We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for your money!!!”
Review of Hotel Albana Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Albana Real
Ranked #73 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent value for your money!!!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Swiss hospitality, scenic view and comfortable rooms. It is a wooden chalet beautifully decorated and warm for spending your days at Zermatt. Breakfast is good, could have had a little bit more variety. Location is very good as it is not far away from the train station. It has also the electric cars that they can come and pick you up, useful if you are having many luggages and your skiing equipment.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Konstantinosss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    26
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
40
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This hotel is very quaint, clean, comfortable, in a good location and we had a view of the Matterhorn from our room that couldn't be beat. Our room was not luxurious, but very nice and a little on the small side. But we had a deck where we could see the Matterhorn, watch the moon cross the sky over it, and even see the lights of the climbers on the mountain after sunset. The breakfast was not extensive, but had made-to-order eggs. The location was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jogrant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Albana has been lovingly furnished persinally by the owner Willy and his wife. Boutique hotel. We used a lovely suite with unforgettable views of the Matterhorn.
Only problem is we went in May when there were no restaurants (excepth breakfast) open in the hotel and we had to trudge 15 minutes to the downtown area for food and order a pizza once!Strongly recommended.

Rail station transfers were done by the hotel and taxis are plentiful.

Satisfied.

BG Koshy
Bangalore
India

Room Tip: Rooms facing Matterhorn are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGKoshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Checked in yesterday and was welcomed warmly ... The room and view is excellent .....specially the bathroom and the amenities inside we're superb... Specially the lip balm., a must at these places... The buffet was also very good.. Lot of items. Will not be an issue even if u r vegetarian ... The proximity from the main road, station. & the cabel car for mount matterhorn is minutes away....Will 100"% recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikrammalpani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Very friendly staff - nothing too much trouble. The WiFi actually works with no hitches. Restaruants within the hotel (Tepanyaki and Thai) were great.
Free bottled water supplied (some of the time!). Nice spa area and handy for the ski lifts. Good breakfast (although only 1 or 2 cereal choices!)

Room Tip: The room at the top (411) is enormous, but much of it is limited height. If that is not a problem, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveseeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights. Had a wonderful time. The rooms are very nice, the bar is super friendly and both the Teppaniaki and Thai restaurants were delicious. I will definitely return on my next visit to Zermatt.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Anil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have just returned from an 11 day stay over Christmas, my Birthday and the New Year at this delightful hotel.

The Hotel staff are amazing, the front desk is well geared, the staff are super experienced and were the most friendly and helpful of any hotel I have ever stayed in. They knew everything and everyone. Dinner reservations were never a problem, even on the most difficult days in the most sort after restaurants.

The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. The only thing that was a slight problem was the variation in the temperature in the hot water in the shower. A very minor issue. The view from our balcony towards the Matterhorn was simply mindblowing.

The lobby bar and restaurants were constantly buzzing. The bar was really enjoyable, and the hostess is simply the most delightful bartender you could ever come accross.

I'm almost reluctant to write this, because of the fear it might make it more difficult to get a booking in the future because it is just such a good hotel.

Room Tip: Fourth floor facing the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
#43 of 110 in Zermatt
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt
0.5 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Daniela
Hotel Daniela
#46 of 110 in Zermatt
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#45 of 110 in Zermatt
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albana Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albana Real

Property: Hotel Albana Real
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 19, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#45 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#46 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Albana Real 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albana Real in Zermatt - A unique address at the foot of the Matterhorn The Hotel Albana Real in Zermatt welcomes you to a refined yet familiar atmosphere. The luxurious cosy rooms, expressing a touch of Art-Deco, invite you to enjoy tranquility and relaxation. Our stylish smoking lounge as well as our cozy bar boasts a superb collection of whiskies, wines, cocktails and cigars. Depending upon your mood, dine in an exotic atmosphere in one of our authentic Asian restaurants, « Rua Thai » or « Fuji of Zermatt ». To complete your stay, visit our spa and wellness area, the ideal place to unwind and revive yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Albana Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albana Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing