We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Zermatt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We have decided to go to hotel Sonne based on very good ratings in Trip advisor and Booking.com, we had high expectations and i have to say we have been so happy here, from a perfect welcoming at the arrival to the end the staff has exceeded our expectations, after wonderful ski days, just go to the spa with a choice of different hammam.... Then to the pool and the outdoor Jacuzzi. In the ski room you will even find a shoes warming system.... We willmreturn to Hotel Sonne next year for shure.

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank Lesbiolles1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your nice comments and taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are happy to read that you had a great time at hotel Sonne and we are looking forward to host you again soon.

Sunny regards from Zermatt!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

A lovely, cozy and pleasant hotel with great service, good dining and bar, and kind and hospitable family atmosphere. Quiet place a little up hill nearby the central square. Excellent service. Relaxing swimming pool with massage and termarium to end the ski day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Elena M,

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write about your experience with us. It was a pleasure hosting you and we are looking forward to host you again in the near future.

Sunny regards form Zermatt!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The last time i stayed at Zermatt was 28 years ago and remember it being a special place, so when deciding on a ski holiday with my daughter who was living in London I thought it would be the ideal venue.
I chose Hotel Sonne after reading several positive reviews and after 1 minute after arrival I could tell it was the right decision.
From the minute you walk in the door you are met with a warm and caring attitude that was carried out throughout the whole stafff and did not stop the entire week we were there.
The rooms were perfect, the facitilities that included the wellness area plus pool and outdoor spa were such a bonus i did not expect.
Dinner & breakfast were included and i have to say the dinner that was a 5 course meal every night was supperb, i could not fault one dish and after a day of skiing it was the ideal way to spend the evening eating delicious meals and being treated by the friendly service from the restaurant staff.
In summing up the Hotel is a 4 star but as far as i concerned it was much higher, i honeslty recomend the Hotel Sonne to anyone and if ever i return to Zermatt there is only one place that i will be staying!!!
Thankyou Hotel Sonne from Scott & Holly for making our trip to Zermatt a very special one..

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Scott und Holly,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review about your experience with us. For all our staff it was a pleasure hosting you. We are happy to read that you had an amazing time in Zermatt and we are looking forward to host you in the near future.

Sunny regards from the Swiss Alps!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

These Hotel with a very god athmoshere that are coming 100 % from the family and the staff , are one of My favorit place and the only one if I stay in Zermatt.
The Rooms that makes you feeling very nice are complete with what you need when you not are at home

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quadrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your great comments and taking the time to write about your experience with us. we are happy to read that you had an amazing time in our hotel and we are looking forward to see you again soon.

Sunny regards form Zermatt!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed for a week skiing. The food and service and accommodation was excellent. We highly recommend the hotel and town. They were very helpful with all our needs. The thermarium is first class. My ski boots were always dry and warm. The pool and spa were excellent as was the wellness centre.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjkahler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your nice comments and taking the time to write about your experience with us. we are happy to read that you had an excellent time with us and we are looking forward to host you again soon.

Sunny regards form Zermatt!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Excellent experience at Hotel Sonne, clean, beautiful and comfortable rooms, wonderful breakfast and most of all over the top service and attention.

I want to thank the Hotel staff for making our stay so welcoming and comfortable, they made us feel at home and helped us with anything we needed, the staff at the reception, restaurant and hotel bar, never had an overall excellent experience with service like at Hotel Sonne. Location was very good, near the hustle and bustle but far enough to not have the noise from the main street be a factor. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paticas84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Madam,

Thanks a lot for your kind comments and taking the time to write about your experience with us. It was a pleasure hosting you at our hotel and we are looking forward to host you again in the near future.

Sunny regards form Zermatt!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just got home from Our fifth stay in Zermatt, for Christmas week, but our first stay at the Hotel Sonne.

My wife and I booked a Jr. suite facing South, and we did not get a stunning view of the Matterhorn, but considering that we see it all day long while skiing, this is not a problem. We always stay Half board (Breakfast and Dinner included) when traveling in the Alps, and the Sonne really presents a wonderful mufti course dinner menu. If there are dietary concerns or necessary changes desired, the Dinning Staff actually preempts your request by asking each table if the menus suits. We enjoyed the prefixed offerings for seven nights, but witnessed tweaks form neighboring tables with no one leaving un-satisfied. The wine list was great and the overall presentation rivals any European 5 star Restaurant. Breakfast is an ever changing buffet style, and we found it to be a perfect start to each adventurous ski day.

The reception desk is staffed by true Professionals, who know only to make each guest feel welcome and important. It is also a comforting change to learn that the staff is completely internet savvy, and I have experienced almost immediate responses to emails, be it form my home in the USA or from the train riding from the Swiss Airport.

Indoor / outdoor hot tubs, an indoor lap pool and a whole floor dedicated to different aroma therapeutic steam rooms, made for a great "down time" session after each day cruising the mountains.

A high recommendation for this family owned and operated establishment.

Gregory Toro
Exton, PA USA

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GToro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Gregory,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments! It was a pleasure hosting you and we are really pleased to hear that you had a fantastic time with us. We are looking forward to host you again in the near future.

Sunny regards from Zermatt to Pennsylvania!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.6 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#32 of 110 in Zermatt
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#16 of 110 in Zermatt
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#29 of 110 in Zermatt
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
0.5 mi away
Sunstar Style Hotel Zermatt
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne Zermatt

Address: Metzggasse 35 | Postfach 121, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range: £220 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne Zermatt 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sonne Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing