We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Family hotel. Amazing location, Amazing service.”
Review of Hotel Albana Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Albana Real
Ranked #83 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have just returned from an 11 day stay over Christmas, my Birthday and the New Year at this delightful hotel.

The Hotel staff are amazing, the front desk is well geared, the staff are super experienced and were the most friendly and helpful of any hotel I have ever stayed in. They knew everything and everyone. Dinner reservations were never a problem, even on the most difficult days in the most sort after restaurants.

The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. The only thing that was a slight problem was the variation in the temperature in the hot water in the shower. A very minor issue. The view from our balcony towards the Matterhorn was simply mindblowing.

The lobby bar and restaurants were constantly buzzing. The bar was really enjoyable, and the hostess is simply the most delightful bartender you could ever come accross.

I'm almost reluctant to write this, because of the fear it might make it more difficult to get a booking in the future because it is just such a good hotel.

Room Tip: Fourth floor facing the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel last week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and could have stayed longer. The Manager was extremely accommodating, the room was beautiful and comfortable, the view from our balcony was incredible, a view of the Matterhorn was awesome and the Smoking Lounge was comfortable. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to everyone?

Room Tip: Request their best room at the top of the hotel. The elevator does not go to the top but if you cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night, before tleaving for the Patrouille des Glaciers. Our start was at 9PM, the hotel let us use the rooms until 8PM, without additional cost (check-out time is normally 11am). Everyone was frriendly, the breakfast excellent, eggs and all sorts of à la carte orders at not additional cost. They really went out of the way!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with Matterhorn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

we spent an evening at the rua thai restaurant.the food was very good,nice stuff and good prices.we had the lotus menue (choice of starter,soup,main course and dessert) for 55.-,which is quiet chaep for zermatt :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarita84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Very nice little hotel.
I was there 1 week in February with my girlfriend.
The staff aws very helpful with us.
The location is perfect to get to the telecabine.
The spac is rellay cosy, we were almost alone there. That was great after a long day skiing.
The Japanese restaurant s really nice.
We had a superior room with Matterhorn view. The room was samll but cosy.
Really nice bed.
The only sso point would be the breakfast lwhich acked some diversity.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Very nice hotel with comfortable quite location with easy access to most attractions, restaurants and skiing areas. Very good restaurants in the hotel and welcoming helpful staff. Clean but could manage a small modernisation. Been there 5 times.

Room Tip: View towards Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PederOsloNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Absolutely amazing. Huge room - the Matterhorn framed in our window - if you craned you could even see it from the bed!! Balcony looked straight up the mountain! Lovely big bed - good bathroom - did I mention the view?!? Zermatt is a magical place and it was an amazing experience - we were on a Trafalgar tour and guess we were very lucky to get the room we did!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyBednarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.5 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel National Zermatt
Hotel National Zermatt
#27 of 110 in Zermatt
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#42 of 110 in Zermatt
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matthiol
Hotel Matthiol
#58 of 110 in Zermatt
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Daniela
Hotel Daniela
#33 of 110 in Zermatt
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
#24 of 110 in Zermatt
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albana Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albana Real

Address: Schluhmattstrasse 19, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#50 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#53 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £186 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Albana Real 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albana Real in Zermatt - A unique address at the foot of the Matterhorn The Hotel Albana Real in Zermatt welcomes you to a refined yet familiar atmosphere. The luxurious cosy rooms, expressing a touch of Art-Deco, invite you to enjoy tranquility and relaxation. Our stylish smoking lounge as well as our cozy bar boasts a superb collection of whiskies, wines, cocktails and cigars. Depending upon your mood, dine in an exotic atmosphere in one of our authentic Asian restaurants, « Rua Thai » or « Fuji of Zermatt ». To complete your stay, visit our spa and wellness area, the ideal place to unwind and revive yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Albana Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albana Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing