We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite the construction this was an experience not to miss”
Review of Coeur des Alpes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coeur des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2008

After reading reviews on Trip Advisor we contacted the hotel directly. We had a suite with a view of the Matterhorn that was discounted as they have major construction (an expansion) going on on that side of the hotel. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. The staff was excelllent, very attentive to every detail. The hotel is an interesting mix of rustic and modern. The breakfast was wonderful, with outside seating when the weather was nice. Zermatt is a fun town and this was a great place to stay. We were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aswb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2008

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon and I can honestly say it was the most fantastic hotel I have stayed in. My Husband and I have both stayed in a number of hotels and this by far exceeds anything we have stayed in before.
We had a suite and woke up every morning to the view of the Matterhorn. The staff are superb and nothing is to much for them. The spa is absolutely fantastic as well. It is a five minute walk from the train staion to the hotel and if you follow the river it is a very flat walk. I found the location superb. We loved it that much we have already booked to go back next year. If you want to go you have to be quick as in the winter season they get booked up very quickly.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lou_puckey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2008

I chose the Coeur des Alpes as it was rated #1 on tripadvisor. First, don't be fooled by reviews talking about the distance from the railway station: getting to the hotel from the town main street (where the railway station is) it's a 5 minute walk, so don't worry. It's also quieter than some hotels near some pubs

Then don't just focus on the.. "romancing" side: this is one of the best location on Zermatt for skiers. It's probably among the 10 properties nearer to the Matterhorn Express Gondola-Lift, were you can leave your skis in the evening so you don't have to bring them back to the hotel.

Owners and employees were extremely firendly, and helped me plan a perfect "late April escape" from Rome. They were EXTREMELY helpful.

Have a look at the photos: the see-thru floor at the reception allows a view of the underneath pool and the trasnparent glass staircase is impressive ! All details are carefully chosen, while being perfectly functional. You'll feel a bit cramped in the bathroom but mine was a standard room. The wall-size window allows plenty of light and allows a lot of light to get in.

We got a basic double room - if you get there with a friend as I did, just forget getting a twin bedroom as this is not available, at least not for standard size rooms. Ask about the availability for larger size rooms if this is a priority.

Free, blazing fast Wifi worked great - allows VPN connections

There's more: in the past, if you wanted to get to all parts of the ski area, you had to go to the Gornergrat train, near the station (and so go back to the town centre using an electric bus). From 2008, a new Gondola Lift allows you to get EVERYWHERE in the area starting from the Matterhorn Express lift (you can even use the linking kifts to get to Italy), so the Coeur Des Alpes is in a PERFECT location.
You just have to get back to town for shopping or for dinner - but if you're really tired you can go to a nearby restaurant on the same Oberdorf Road.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank andrearp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

We loved the hotel, especially our room. We shared the loft room (gallery suite for 4 people) was a wonderful room

The hotel lobby is small but is very romantic. The lobby oversees the pool area, the floor is all glass. The breakfast in the morning is very tasty.

The location of the hotel is not the greatest as you have to walk a bit to the city center, but is worth the decor of the hotel, the views and the spa.

I would recommend booking early as the hotel is very small.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ZEYTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

We go to Coeur des Alpes every year now. It was very difficult to get in, but now we book a suite every year for the next year. Everything is fantastic there. The owners, the staff, the situation, the view, the rooms, the details, etc. We hope to be able to continue to spend a week there every year.

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank calakmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2007

We stayed here for a week last year and it was the ultimate experience! The service is impeccable, extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast is delicious, the view amazing. Gorgeous design and comfort from beginning to end. The only problem is it is extremely difficult to book, but wouldn't stay anywhere else in Zermatt!

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank CatParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2007

This place was fabulous. We could wakeup in the morning and stare out at the Matterhorn. The room was spacious, the view spectacular, the staff attentive and the breakfast was great. In all my travels this is one of the best if not the best place we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank e1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 111 in Zermatt
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 111 in Zermatt
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#8 of 111 in Zermatt
619 reviews
0.7 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#7 of 111 in Zermatt
676 reviews
0.6 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#15 of 111 in Zermatt
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coeur des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coeur des Alpes

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 134 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £98 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a little unique hotel in Zermatt with a wonderful view to the Matterhorn. The artist Heinz Julen our brother made a fantastic boutique hotel for us. We love to make you happy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coeur Des Alpes Zermatt
Coeur Des Alpes Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing