We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, friendly owners”
Review of Coeur des Alpes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coeur des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, friendly owners”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful architecture, very modern with lots of glass to admire the views

Great location very short walk to the glacier paradise gondola

Very friendly owners make guests feel at home

Nice spa facilities with steam room, sauna, caldarium, indoor/outdoor hot tubs with awesome views

Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Zermatt!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    34
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
169
342
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The reputation of this establishment is well deserved. From the moment we arrived at the train station--and were met by the hotel electric vehicle (Zermatt is an electric vehicle only town)--we were impressed. The hotel is beautiful and eclectic and amazingly well designed. No expense has been spared to make this place the coolest hotel in Zermatt, from the glass floor in the main living room, to the indoor pool below, to the hot tub out on the desk. Our room was a two story loft with a spiral staircase. It was we'll appointed, clean and extremely comfortable. The hotel is also at one end of the town and easy walking distance to one of the major gondolas up the mountain.

The hotel does not have its own public restaurant, but they serve an amazing breakfast buffet every morning. On Tuesday, they also serve an in house dinner of traditional raclette (potatoes and melted cheese) and local salad. This meal, served in the main living area, was well worth the price.

No review of this hotel would be complete without praise for the proprietors of the hotel, the Leni Family and Thomas Müller-Julen. Some family members trace their roots back to Zermatt to the twelfth century! These folks are rightly very proud of what they have built in Zermatt and clearly enjoy being in the hospitality industry. They are warm, friendly and helpful from beginning to end.

This is an incredible hotel. We'll be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The lofts have a kind of funky design where the bed is upstairs with a small section of exposed open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We have just had another great week at the Coeur Des Alpes. The hotel continues to have an extremely warm and friendly team, providing excellent service in a very relaxed way. Superb breakfasts and the Tuesday Raclette night is a must

The masseur, Hanu, is absolutely world class. I have had massages and treatments in leading spa's from Canada to Shanghai and without doubt he is the best. I arrived with a back that was as stiff as a board and left a week later in working order

We have booked again for next year - our 7th consecutive visit

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mildred2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days for valentines day and my birthday in the Penthouse Suite. The room is great with superb views of the Matterhorn, even from bed. The staff was exceptional. They were very friendly and accommodating. The owners live on property so it feels like a family but the level of luxury goes way beyond a "mom and pop" level. The spa, which is free to use, is really great too. The Only complaint I could make was that the internet service was very spotty in the room although full service as soon as you step into the hallway. Trust me, I'm very critical and have stayed at some of the top hotels in the world, so this is a clear winner! Admittedly, it would be nice to order room service after a long day of skiing but there is no restaurant at the hotel, but I knew that ahead of time so just be aware. My girlfriend fell in love as soon as she walked in the room. She was truly blown away. I highly recommend this hotel and would come back 100%. Btw, I've stayed at the zermatterhof numerous times in the grande suite and I would choose, coeur des Alpes in the future!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had an amazing stay at Coeur des Alpes. Perfect location just short walk from the ski lifts. Very friendly and caring staff. Lovely breakfast. And off course we have to mention the outdoor jacuzzi where you could sip your drink and relax your muscles, all with a view of the Matterhorn. Undoubtedly the best hotel in Zermatt!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARJENY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We've just come back from Coeurs des Alpes and our stay there has been great as always. Leni & Thomas care for their hosts. Rooms show improvements and changes every year. We love everything there. The fantastic views from our suite. The tea and cakes in the afternoon. The kindness they show to their hosts. The location, the architecture, the outside jacuzzi, also the whole hotel team, Alex and the girls...
See you there next year.

Room Tip: You should take a suite or a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calakmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Coeur des Alpes was BY FAR the best hotel experience I have ever had. We got picked up at the train station in one of the hotel's electric cars (more like a larger enclosed golf-cart) and in about 10 minutes we were at the hotel. Zermatt is such a stunning location, and the Coeur des Alpes was just as incredible. The hotel is decorated to perfection, and you can see through the clear glass floor to the spa below from the lobby. The hotel room (we had a suite on the first floor) was also decorated similarly. The show is in the middle of the room though, so do be aware of that when your traveling with others. It's more of a romantic hotel, but if you're sharing with others it's still feasible to shower without everyone seeing you get in and out of the shower. The spa facilities were also out of this world. We had so much fun going through the different baths and saunas and doing a mud treatments. There are flavored waters and snacks laid out throughout the day as well. There are a number of little nooks where one can get lost and relax all day long in the spa.

Breakfast is included in the rate, and the spread is extensive. You never leave hungry, and there is fresh squeezed orange juice. The owners also are always around to check on the guests, chat, and see how everyone is doing. They also offer recommendations on what to do and where to go, and are incredibly hospitable. The location of the hotel is also ideal, only a 10 minute walk into town, with proximity to restaurants, shopping and the different local attractions.

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel. Although it can be a bit expensive, if you are going to Zermatt there is not question you should stay here, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
905 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coeur des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coeur des Alpes

Property: Coeur des Alpes
Address: Oberdorfstrasse 134 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a little unique hotel in Zermatt with a wonderful view to the Matterhorn. The artist Heinz Julen our brother made a fantastic boutique hotel for us. We love to make you happy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coeur Des Alpes Zermatt
Coeur Des Alpes Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing