We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely family run hotel.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Sonne for the first week in March this year and we were not disappointed. Having researched a lot of possibilities in Zermatt the Hotel Sonne had a lot to offer.
The decoration is charming and very cosy and the bedrooms are a good size.
They have a beautiful spa with indoor swimming pool ,and lovely hand painted scenery around it on the walls.
It has 2 Jucuzzis and a wonderful hot tub outside surrounded by snow and icicles hanging from the rocks. Bliss after a hard days skiing, soaking in the hot tub under the stars!
Dinner we felt was rather overpriced and not special so we had bed and breakfast and that way could eat out in the local restaurants. Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a high room with balcony and good view; as they all vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelahancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Google Translation
Liebe angelahancock

Vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihr Feedback. Schön, dass Sie sich hier bei uns gut erholen konnten. Wir schätzen es sehr, dass Sie sich ein paar Minuten Zeit genommen haben uns zu bewerten. Im März diesen Jahres hatten wir tolle Schneeverhältnisse, was sich auch in unserem Aussenpool gut erkenntlich zeigte! :-)
Es würde uns sehr freuen, Sie auch im nächsten Jahr wieder bei uns willkommen zu heissen und wir werden versuchen, die kleinen negativen Aspekte in positive Aspekte zu verbessern.
Wir wünschen einen schönen Start in den Frühling.
Das Sonne-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    35
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
112
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Hello,

This was my second time staying at Sonne Hotel and there are no words to describe this place. In my arrival I felt the same thing as last time, the welcoming environment, the cosiness of its facilities, the helpful and cheerful staff, and it goes without saying the incredible comfort of my room. When I first stepped into Sonne Hotel, and this amazing feeling came back, I knew I was right to come back to this marvellous place.

Once again I was impressed with the swimming pool area, sauna and the hot open air bathtub. It’s just amazingly beautiful to relax a bit after a skiing day on a hot bathtub with an astonishing view to the mountains covered in snow. It makes me realize how lucky I am sometimes! Just the perfect combination after a beautiful sunny skiing day.

Also every meal was impeccable, with a creative and well executed menu every single day I was excited to know what was waiting for me. Not only the buffet had a great variety of entrances and hot dishes, but also there was always a spectacular selection of main courses.

My room was just heaven, with a view to the mountains and all the comfort it was as Swiss as it can get. I was very impressed with the Wi-Fi connection in it, as well as in the whole Hotel.

One of the things that impressed me the most was one night as I was having dinner one of the members of the Forster family who was also having dinner started to talk with one couple sitting next to them, after a little while there was about 4 or 5 separate tables talking and laughing with each other, suddenly the dining room had the most warmth and welcoming atmosphere I will never forget.

A family Hotel, beautifully located in one of the most charming Zermatt corners. A place that makes it very difficult to leave. I strongly recommend it and I’m already looking forward to coming back next season.

Marcos.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Marcos L.

What a fantastic Feedback, thank you very much for the amazing Feedback. It was a real pleasure reading it. We are very happy, you felt this way visiting us for the second time.

We will also Transfer your Feedback to our staff, because it was the whole Team, not just us as a Family. Without our staff, the sonne-Team, we would not be where we are right now.

As you mentionde: Our spot is unique: calm, cosy and still very fast in the village Center. We really hope to welcoming you back next year. And who knows; probably even in Summer! I am sure you would love it.

Thank you very much for sending us a Feedback. We really do appreciate. The whole Family wishes you a wonderful time and we look Forward to your "third visit". All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I fully understand the high rating. Excellent and charming family owned hotel. The Forster Family are very friendly and helpfull. Everything was convenient - transportation, ski rental and lunch and dinner reservations.The hotels location is great, in a quiet area, but few minutes from the busy "city". After a long day skiing it was wonderfull to go to the swimming pool and the outdoor Jacuzzi. We had a great stay and will be back.
Norwegian Family of 6 adults.

Room Tip: ask for mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristaugust2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Normally I would have good things to say about this hotel. Our room, a junior suite, was very nice and comfortable. It was really just a room with a little extra space, but so be it. The hotel was reasonably well located with transportation to the lifts in the morning. The public spaces are well designed, comfortable and well lit (something often lacking in hotel lobbies). The owners and staff were friendly and helpful with tips and information. Until...

We came for a brief ski vacation which we had booked less than 2 weeks before arrival. (The hotel was not full) We persuaded another couple to join us. Unfortunately, my husband injured his leg on the morning of the very first day! That same morning we decided to cut our stay short by one day (5 to 4) as I did not want to ski so much alone.

The owners of the hotel insisted on FULL PAYMENT for the 5th night. They will give NO REFUND FOR A BOOKED STAY THAT IS CANCELLED OR SHORTENED AFTER A CERTAIN POINT. They kept stating "this is the policy" as if this were a directive from on high but in a family owned hotel the directive was from themselves. It is true that this is written on their booking page and they recommend taking out travel insurance.

The smart move on their part would have been to show some flexibility and compromise with us. Had they insisted on 50% of the cost of the last night we would not have said a word. As it was, they did not even remove the value of the breakfast for the morning we were not there as we had already left!

They received full payment for the night we did not stay in the hotel. I hope they enjoy the money because what they received in return is a GUARANTEE THAT WE WILL NOT STAY THERE AGAIN OR RECOMMEND TO OUR FRIENDS.

We loved Zermatt and look forward to coming again next season. We will NOT return to the Sonne Hotel as they left us with a bad taste.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Google Translation
Liebe Lilly 176

Als erstes möchten wir uns herzlich für das ehrliche Feedback bedanken. Auch bedanken möchten wir uns, dass Sie uns während einige Tagen besucht haben. Das hat uns sehr gefreut.

Wir finden es sehr Schade, dass Sie nicht mit einem 100% guten Eindruck unser Hotel verlassen konnten. Wir als Team, versuchen immer wieder, unser Bestes zu geben. Es ist klar, dass uns das nicht immer gelingen kann, auch wenn wir das versuchen. Wir können sehr gut verstehen, dass Sie sich mit unsere "Cancellation Policy" nicht anfreunden konnten. Trotzdem möchten wir versuchen Ihnen das kurz zu erläutern. Im Normalfall sind wir sehr flexibel, was die "Stornierungsbedingungen" anbelangt, speziell als Familienbetrieb verstehen wir unsere Kunden oft. Jedoch gibt es auch bei uns Zeiten, an denen diese Bedingungen einfach eingehalten werden müssen. Leider konnten wir das Zimmer nicht mehr weiterverkaufen, da Ihre Zimmer unsere letzten Suiten waren. Wir mussten teils Kunden absagen, welche gerne während dem gleichen Zeitraum hiergeblieben wären oder eine Nacht früher angereist wären.

Wie oben kurz erwähnt. Wir wissen, dass eine 100%ige Zufriedenstellung einfach sehr schwierig ist umzusetzen. Dennoch schätzen wir Ihre Ehrlichkeit. Ebenfalls freuen wir uns sehr, dass Ihnen Zermatt sehr gut gefallen hat und Sie Zermatt erneut besuchen werden. Für die Zukunft wünschen wir Ihnen alles Gute und viel Glück bei der Wahl des Hotels. Und wer weiss: Vielleicht erhalten auch wir als Familienhotel eine zweite Chance.

Alles Gute
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxshott, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have stayed in this wonderful family owned hotel for many years and really do feel part of the family; the welcome from all the staff is exceptional. As other reviewers have commented the food is excellent, served in an exceptionally comfortable room with beautiful linen covered tables. The bar area is very relaxing for pre dinner drinks and chat.The bedroom suites are immaculate and the steam rooms, swimming pool and outdoor jacuzzi just perfect at the end of the day. The family and their staff just make for a perfect holiday. Can't wait for the next trip!

Room Tip: I haven't had a room that I did not like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DillsTelescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Sir

thank you very much for your great and honest Feedback. for us it was as well a pleasure having you here It is just not the same without you. I will Transfer the outstanding Feedback to the whole Team, I am so sure, they will enjoy reading it.

The whole Family wishes you a wonderful year and we look very much Forward to welcoming you again, here at the Sonne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife and I greatly enjoyed the warm hospitality extended by the Forster family at this charming hotel. It was my 5th visit there in recent years and I felt very much at home. The staff are all charming, friendly and helpful. Our room was most comfortable with a balcony and view on to the surrounding mountains. Beds are very comfortable and there is plenty of cupboard space.
The bar and lounge areas are very comfortable with a cosy log fire. The dining room has three sections all recently renovated.The food is of very high quality excellently presented and most plentiful. A good wine list but somewhat pricey, as is usual nowadays in Swiss hotels.

The spa and swimming pool with indoor and outdoor jacuzzi are an added attraction. There is also a well equipped gym. The services offered include pick up in the hotel electric buggy from the railway station and taxi to the ski transportation system of choice every the morning. The ski room has movable racks for skis and heated boot rail for ski boots or walking shoes. All very convenient.

I highly recommend the Hotel Sonne for it ambience and friendly welcome all guests receive. Many of whom like myself come back year after year.
Peter S. London

Room Tip: Corner suites are most spacious and have interconnecting rooms for families. South facing rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterS332014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I have stayed in this hotel on many occasions and it never fails to impress. I am always greeted as if I mattered, the owners and the staff are so friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent, the spa and swimming pool lovely and the outside jacuzzi under the frozen waterfall quite spectacular. I couldn't recommend the Sonne more

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.6 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#27 of 110 in Zermatt
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
929 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#13 of 110 in Zermatt
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#14 of 110 in Zermatt
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#34 of 110 in Zermatt
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne Zermatt

Property: Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Address: Metzggasse 35 | Postfach 121, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne Zermatt 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sonne Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing