We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel & Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
Ranked #44 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel & Value”
Reviewed 25 February 2008

The Ambassador Hotel in Zermatt, perhaps cognizant of the reviews posted at Trip Advisor, is a great place to stay in Zermatt. Ideally located a few paces from the train station, and central to everything in Zermatt, including skiing access and all restaurants and shops, the Ambassador is nothing like the reviews posted by others. The staff was friendly, attentive, and always available. Those who had issues with front desk staff must not be experienced European travelers, because all acceess to skiing is almost right outside the door via bus or train, either to the Swiss or Italian side; there is no reason to pester the staff whee to go or how to get there, because Zermatt is so small that no directions are really required. The half board meal option is passable, but the Ambassador has an excellent fondue restaurant on premises. Compared to prices at other Zermatt four and five star hotels, the Ambassador is not only a gret deal, but an good hotel at any price. One note of caution: like many European hotels, the pillows are flat; plan accordingly if you like firm pillows!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Samiam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    119
    46
    22
    10
See reviews for
90
91
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2008

I do not recognise the same hotel in some of these reviews. I've just come back from a week at the Ambassador and had a fantastic time.
All the staff were helpful, the food excellent FIVE COURSES each night and the bar stayed open for us when we needed it.

I'd go back tomorrowif I could afford it!

  • Disliked — Rooms rather warm, but you could easily open the window!!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank smdrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

We found ourselves here with a group of friends having been convinced to go by the good location and views.

From the minute you walk through those annoying Christmas bells hanging over the front door - you'll feel like you stepped into a wake drunkenly dressed in sparkly glitter party clothes looking for a good time, such is the welcome you'll receive here.

Anything you need is too much trouble, even asking for your room key. The owners propping up the bar stools are a business liability - which is probably why the bar doesnt serve into the early hours like any other decent 4 star hotel. There's probably no alcohol left at the end of an evening. I don't blame them - running such a place would surely be more depressing than trying to live out your existence in Alcatraz.

The rooms are basic but clean. Good turndowns and cleaning service during the day. Although stiflingly hot and try as we might with knobs and windows we couldnt maintain a comfortable temperature - resulting in puffy faces, sniffly noses and asthma medication the following day.

The food can only be described as death row fodder. Don't bother - head to the McDonalds wheelie bins 500 metres away for a better dinner.

The whole place is crying out for some investment, entrepreneurial spirit and happy staff. Me? I would close it down, give it a good kick around and reopen a year later with staff that actually want my business to work.

There are so many better hotels in Zermatt - probably all of them actually. Pick any.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ricard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2007

Stayed here in the self catering apartments last ski season with wife and two children. We're used to Pierre & Vacances self catering in Val D'Isere and the apartments at the Ambassador are like small palaces in comparison! Large sitting room with large pull out double bed, dining area, television, minibar, safe, separate kitchen, bathroom with shower and bath, good sized double bedroom, loads of storage space. There was a nice bar off reception and a good swimming pool. Location was excellent for arriving and accessing the slopes although you have to use the taxis.

Being in self catering we didn't have much contact with the staff and to be honest the guy in reception in the mornings was surly and unfriendly, but the bar staff were nice as were the restaurant staff when we tried it . The restaurant specialised I seem to recall in fondues and was good but very pricey - don't take the kids!

  • Liked — Space!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R0bertLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2007

I would have to agree with those who reported terrible treatment by the staff. We could not get anyone to wait on us in the bar, and were treated terribly rudely when someone finally did show up. (After 20 minutes) In addition, the breakfast treatment was atrocious! No tables, no coffee, no sign of any wait staff whatsoever. It's a shame, because the hotel itself has huge potential. Beautiful rooms, gorgeous views of the Matterhorn, and conventient location. Can't say that I would recommend, but if you find yourself staying there, you'll at least have a nice room, and not much else.

  • Liked — beautiful rooms, wonderful amenities and gorgeous views
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank egrl2444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

This hotel is conveniently located just 3 minutes walk to the train station of the Gornergrat Bahn railway. It's interior is somewhat old. The attitude of one of the staff in the reception is the poorest that I've ever seen among the "4 stars" hotel. Here are some of the conversations:

"Excuse me, do you have a kettle in the room?"
"Nothing"
"Where can I get hot drinking water then?"
"Nothing"
"Is there anything that you can help me out then?"
"Nothing"

Another conversation occurs when my laptop failed to connect to their wireless network:

"Excuse me, is there a wireless network in the lobby, cos..." being interrupted.
"Can't you see on the wall?" Pointing on a sign on the wall without even looking at me.
"But my laptop failed to connect to the network. Just wish to ask if ...." being interrupted again
"Then it must be the problem of your PC!"
I just don't want to talk with him anymore.

These are just some of the rude attitude that I personally encountered. Our friends also said that receptionist is very impolite to them. I wonder if we deserve such an attitude in a 4 star hotel during our holiday. I would surely not recommend this hotel to my friends unless they improve their staff attitude

  • Disliked — Rude staff attitude
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aqavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2007

Stayed in the Ambassador from 31st March - 7th April 2007 and had a great time.

Our room was quite large with a balcony although the en-suite bathroom was on the small side but perfectly adequate. It was spotlessly clean and on return from Dinner each evening the bed had been turned down.

The food was really good and varied with an Italian theme night (included in our half board package) which was of excellent quality. We found the Restaurant staff to be friendly, courteous, helpful and very knowledgeable on the good range of wines available.

There is a nice comfortable well stocked Bar and again the staff were great.

Conveniently located a couple of minutes form the Gornergrat Railway and the Ski Bus stop it's an easy walk at the start and end of the day. The only thing that concerned us was the sloping driveway from the Hotel door up on to the Street level but it never really gave us a problem - might be a different story in icy conditions.

All in all we were delighted with our week at the Ambassador and will not hesitate to stay there again on our next visit to Zermatt.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Style Hotel Zermatt
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#15 of 110 in Zermatt
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Zermatt

Property: Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
Address: Spissstrasse 10 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Zermatt 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine-style Group-oriented Hotel, comprising three 5-story structures linked by public rooms. We are delighted to inform you that progress on the complete renovation and re-decoration of all the Ambassador's rooms and suites, including bathrooms, is going very smoothly and to schedule! Demolition and cabling complete, walls being painted, new windows and floor boards being installed. Next step furniture. We can't wait to show our clients the result of this long-awaited change! See you in December 2014! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zermatt Ambassador Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing