We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bijou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bijou Hotel
Ranked #71 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The owner Andrea and the staffs are very friendly and helpful. Nadine who was our waitress during our stay, she was always there to help us and making sure we were enjoying our stay. I have an eight year old who is a picky eater, Andrea and Nadine helped me with her meals. The chef makes the most delicious home make meals. My daughter was very happy to eat there every night. The hotel is suited on the hill and it has a fantastic view of the Matterhorn. It is very convenient to go up the mountain. The Matterhorn gondola is less than 5 mins walk down the hill. It is a prefect location for skiers. You can lock your skis by the Matterhorn gondola for 2 CHF per day. It is a easy walk to town if you prefer to eat out. Hotel Bijou is a family friendly hotel. We slept well every night.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the Matterhorn. Make sure you request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    47
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
55
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Truly a hidden gem- as someone had mentioned. We really got tired while climbing the last 100m after 15mins walk from station. Had to call the reception to get exact location- we were *** tired even to walk 5-10 extra steps! Please do not go by any comment that '15 mins uphill walk', since the last 100mtrs did take out our last.
Hosts were very friendly. Did try their best to reinstate the WiFi and lent the office PC to provide me mail access- since I was in an emergency!
The scenery from our room was excellent- Matterhorn stood straight.
Setbacks- Double bed was actually two mattresses. Breakfast was very limited. Pick-up/Drop-off cost 20 CHF.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazy_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Large and clean room, and with nice Matterhorn view. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Really pet friendly (they took care of, and played with our dog). Great location, 100m from the ski lift. However, as the hotel is up on the hill, for skiers I would recommend renting a locker (for 2 CHF) at the ski lift.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ValiOana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great views and very nice host. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The hike from the train station can be a bit much if carrying too much luggage but give them a call or take one of the taxis. We had a view room of the Matterhorn and was lucky to have pretty clear weather the day we arrived. The beds and comforters are very nice.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a view of the Matterhorn - and hope for clear weather :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamumm74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Once we found this little gem, we were pleasantly surprised. Situated next door to the cable cars at the outer extremity of the village, we couldn't have been better positioned for Matterhorn views right off of our balcony. Friendly owner/operators were helpful and accommodating. A nice little breakfast room provides a quick start to your day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Findad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Excellent views of the Matterhorn and easy accessibility to the cable car station to reach Matterhorn Glacier palace. Rooms are beautiful and spacious, windows are wide and allows beautiful views of Matterhorn. A 15 minute walk to city center and the train station. Andre and his team has been very helpful and courteous. Location of the hotel is excellent, completely away from the bustling village center, yet within 15 min walk to the center. Overall our experience has been great, would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Send an email to Andre before you arrive so that he can arrange to pick you from the train station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vadiraj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adonis
Hotel Adonis
#68 of 109 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenblick
Alpenblick
#62 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenroyal
Hotel Alpenroyal
#80 of 109 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Kronig
Hotel Garni Kronig
#92 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plateau Rosa
Hotel Plateau Rosa
#70 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bijou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bijou Hotel

Property: Bijou Hotel
Address: Winkelmattenweg 52, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#46 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bijou Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bijou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bijou Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing