We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent again”
Review of Coeur des Alpes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coeur des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We have been back to Coeur des Alpes for five years in a row and have just booked again for next February. The team at the hotel is outstanding, in particular the welcome, the housekeeping, the Tuesday night Raclett evening and the sports massages. The facilities especially the outdoor hot-tub with views out over the Matterhorn always impress. A very enjoyable week skiing in an exceptional hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mildred2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

Very special little hotel in Zermatt ! Leni and Thomas are always there to welcome guests and to care for everyone ! We spent a great week there, and enjoyed the spa (an outside jacuzzi where you can spend an hour looking at the Matterhorn !) as well as the 'Raclette' evening ! A great place to go with kids : as a family, you can have one of the lofts, which are big enough for four people. In summary, excellent hotel, in a great place !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillip_stjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My husband and I went on a week's holiday to celebrate out 20th wedding anniversary and had a magical week in this beautiful hotel.
The staff were fantastic, going out of their way to be helpful and making us feel part of the Coeur des Alpes. The main area of the hotle is stunning, with a glass floor showing the swimming pool below! The rooms comfortable and very well-fitted, despite the fact that we had the smalles room in the hotel, we were still very comfortable.
We can't wait to go back and experience it all over again.
Thank you to Leni, Thomas, Sandra and all the rest of the team.
Fiona and Roland P

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The husband and I had a hard time looking for a hotel in Zermatt as we're only 1.5months away from our travelling date when we booked. We're glad we took a little splurge which is totally worth the money! Leni and Thomas were really prompt replying to our queries over the email and gave us enough time to make our decision.

Once we reach the railway station, we gave the hotel a call and their private taxi came to pick us up after a short 10-15mins wait.

The thereafter experience was completely awesome.

We were greeted by the hotel reception who led us to a seat with tea served while we waited for our rooms to be ready. Leni came to say hi and assure that we'll be well taken care of. The room keys took a little while, but before we could walk up to tell them that we'll take a walk around town as we wait, they told us that our room is ready. We were then guided to our room which came with a free upgrade to their sky apartment that comes with a private lift.

While we usually lug our luggages in our hotel room and flee for our sightseeing, we spent 2 hours taking pictures around the 3 bedrooms, living, a bathtub, kitchen, small study, wardrobe, backyard, showers, a fireplace and balcony fronting a part of the whimsical town and Matterhorn before we left the apartment reluctantly.

All amenities were in spick and span condition. They even took care of details likes bathrobes, hair-dryer with diffuser(for curly hair) and room slippers in men and women sizes which many European hotels have neglected.

Location was a little walk away from the central of Zermatt, in which, however, no complains since Zermatt is small.

When we told them that we'll be leaving the hotel early the next morning at 6am, Sandra even pre-prepared our breakfast for us to takeaway on the train and arrange for a taxi.

You can tell how much they enjoy working together like a family while making you feel like home(yet with a class). You literally feel like your best friend welcoming you to stay over at her extravagant home. This shouldn't be best hotel we've stayed during our holiday, but the awesomest in our travelling journal. We'll definitely stay here again if we have the chance to return one day.

Room Tip: The Matterhorn-facing rooms have to be the most serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This is a special place.
1. It has the warmth and personality of a B&B, but it is a hotel, and you get most of the amenities you would expect
2. People are extremly friendly, and accomodating. Special requests are not a problem, but a way to excel in customer service. People are also thinking ahead - the highlight was when Sandra at recpetion told us on Friday to make Saturday dinner reservations, as Saturdays' are very busy
3. They know everyone and can arrange anything in Zermatt
In addition
4. Rooms are tastefuly decorated
5. Walking distance from one of big ski-lifts
6. Great SPA
7. Considering that this is Zermatt, the prices are very reasonable.
It was really a pleasure to stay here, and get this personal touch that is lost from almost all big hotels nowdays. You are guided and assisted by the people who live in the place and are proud of it, and it shows.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klanovice65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Since 6 years, we have been through quite a lot of rooms, suites and lofts. Everywhere the same warmth and cosy feeling! Each time we leave we just cannot wait to our next stay be it in winter or summer..
Leni, Thomas, family and team make each visit a magical moment in a magical environment!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Monique v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel. Zermatt is a beautiful ski town wih great slopes and great food.The best part about our stay at this hotel was the service, The owners Leni and Thomas ensured that we had a great time. They went out of the way to help us and make us feel at home. The rooms were spacious, clean and yet very cosy. The hotel staff- Sandra was extremely helpful as well. We all had a great time and wish we can revisit this hotel and zermatt soon..

Room Tip: Stay in Thomas loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HemaliJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coeur des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coeur des Alpes

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 134 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £97 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a little unique hotel in Zermatt with a wonderful view to the Matterhorn. The artist Heinz Julen our brother made a fantastic boutique hotel for us. We love to make you happy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coeur Des Alpes Zermatt
Coeur Des Alpes Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing