We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can see the Matterhorn”
Review of Hotel Albana Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Albana Real
Ranked #79 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I can see the Matterhorn”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Absolutely amazing. Huge room - the Matterhorn framed in our window - if you craned you could even see it from the bed!! Balcony looked straight up the mountain! Lovely big bed - good bathroom - did I mention the view?!? Zermatt is a magical place and it was an amazing experience - we were on a Trafalgar tour and guess we were very lucky to get the room we did!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyBednarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    26
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
41
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Every bit of Zermatt is an experience to remember. Its quaintness doesn’t escape you despite it being such a tourist hub. A lot of travelers take the Glacier Express from/to this town that has a strict view on pollution. Albana Real offers a pickup and drop to the station in its electric car for a nominal price.

It is a family run hotel with very warm service, the family is also very helpful and friendly. It has a nice log cabin feel to it. Our room, though tiny, had a great view despite being on the first floor. When we were in Zermatt, the weather was not suitable to go atop any mountain and the Matterhorn was hidden under the gentle snow. Our extremely cozy room was one that would befit a honeymoon! For such a tiny hotel, with small bedrooms, the bathrooms were surprisingly big, with separate his and hers washbasins!

Good breakfast selections with friendly staff waiting to serve you completely made our morning. Our highlight was the spectacular Thai dinner at Rua Thai. By far the most potent and fantastic Thai green curry ever. This was one of the few European restaurants that got the Asian flavor & spice so well. The Malay head chef is highly entertaining and talented. The hotel also has a Japanese restaurant Fuji though we didn’t get a chance to try it out.

Though the hotel doesn’t offer room service, they were willing to make an exception for us! But we’re glad we chose to go down to the restaurant. I would go back to Zermatt just to stay at Albana Real. You should too.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank JediKnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Quebec
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We spent 2 nights here in September 2011. This hotel was fantaWstic! Beautiful room, huge balcony with a view of the mountains, great location. Would definitely recommend and would love to return to Zermatt and stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationFunintheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed for the weekend at the Albana Real on a booking.com flash deal - it was brilliant value. Initially skeptical of going to a winter resort in August, we loved the resort and the hotel. The hotel had a soft and comfy bed, a huge balcony, a double sink, and a nice sauna/steam room (a few more towels would have been useful). We particularly loved the Japanese Teppanyaki restaurant.

We would stay here again. My only small complaint was how long it took to order a glass of wine at the bar - I was stood waiting for a good 5-7 mins to attract attention! The reception were excellent though.

I'm sure there are some other super places to stay in Zermatt, but for the money, location, and personal feel to the hotel, it is recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheConways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
968 reviews
321 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 761 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed in six different hotels during an 8-day Trafalgar tour of Switzerland, and family-owned Albana Real was far and away our favorite. We looked up "albana" and found it is a local variety of grape. We had room 306, a corner room on the 3rd floor, accessible by elevator, with two porches and (by coincidence) a view of the Matterhorn from one of them. The other porch provided a view of the concrete-encased river, the town, and the hill on the other side. Many of the rooms have a clear view of the Matterhorn between other chalets. The hotel is a one-minute walk from the bridge leading to the church that marks one end of Zermatt's main street, so it is easy to walk back and forth between the hotel and town.

Internet
This was one of the few hotels that we visited in Switzerland that provided free Internet access, although it was limited to wi-fi on the ground floor. But the signal was strong, and we could use as many devices as we wanted. We sat in the deserted lounge to use our computers/iPhone. There was a single computer provided near the lobby for those who did not bring computers.

Room
Room 306 is a corner room that is laid out surprisingly efficiently, providing a feeling of space where there actually was very little. For some time, we looked at the woodwork on the walls and on the ceiling, appreciating the care that went into their design. The bathroom had two large sinks and facial tissue, and it did not feel crowded. There were two umbrellas in the closet for the convenience of guests. There was a good refrigerator with a semi-freezer compartment and a large screen TV. Windows open easily. We heard no neighbor noise. The bed was comfortable, and we fell asleep quickly listening to the sound of water rushing down the mountainside.

Friendly staff
We did not meet the owners or their children. The staff that we met were all extremely friendly and helpful.

Breakfast and Dinner
Although there are a lounge, Japanese restaurant, and Thai restaurant, we ate breakfast and dinner for 42 people on the tour. The dinner in the ship's motif restaurant downstairs was very good and well served. The breakfast included everything except eggs, but it was also very tasty.

It was hard to leave the lovely and convenient Albana Real after a one-night stay. We miss it more than the other hotels where we stayed, and there were several that were very nice. We recommend Albana Real highly for its friendly ambiance and convenience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Reserved a suite in November and was a little disappointed. The room was clean, nice bathroom and all, just a bit on the small side and offered no view. The expectations we had from reviewing their website and the actual hotel did not quite match. The hotel offered a nice breakfast and was comfortable. We liked the location off the main street as we were traveling with a small child. Was looking forward to swimming in the pool, but unfortunately the water wasn't all that warm. The "art deco" bar was very inviting, unfortunately not open when we came back from dinner in town. (This may be because we were there during the off season.) The hotel was fine and certainly a decent place to stay. I would however, rather try another place next time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MuhGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We enjoyed this Hotel. It was very clean and well laid out, not being too big. After a long day's skiing, the rooms and facilities were easy to get to and our room had a balcony looking at the dreamy and quite tear jerking beauty of the Matterhorn. Our room had as standard a safe, hair dryer, dressing gowns and slippers and was cleaned immaculately daily. The bar was cute and welcomng and was set out to make it is easy to talk to other guests in particular its half circle seating arrangement. The lounge area was modern and pleasant but remember there is no absolute smoking bar in Switzerland and smoking was allowed in this lounge area. The lounge advertised itself as a cigar, whisky and brandy area and there is an excellent choice of them all, but I can imagine that a room full of cigar smokers (although there never was when we were there) could be slightly off putting although in that case we would just move to the bar. We stayed half board and the five course evening dinner was always very good. The Hotel also has two a la carte restarants; a janaese one which was excellent and great fun, and a Thai restaurant. The Thai was dissappointing; the food was very average and and for what we had the price was shocking. We certainly would not go there again.
The bar staff and waiters in the Hotel were very welcoming and pleasant and always eager to please. A very young waitress was particularly accomodating raditating a smile all the time and manners that were refreshing. She was delightful.
The Hotel is only a few minutes form the main centre of Zeramtt and in that respect is very well positioned.
The oweners are very accomodating also and will spend time talking to you and even entertaining you. (Willli and Sophie)
If we had any ciricism, it is the Thai restaurant and the location of the ski bus. You have to walk out of the hotel, cross a main road and then climb down a long set of metal steps. They can be very tiring coming the other way up!. Also the sauna , steam room, pool etc area although very nice and practical, does not have any windows; you are encased basically in the underground area. Our room was also sllghtly on the small side.
Finally in Zermatt itself, dont go if you are expecting a cheap holiday. The whole resort is expensive and this Hotel is no exception. But quite frankly, "you pays peanuts and you get monkeys" ; this was certainly not the case in this resort or in this Hotel. The area is just sublime with exquisite mountain restaurants and we met some delightfull people in the Hotel. In that regard, thank you Harry, Fran, David and Christine for your company and especially we extend our good wishes to Fran for reasons she will know.

Nigel and Yvonne

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffSkiMadMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
#54 of 111 in Zermatt
299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#27 of 111 in Zermatt
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
#25 of 111 in Zermatt
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#50 of 111 in Zermatt
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Daniela
Hotel Daniela
#45 of 111 in Zermatt
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albana Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albana Real

Property: Hotel Albana Real
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 19, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#49 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#50 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Albana Real 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albana Real in Zermatt - A unique address at the foot of the Matterhorn The Hotel Albana Real in Zermatt welcomes you to a refined yet familiar atmosphere. The luxurious cosy rooms, expressing a touch of Art-Deco, invite you to enjoy tranquility and relaxation. Our stylish smoking lounge as well as our cozy bar boasts a superb collection of whiskies, wines, cocktails and cigars. Depending upon your mood, dine in an exotic atmosphere in one of our authentic Asian restaurants, « Rua Thai » or « Fuji of Zermatt ». To complete your stay, visit our spa and wellness area, the ideal place to unwind and revive yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Albana Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albana Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing