We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truly enjoyable stay”
Review of Coeur des Alpes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coeur des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013

we just returned from a wonderful holiday in zermatt, and the coeur des alpes was certainly the highlight of our trip. it is a cozy yet immaculately designed hotel, professionally run by the owners and their team of very friendly and helpful staff. as for skiing, it is perfectly located 5 mins walk from the matternhorn lift. there are ski lockers in the basement of the hotel, or else you can carry your skis and lock them at the matterhorn station.

we stayed with 2 other families with young kids, and it felt like we had our own chalet as the living area was very relaxed and the kids just hung out and played while we sipped on wines or complimentary hot tea and cakes after a day of skiing. there was also a computer in the living area, a very convenient touch despite the free internet within the hotel.

we stayed in a suite with a fantastic view of the matterhorn, imagine waking up to the sun rising beyond the matterhorn.... you have to see to believe. the suite had ample shelves and counter space unlike other design hotels where there is no where to put anything. we also had a standalone bath tub in the middle of the room, which i found it a bit tricky to shower without my 5 yo son splashing water all over the floor. they put a very comfy single bed for him in the living room without any charges.

the breakfast was the best, fresh eggs any style, smoked salmons and meats, fruits, freshly squeezed orange juice, cereals, youghurts, breads and spreads..... simply amazing. we also went to the outdoor hot tub to watch the sun set over the mountains, and then a dip in the heated pool before dinner every nite. they made some great recommendations from dinner and were very helpful with all the restaurant reservations.

this is certainly a gem of a place, our friends were also blown away as i had told them it was just a b and b when i booked it. this place is so much more, and we will surely be back in the near future.

Room Tip: definitely get a view of the matterhorn, it's worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tallulahsoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for three nights, i enjoyed every moment. Loft is lovely with big windows and view on the mountains, on the terrace u can see Matterhorn if u are lucky with the weather. Great spa facility with outdoor jacuzi.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salem-kwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Coeur des Alpes and could not have picked a more perfect place to stay in Zermatt. The family that owns it is really gracious and helpful, the place is very warm and elegant. They did everything to make our stay with a 6mo baby comfortable and even arranged for us a reservation at a restaurant where we could comfortably dine with the baby in his maxi cosy. We especially enjoyed the outdoor pool with the moonlight shining on the Matterhorn (a truly special moment!) and the super cosy reception/breakfast area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fanny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

From the location at the edge of town and only a stones throw from the ski lift and mountain trails, to the incredible service, warmth of the staff and owners, to the beauty of the rooms, the structure itself and oh god the views of the Matterhorn...it was truly overwhelming. Everything screamed of elegance and class, from the furniture to spa, no detail was overlooked. We woke up every morning to the sun slowly illuminating the Matterhorn as we lay in our bed stunned into silence by the view. Thank you Leni and Thomas for an incredible stay last week. Our time at Coeur des Alpes was the highlight of our trip to the Swiss Alpes. We will be back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are exquisitely appointed but if you can swing it, get a room with a view of the Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParadiseAsVice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Absolutely great experience! The property is absolutely top notch in terms of finish and amenities but still has a very personal style. The owners and staff are very friendly and go out of their way to cater to your needs. We stayed for 2 nights here and wished we had booked a longer stay. We were travelling with our two kids and my parents, so they gave us a connecting room with a suite, so that we had two bedrooms and a sofa bed in the living room for the kids. The rooms were very comfortable and excellent standard. The master bedroom was just wow ! All the amenities were very well designed and great to use. The heated pool, the small pool in the patio with the frontal view to the Matterhorn, the greenery used very nicely, the absolutely stunning reception area, the very warm welcome and great service throughout our stay made our entire stay exceptional! Would highly recommend this property in Zermatt. And Zermatt itself as a town is so charming that it is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank savymanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Switzerland is an absolutely beautiful country, and Coeur des Alpes Hotel truly encapsulates this beauty.

The service and hospitality is as impressive as the setting (virtually on the doorstep of the Matterhorn!) of the hotel itself. The hotel's design, ambiance and facilities are top notch, and located perfectly between Zermatt's centre and the Gondola lift.

Highly recommended for any and all types of travelers (children, no children, skiers/snowboarders, etc).

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We are regular guests at the coeur des alpes and it is always a treat to stay here. Our favourite room is the penthouse suite with a large balcony, its own fireplace and an unforgettable view to the Matterhorn. We love this place for its familiar ambiance, personal style and the friendly owner and staff. A lovely stylish boutique hotel with lots of charm. Not to be missed in Zermatt!

Room Tip: Room with view to the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxuryvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coeur des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coeur des Alpes

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 134 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £97 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a little unique hotel in Zermatt with a wonderful view to the Matterhorn. The artist Heinz Julen our brother made a fantastic boutique hotel for us. We love to make you happy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coeur Des Alpes Zermatt
Coeur Des Alpes Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing