We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, location, and service”
Review of Coeur des Alpes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coeur des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, location, and service”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel, and absolutely loved it. Great rooms, delicious breakfast, outstanding service, and an awesome spa area in the basement. We had the cheapest room and it was small but very nice, and it even had a view of the mountains. The hotel was quiet and we had no trouble sleeping.

The owner picked us up from the train station in an electric car. Breakfast was served every morning with a great view of the Matterhorn. Great location for hiking, after one hike we were able to hike all the way back to the hotel. Also great for getting into town for dinner (Zermatt is pretty small). The spa downstairs was a wonderful way to end a day of hiking.

Room Tip: Even the cheapest rooms are very nice, although small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JME63007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    34
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
169
340
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Enjoyed 2 nights here in June. Property had spectacular views, was immaculately clean, and had fabulous, tasteful, unique decor aesthetic that complimented the mountain environment so well. The spa was so relaxing and wonderful. Thanks for a great experience! We are sending our friends and family your way!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Einsiedeln, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, great host. We enjoyed the stay very much and were fascinsted about the great atmosphere in the hotel. All the interior is very tastefull and the wellness was relaxing...but best is the unique view to the Matterhorn, from the outdoor pool and from the room

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristophRiedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here in January during our winter ski vacation. We were on a 12 day trip through Switzerland and stayed at several nice hotels. The Coeur des Alpes was of course, the best of the hotels. There was nothing not to like! The staff and owners are attentive at all times. The hotel is exquisitely decorated and clean. There is every amenity at your disposal. An indoor pool that has a glass ceiling that really is the floor to the lounge area on the main floor, various types of steam rooms (one with clothing optional!), an outdoor jacuzzi with the best views of the Matterhorn, A spa with various lounge areas, wonderful breakfasts and optional fondue dinners on certain nights. The hotel rooms are very spacious and have glass walls, windows and sliding doors ( but there are options for smaller rooms) with views of the streets of Zermatt and the Matterhorn seen at every angle. Every corner of the hotel is designed for some kind of function whether for resting, romance or socializing. What more can you ask for? We even had a locker for our skis that was located near the entrance off the street. The hotel is within walking distance to the Schwarzsee Paradise lift that takes you to the Matterhorn Glacier Paradise and over to Italy if you so desire! There was even a ski rental shop located at that lift. The location was easy and convenient. Our trip was everything we dreamed it would be and the Coeur de Alpes was one of the best parts of our trip!

Room Tip: No matter what room you stay in, you will LOVE the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMAClevelandArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Everyone knows this is the place to stay. The property is stunning, the views lovely, the rooms exquisite, but the best part are the owners who are lovely and made our first trip to the area quite special. The breakfasts were incredible, the complimentary evening of raclette was fabulous (though tres caloric!), the location is perfect. Wouldn't miss staying here. It's just part of experiencing Zermatt. We were there with our 2 children and while the hotel is very elegant they were made to feel quite comfortable. The kids loved the spa- indoor and outside. This hotel has everything. Book it if you can- it fills up fast, and enjoy. You can't beat waking up to a view of the Matterhorn every morning.

Room Tip: Just ask about air conditioning in duplex suites. top floor gets a tad warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationaddictMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
455 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I was with my wife and we had a perfect experience. Place was very well design and warm combining very well new and classical styles. Very good experience with staff and best place in Zermatt to be (by far). not just a Hotel but a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armando_74a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Couer des Alpes in Zermatt. The hotel looks amazing, everything is so well designed and functional. It combines rustic-modern&confort graciously, not to mention the exceptional staff they have working there.
I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coeur des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coeur des Alpes

Property: Coeur des Alpes
Address: Oberdorfstrasse 134 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a little unique hotel in Zermatt with a wonderful view to the Matterhorn. The artist Heinz Julen our brother made a fantastic boutique hotel for us. We love to make you happy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coeur Des Alpes Zermatt
Coeur Des Alpes Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing