standard hotel room style and apartment style. We stay in the apartment type room which is in C wing. When you go through the door you will be in a narrow walkway which leads to a bedroom on your left and a living room on your right. The living room has a small balcony and can be converted into a bedroom for 2 people with fold-up beds mounted on one wall. There is a small kitchen in the walkway. The furniture is quite old and lack proper maintenance. The unit is roomy if only 2 people stay. With 4 people, you have to manage. But it may be a good choice for someone want to cook their own food.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Manit_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Have been coming to the Ambassador the same week every year for the past 5 years and it never disappoints. We stay in the apartments which gives us the flexibility to eat in when the kids are tired. The refurb of the swimming pool and sauna area is fantastic. The hotel's location is excellent being near to the train station and the Gornegrat train up the mountain which is also where ski school meets.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherineers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Position of Hotel great, close to lifts etc. Yes, the Hotel rooms are dated and tired but still plenty of room and very clean. The swimming pool and sauna area has just been modernised and it is super, modernising the main restaurant this year. The food was fantastic, really 5 star, the staff were wonderful and the main areas very nice. It really is a much underrated Hotel and fantastic value for money. Would go again.

Room Tip: Room facing the Matterhorn with balcony, lovely sunshine in the afternoon.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Superb care and attention from the staff.The food was out of this world!The bedrooms were dated but clean,the bathroom a little cramped.Could do with rearranging the storage space as our room was equiped with a self catering sink/cooker in a small kitchenette and this meant
extra cupboards took up what could have been a very spacious room.

Room Tip: choose second floor and above for superb view of the Matterhorn
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kelani1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Booked a week's skiing with a well known ski company and this was our hotel. Zermatt is a beautiful old town with lots of character, lovely restaurants and bars to suit all tastes. The hotel is less than 5 min walk from the ski bus & train station. For skiers and boarders the hotel has a special entry so you can go straight in and get out of your kit, there are room numbered storage areas for skis/boards with plenty of benches to make kitting up easier. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Food was EXCELLENT, we went half board so a buffet style breakfast, with plenty of options hot, cold, fruit, bread, yoghourts and cheeses. Evening meal was set. It was often a 5 or 6 course affair. The food was of an excellent standard with good quality meat and the presentation was superb. Waitress service was efficient from Dragan & Susan - thanks. Room was massive! 2 good showers, never ran out of hot water. Bonus to this hotel is the new pool area. New as of Dec 2011, good swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and lounge chairs. Sauna etiquette is a little unsure, the hotel asks that you be naked, but equally as many stayed in swimwear. Evening's would have a piano entertainer in the bar with a lovely log fire so that created a good atmosphere. We left early morning and thoughtfully was given a small breakfast bag of goodies for the transfer. Only 1 small downside... when you came in from a day on the slopes the bar didn't open till 5 so you couldn't get a hot drink, snack or alchololic beverage. I really enjoyed staying here, I would definitely go again and would recommend it as an excellent place to say in Zermatt.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank muddyboots73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Spacious 2 bed apartment, with a small kitchenette (electric hob & oven), large dining room/lounge with new flat screen TV and sizeable balcony.

It's a pretty good location, less than 5mins walk from the station (away from town direction) but to get up the main street is no more than 10minute walk. 5 mins to Gornergrat train, so pretty darn good I'd say. Often got a bus from outside the station up to Sunnegga.

Interesting little bar with piano music in the evening and frankly, not much atmosphere when we were there, but there's plenty of other bars in town, so why stay in the hotel?

It's recently had the heating system upgraded and there's a sauna and pool which are great for a post ski relax. The ski room is excellent.

If there was one practical criticism from a skier's perspective is that the path down to ski room is paved and it gets incredibly slippery when it's snowed so be prepared to tread carefully or slide down

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fatmansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The staff was surly, the breakfast was very, very inadequate, the dining room was closed on Sunday without any notice. Our room was large with an excellent view of the Matterhorn, but
the furnishings were dull, worn and depressing. Never, never would we recommend, nor stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cwhelan136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#29 of 111 in Zermatt
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Style Hotel Zermatt
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#14 of 111 in Zermatt
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#50 of 111 in Zermatt
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#15 of 111 in Zermatt
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Zermatt

Address: Spissstrasse 10 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#33 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £177 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Zermatt 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine-style Group-oriented Hotel, comprising three 5-story structures linked by public rooms. We are delighted to inform you that progress on the complete renovation and re-decoration of all the Ambassador's rooms and suites, including bathrooms, is going very smoothly and to schedule! Demolition and cabling complete, walls being painted, new windows and floor boards being installed. Next step furniture. We can't wait to show our clients the result of this long-awaited change! See you in December 2014! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zermatt Ambassador Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing