We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Zermatt”
Review of Coeur des Alpes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coeur des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We traveled to Zermatt twice this year, once in December for a week and again in March. Our experience at Coeur Des Alpes was brilliant. Lovely hotel, great location (especially if you prefer to ski Glacier Paradise side but also fine for Sunnega as it's just 5mins in the buggy). The breakfast was very nice as were afternoon cakes and the drinks menu at the bar - sadly no restaurant for dinner but with the fabulous restaurant choices in Zermatt this is fine.

We took our 3 year old and found the hotel to be very family friendly though there were lots of couples travelling without children also. Excellent spa!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NBD1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

The hype is correct, great hotel, amazing staff who could not do enough for you, for my wife and I stayed here for a long ski weekend at the end of March. I genuinely don't think it gets much better than this, we are already planning to go back again next year.

Room Tip: the lofts are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markdt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The best staff with Matterhorn
Being honest, when you see Matterhorn in Zermmat, you may realise a hotel you stay in Zermmat is not a big deal! But if you ask me to pick one hotel in Zermmat, I don't hesitate to choose Coeur des Alpes. My big family stayed at this lovely place in September 2013. We booked 3 rooms and all of us have a great time here. Just all things here are perfect! Even lots of good hotels are in Zermmat, I will re-visit this cozy hotel again without any hesitation. the beautiful hotel in the beautiful town!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hyemandkwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful architecture, very modern with lots of glass to admire the views

Great location very short walk to the glacier paradise gondola

Very friendly owners make guests feel at home

Nice spa facilities with steam room, sauna, caldarium, indoor/outdoor hot tubs with awesome views

Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Zermatt!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The reputation of this establishment is well deserved. From the moment we arrived at the train station--and were met by the hotel electric vehicle (Zermatt is an electric vehicle only town)--we were impressed. The hotel is beautiful and eclectic and amazingly well designed. No expense has been spared to make this place the coolest hotel in Zermatt, from the glass floor in the main living room, to the indoor pool below, to the hot tub out on the desk. Our room was a two story loft with a spiral staircase. It was we'll appointed, clean and extremely comfortable. The hotel is also at one end of the town and easy walking distance to one of the major gondolas up the mountain.

The hotel does not have its own public restaurant, but they serve an amazing breakfast buffet every morning. On Tuesday, they also serve an in house dinner of traditional raclette (potatoes and melted cheese) and local salad. This meal, served in the main living area, was well worth the price.

No review of this hotel would be complete without praise for the proprietors of the hotel, the Leni Family and Thomas Müller-Julen. Some family members trace their roots back to Zermatt to the twelfth century! These folks are rightly very proud of what they have built in Zermatt and clearly enjoy being in the hospitality industry. They are warm, friendly and helpful from beginning to end.

This is an incredible hotel. We'll be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The lofts have a kind of funky design where the bed is upstairs with a small section of exposed open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We have just had another great week at the Coeur Des Alpes. The hotel continues to have an extremely warm and friendly team, providing excellent service in a very relaxed way. Superb breakfasts and the Tuesday Raclette night is a must

The masseur, Hanu, is absolutely world class. I have had massages and treatments in leading spa's from Canada to Shanghai and without doubt he is the best. I arrived with a back that was as stiff as a board and left a week later in working order

We have booked again for next year - our 7th consecutive visit

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mildred2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days for valentines day and my birthday in the Penthouse Suite. The room is great with superb views of the Matterhorn, even from bed. The staff was exceptional. They were very friendly and accommodating. The owners live on property so it feels like a family but the level of luxury goes way beyond a "mom and pop" level. The spa, which is free to use, is really great too. The Only complaint I could make was that the internet service was very spotty in the room although full service as soon as you step into the hallway. Trust me, I'm very critical and have stayed at some of the top hotels in the world, so this is a clear winner! Admittedly, it would be nice to order room service after a long day of skiing but there is no restaurant at the hotel, but I knew that ahead of time so just be aware. My girlfriend fell in love as soon as she walked in the room. She was truly blown away. I highly recommend this hotel and would come back 100%. Btw, I've stayed at the zermatterhof numerous times in the grande suite and I would choose, coeur des Alpes in the future!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kyia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 111 in Zermatt
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 111 in Zermatt
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#8 of 111 in Zermatt
619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#14 of 111 in Zermatt
989 reviews
0.7 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 111 in Zermatt
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coeur des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coeur des Alpes

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 134 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £98 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a little unique hotel in Zermatt with a wonderful view to the Matterhorn. The artist Heinz Julen our brother made a fantastic boutique hotel for us. We love to make you happy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coeur Des Alpes Zermatt
Coeur Des Alpes Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing