We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat the location, views, and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location, views, and service!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Perfect hotel!!!! Clean, well maintained, and great staff. Called Karen when we got on the train to the hotel and the shuttle was there a few minutes after we arrived. Got a very friendly welcome and suggestions as to where to eat, trains to sites, shops, etc. View of the Matterhorn was incredible from our balcony. Want to go back and stay there again someday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    35
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
112
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We returned once again to this happy relaxing family hotel, and we were not disappionted at all.
It was very quiet in the resort this time of the year MAY but we enjoyed it.
If all goes to plan we will be returning next year for a winter break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gyrussxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Google Translation
Liebe/-r gyrussxp

Vielen herzlichen Dank für das tolle Feedback. Es freut uns sehr, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt genossen haben. Wir werden auch bei einem weiteren Mal vollen Einsatz leisten, damit Sie zufrieden sind.

Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder einmal zu sehen. Sonnige Grüsse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A rare, charming treasure at the base of the mystically inspiring Matterhorn! The hotel staff, service, and facilities were extraordinary! From the ease and responsiveness of internet reservation service, incredibly gracious check-in / concierge / staff, beautiful room, delicious breakfast, fabulously maintained, clean pool and amenities, stunning location, and over-all-above-and-beyond service in every way. Not to mention the surprisingly reasonable price. (The hotel also provides a space to shower and change after check out if you choose to hike, as we did. A terrific amenity for making the most of the day before return journey home.) A beautiful surprise that enhanced our adventures in the Alps. (Note: we also stayed in the Omnia which is 2-3+ times the price, without offering 2-3+ times the benefit.) We will most definitely be returning and recommending the Hotel Sonne to everyone at every opportunity! Thank you Hotel Sonne!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissCatUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you very much for such a great Feedback. It was a pleasure, reading, that you enjoyed every Minute here with us. We always try our best, as a Team, then only all together can fullfill a perfect Service. Eventough we are a Family Business, the customer is king and we try the very best, to fullfill every wish!
We really hope to have you have next year. Enjoy the summer time. Sunny regards from the bottom of the Matterhorn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here in May and had a great time. The hotel is beautiful, very clean and the staff make sure that you enjoy your stay. Hotel owner was a lot of fun and the rest of the staff always made us feel very welcome. Even the morning breakfast was good - try the omelet with fresh herbs. We have stayed at probably hundreds of hotels and this was one of our favorite.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was our second trip to Hotel Sonne after staying at this hotel last year.We were very much delighted again.Without doubt I am sure that always when ever I get a chance I will strongly recommend to choose Sonneh Hotel in Zermatt as a prefered,wonderful place to stay and have enjoyable vacation.Great location and abundant delicious food!(Breakfast and Dinner) Needless to say,don't go to any outside restaurant! Very helpful and friendly front desk and staff.Hotel's staff hospitality makes us feel like home.Rooms are fully equipped,T.V excellent as well as other public facilities (state of art gym room,pool,jucuzzy).A very special family hotel with warm welcoming feeling.Thanks to this hotel we left after having again a fantastic stay in Zermatt.

Room Tip: South East side Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlanPeleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This was our 4th trip back to the Hotel Sonne and we were not disappointed. When we arrived it was like seeing old friends again. Nearly all the staff were the same and they all remembered us and made us feel most welcome. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile. Rooms are very comfortable, the swimming pool is great after a days skiing and the food is very good. I am sure we will be back for a 5th visit next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Simon P.

Wir möchten uns herzlich bei Ihnen für das schöne Feedback bedanken. Es ist schön zu hören, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt in vollen Zügen geniessen konnten. Es ist auch für uns immer wieder toll, Euch bei uns zu haben. Schon bald ein Teil der Familie Forster, könnte man fast sagen.
Wir hoffen sehr, dass wir Sie nächstes Jahr wieder bei uns begrüssen dürfen. Wir wünschen Ihnen einen tollen Start in den Frühling und bis ganz bald.
Das Sonne-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were looking for a hotel for a short ski-break in early April and were delighted to have found the Sonne. Everywhere in the hotel, from public areas to the pool and wellness areas to the rooms, is clean and immaculately maintained. Each and every member of staff that we met couldn't be more helpful. The availability of ski passes in the hotel and use of the hotel transport to the ski lifts took the hassle out of the start of the ski day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Chris H.

First of all we would like to thank you for such a great Feedback, which is very appreciated. It was a pleasure having you here and we are also happy that you could enjoy your time here with us. We do hope you could return with positive thoughts and with a smile on your face and of course: with new energy.
Once more: thank you so much for everything and we look very much forward to hopefully welcoming you again, next year. We wish you a wonderful start into spring.
The whole Sonne-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.6 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#15 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#13 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne Zermatt

Property: Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Address: Metzggasse 35 | Postfach 121, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne Zermatt 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sonne Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing