We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel in beautiful Zermatt”
Review of Coeur des Alpes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coeur des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Visited Zermatt on the last leg of our family vacation in Switzerland. Booked the hotel thru' internet basing on the excellent reviews. This hotel is really as fabulous as being acclaimed by others. We're awe-struck by the design of the hotel ... and very impressed with level of furnishing in our 2 small rooms. The owners were friendly & helpful while the staffs' service is top notch. Overall a very good hotel and I'll strongly recommend it. Will certainly be coming back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sg_guy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stunning hotel. incredible design. Our room was one of the smaller rooms at the hotel but it still had a beautiful view and was thoughtfully-designed. Beautiful spa area. Typical Swiss breakfast with endless choices of cereal, jam, cheese, meat, tea, coffee etc. every morning and we had the opportunity to enjoy a fantastic raclette dinner one evening! Very friendly staff. And the owners, Leni and Thomas, could not be more warm and welcoming. Zermatt is a special place and this hotel is a true gem. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kkw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

the coeur des alp hotel is really wow. it is a different experince since the enternce ( you enter in a cave then you will find the lift) the loby has glass down toword the swimming pool .the room decoration is great and modern it's also very quite ,every thing you need you will find it you also will find tea and coffee maker with more than 10 kind of tea and herbal tea . the hotel is very clean . they also have a wonderful spa with very attractive decoration. the owners are very kind and nice every one is smiling. i really recommand this hotel also because of the loaction.

Room Tip: the loft or the suit with open fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mohammed s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Living in Coeur Des Alpes felt like visiting old friends and spending great time in their wonderful home. This beautiful boutique hotel is a family affair and belongs to a wonderful couple, Leni and Thomas.

Thomas himself picked us from the train station (this service to my surprise was free of charge) and helped us with all our luggage. He was genuinely friendly and made us feel at ease and the short trip to the hotel got us oriented to all things good in Zermatt.

The hotel itself was so so beautifully unique, it has lots of surprises that thrilled and surprised us, like the living room in the lobby with a glass floor that looks down to the swimming pool bellow and retractable ceiling blinds in our bedroom that revealed the sky above the bed and many many more. We had two beautiful rooms facing amazing views. Mine faced the Matterhorn (the uniquely shaped mountain n the pride of zermatt), the winding village road and the river flowing next to it.. Amenities in the room were definitely 5 star quality, Pool and spa were lots of fun, breakfast was a mix of buffet and a la carte and Thomas was always there to meet up your every little request and need. Overall just totally loved the hotel. Thank you very much to Leni and Thomas for making us feel very much at home. You guys are the best!!! Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger family size rooms for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Five of us stayed for the weekend - grandparents, parents, small child. We stayed in the Sky Apartment, which was one of the must stunningly decorated places we have ever seen. The whole hotel was similarly beautiful and cutting edge in its sophisticated design. The sky apartment had three bedrooms, three bathrooms, a gorgeous bath with views to the Matterhorn, lovely living and dining room. It had all the extras you'd hope for in a luxury hotel - nespresso machine with plenty of capsules in the kitchen, jasmine scented bath salts and fluffy robes all round, a big basket of jigsaw puzzles and kids books. There are floor to ceiling windows and skylights galore - so light filled, and with views to the mountains all around. The matterhorn is perfectly situated in front of the balcony - in fact you can see it from anywhere in the living/dining/kitchen area.

The breakfast is plentiful, you can order eggs and bacon and there are lots of options out on the cold buffet. There is fruit and fresh cordial available in the spa and pool area, all day.
The hosts are delightful, as are all of the staff. The hotel somehow manages to be incredibly stylish, yet child friendly. There seemed to be equal numbers of families and honeymooner types while we were there, everyone having a lovely time.

The only small hitch to this otherwise perfect dream? With all the windows and glorious views in the bedrooms, the blinds don't give a particularly good blackout effect, so it can be difficult to sleep in! Bring one of those airline sleeping masks if you want to sleep until lunchtime :-)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cannotpacklight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We recently spent 3 nights in this beautiful hotel the only downside was that we were'nt there longer. The Hotel owners & staff were extremely welcoming and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We had the small french room which was more than big enough for a couple and bigger than some hotels we've stayed in previously. The breakfast was well set out and had plenty of choice. We also made use of the relaxation facilities which were spotlessly clean and had instructions for all amenities. We would recommened this hotel without reservation and would love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madpals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for our family holiday. We are a family with two kids, aged 8 and 11. We took the Simona Loft which has a large double-bed upstairs. They added one single bed downstairs for one of the kids while they used the sofa to accomodate the other. Everybody was sleeping comfortably. The loft had a very large terrace with seatings overlooking a nice view. The kids loved the indoor pool and the outside warmed jaccuzi. Their breakfast was generous with lots of fresh ingredients (something you don't find abundantly in European hotels). Althought the hotel is not on the cheap side but it deserves every single CHF we very happily spent there.
The owners are always there roaming around the patrons, giving them recommendations on where to go, dine, shop, etc.. All the staff were extremely polite and proactive.
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubaiConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Matterhorn Focus - Design Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
#17 of 110 in Zermatt
517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coeur des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coeur des Alpes

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 134 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £97 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a little unique hotel in Zermatt with a wonderful view to the Matterhorn. The artist Heinz Julen our brother made a fantastic boutique hotel for us. We love to make you happy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coeur Des Alpes Zermatt
Coeur Des Alpes Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing