We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel - balance between luxury & price”
Review of Hotel Albana Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Albana Real
Ranked #79 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Very friendly staff - nothing too much trouble. The WiFi actually works with no hitches. Restaruants within the hotel (Tepanyaki and Thai) were great.
Free bottled water supplied (some of the time!). Nice spa area and handy for the ski lifts. Good breakfast (although only 1 or 2 cereal choices!)

Room Tip: The room at the top (411) is enormous, but much of it is limited height. If that is not a problem, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liveseeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights. Had a wonderful time. The rooms are very nice, the bar is super friendly and both the Teppaniaki and Thai restaurants were delicious. I will definitely return on my next visit to Zermatt.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Anil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have just returned from an 11 day stay over Christmas, my Birthday and the New Year at this delightful hotel.

The Hotel staff are amazing, the front desk is well geared, the staff are super experienced and were the most friendly and helpful of any hotel I have ever stayed in. They knew everything and everyone. Dinner reservations were never a problem, even on the most difficult days in the most sort after restaurants.

The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. The only thing that was a slight problem was the variation in the temperature in the hot water in the shower. A very minor issue. The view from our balcony towards the Matterhorn was simply mindblowing.

The lobby bar and restaurants were constantly buzzing. The bar was really enjoyable, and the hostess is simply the most delightful bartender you could ever come accross.

I'm almost reluctant to write this, because of the fear it might make it more difficult to get a booking in the future because it is just such a good hotel.

Room Tip: Fourth floor facing the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel last week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and could have stayed longer. The Manager was extremely accommodating, the room was beautiful and comfortable, the view from our balcony was incredible, a view of the Matterhorn was awesome and the Smoking Lounge was comfortable. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to everyone?

Room Tip: Request their best room at the top of the hotel. The elevator does not go to the top but if you cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night, before tleaving for the Patrouille des Glaciers. Our start was at 9PM, the hotel let us use the rooms until 8PM, without additional cost (check-out time is normally 11am). Everyone was frriendly, the breakfast excellent, eggs and all sorts of à la carte orders at not additional cost. They really went out of the way!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with Matterhorn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

we spent an evening at the rua thai restaurant.the food was very good,nice stuff and good prices.we had the lotus menue (choice of starter,soup,main course and dessert) for 55.-,which is quiet chaep for zermatt :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarita84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Very nice little hotel.
I was there 1 week in February with my girlfriend.
The staff aws very helpful with us.
The location is perfect to get to the telecabine.
The spac is rellay cosy, we were almost alone there. That was great after a long day skiing.
The Japanese restaurant s really nice.
We had a superior room with Matterhorn view. The room was samll but cosy.
Really nice bed.
The only sso point would be the breakfast lwhich acked some diversity.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.5 mi away
Sunstar Style Hotel Zermatt
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
#54 of 111 in Zermatt
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Daniela
Hotel Daniela
#64 of 111 in Zermatt
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 111 in Zermatt
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#45 of 111 in Zermatt
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suitenhotel Zurbriggen
Suitenhotel Zurbriggen
#49 of 111 in Zermatt
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albana Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albana Real

Address: Schluhmattstrasse 19, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#48 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#50 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £176 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Albana Real 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albana Real in Zermatt - A unique address at the foot of the Matterhorn The Hotel Albana Real in Zermatt welcomes you to a refined yet familiar atmosphere. The luxurious cosy rooms, expressing a touch of Art-Deco, invite you to enjoy tranquility and relaxation. Our stylish smoking lounge as well as our cozy bar boasts a superb collection of whiskies, wines, cocktails and cigars. Depending upon your mood, dine in an exotic atmosphere in one of our authentic Asian restaurants, « Rua Thai » or « Fuji of Zermatt ». To complete your stay, visit our spa and wellness area, the ideal place to unwind and revive yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Albana Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albana Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing