We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coeur des Alpes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coeur des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

What can I say - this is how all hotels should be - intimate, funky, classy and amazing service.

Leni and Thomas are interested in all their guests and take time to see the are enjoying themnelves. Nothing is too much trouble at Coeurs des Alpes. And then you get the best view in town of the Matterhorn too!

A particular thank you to Daniella, a very kind host who looked after us. I shall be back next year!

Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamskiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    34
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
166
334
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

The Coeur des Alpes deserves all the good critics it has on the tripadvisor site. From the magnificence of the room (our was a suite - 302) to the great breakfast, from the eficiency and friendiness of all the staff and the owners until the great spa facilities, all is great in this hotel. I will be back for sure. Great experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

I was traveling with my 19 year old nephew -- we booked two of the suites which were lovely and had terrific views of the Matterhorn.

Our only complaint was that upon arrival we were escorted to the patio and given drinks, then left waiting for 45 minutes while other guests were checked in. Also, each time I emailed the hotel regarding our reservation and minor changes to it, I received a reply saying we in fact did not have a reservation for those nights. Each time it was checked and corrected, but the consistent confusion at the front desk (from multiple front desk staff, both via email and on check in when they even forgot to register us or get our credit card), was a little disheartening.

Other than that, a great experience -- terrific buffet breakfast, immaculate rooms, and the owners were warm and friendly, very helpful with everything.

I must note that on one of the earlier reviews, entitled "Yes It's True" from October 13, 2009, one of the photos is lifted from the professional photos on the hotel website -- it was not taken by the guest. Also, I have noticed that several photos titled "view of the Matterhorn from the room" from various reviewers are photoshopped or altered to make the Matterhorn appear closer to the hotel than it actually is.

I will definitely go back and plan to next summer. Kudos also to staffmember Alex who was marvelously helpful!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank aristadrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

We traveled with our grown children, and were greeted by the owners, Thomas and Leni who could not have been more warm and welcoming. We were given two of the most wonderful suites I have ever seen and a deck with the most spectacular view of the Matterhorn! The staff was amazing, the breakfast was perfection, the pool and spa were beautifully designed(as was the entire hotel!), and the hot tub was heaven at sunset with the Matterhorn in the background! This is my all time favorite place to relax, whether it's after a long hike, a day of skiing, or a trip to Gonergrat...absolute perfection.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

All prior reviews have said it all - leaving me nothing on which to expand. The Coeur des Alpes is simply a great place to stay. From the most accommodating front desk personnel, the manager/owners, the people that pick you up from the train to the baggage handlers, the staff is exceptional. The rooms are large, clean, stylish and well-stocked; many are luxurious, most afford a great view of the mountains - some even look directly to the Matterhorn. The breakfast buffet is superb. The spa, a lovely area on a lower level, is an extra amenity for which we, regretfully, did not have time. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrice189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

We went to Switzerland and Italy on our honeymoon in April 2009. Coeur des Alpes was our pick when we decided to stay two nights in Zermatt. The place is super cool! The entrance is very impressive. Hotel decoration is lovely and stylish. Staff are helpful that you do not need a guidebook or anything. We went to the restaurants they suggested and we love them! The hotel facilities are awesome; sauna, swimming pool, jacuzzi, turkish bathroom, etc.

We went on the Matterhorn and bought a special bottle of schapps (the small shot glasses inside the bottle) and there was some problem with the delivery. We gotta catch the first train in the morning. Leni, the owner, was so worried. She told us that she would send the bottle of schnapps back to us to Thailand. We were waited with the concerns that the bottle would be break on the way to us. When we recevied the parcel, the bottle of schnapps was perfectly packed. No scratch!! She also sent us a cute Zermatt cap (we sent email to the hotel asking if they find a cap my husband left somewhere along the trip he hardly remembered!). We actually write a longer review a couple of months ago, but the computer was frozen right before we hit submit! We feel like we owe Leni and apology. We definitely stay here again if we go to Zermatt next time. All in all, this hotel was our best experience and we are sure whoever decide to go to Zermatt should stay here!! No wonder why it's #1 on Trip Advisor!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Landofsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

Everything was perfect as most people have already mentioned. Breakfast was awesome with free eggs on request. The room and view were exceptional, and the wireless worked both in the room and lobby. Service would have ben flawless except for one minor complaint. After a five night stay, we were preparing to leave and taking photos. We discovered another part of the spa which we did not know existed. I think it was called the Hamam, and was separate from the other spa parts. It was not a big deal but worth mentioning so it does not happen to you. Ask the front desk to show you the spa and how it works, they did not offer to show us thus my only complaint. We hiked everyday, the best restaurants we found were in the most isolated places where you might not see anyone else for hours, not in the town. If you get the Swiss Rail Pass it saves you 25 - 50% on most lift tickets, a must if you hike and only want to walk one way because of time constraints.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darewreckjeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.7 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coeur des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coeur des Alpes

Property: Coeur des Alpes
Address: Oberdorfstrasse 134 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a little unique hotel in Zermatt with a wonderful view to the Matterhorn. The artist Heinz Julen our brother made a fantastic boutique hotel for us. We love to make you happy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coeur Des Alpes Zermatt
Coeur Des Alpes Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing