We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly , clean and cosy”
Review of BELLERIVE

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BELLERIVE
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
George Town, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“friendly , clean and cosy”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

no doubt the hotel is a bit far from town and train station but the owners make extra effort to make us comfortable. call the hotel, they will arrange pick up and drop off from / to station. walking time is about 15 mins to town. no joke if u r walking in -15°c temperature. beautiful slopes view from our room. can just sit for hours looking out of the window. breakfast is provided, good coffee and fresh bread and eggs. good milk and cheese. room size a bit small but alright if u don't open both suitcase at same time. room clean with hair dryer and fridge. a bottle of water is provided. make sure u have good walking shoes as snow can turn slippery when wet. over all we had a comfortable stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lookeatsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
252
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the Bellerive (two friends on a snowboarding trip) for a week over the Zermatt Unplugged event this April.

The hotel in located centrally - close to the main shopping and eating area of town, and about half way between all three main ski lifts. We had a beautiful view back across the town from the fourth floor - with a balcony, large bathroom and spacious room. The service was excellent and helpful, and facilities of very high level - including ski room, ski passes available from reception (no lines at the ticket counters for us) and lovely spa/sauna area. The hotel is relaxed and very quiet - helpful when so close to the centre of the village and had all the features of a large hotel, despite being boutique.

The only critique i had was questionable wifi quality from inside the room - but if i sat close to the door, i could Skype and work easily.

Zermatt is a fabulous place to visit all year around. The best mountain resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathylee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The owners Katja and Mario make you feel right at home.
Manuela and the rest of the team couldn't be more helpful with requests such as reservations for the big five (mountain restaurants) since it's imperative make them in advance to secure good spots especially on sunny days.
The hotel is very conveniently located to major attractions and lifts. A decent and compact SPA comes handy after a long and hard day at the slopes!
Some minor issues aren't really worth mentioning here. All in all, we were very satistified and can recommend this place to everyone planning to visit Zermatt.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murat U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Bellerive, Zermatt, in December 2013; and we absolutely loved this place. Mario and Katja were so helpful; and have kept this Swiss gem immaculate and perfect.

Our room had a perfect view of Matterhorn. Breakfast was perfect and the hotel was quiet, clean and perfect (exceeded expectations).

Mario and Katja: thanks for your recommendation for Swiss cheese fondue. Btw, I proposed Megan in St Moritz on a frozen lake, after we left Zermatt.

Thank you so much for your hospitality.

Pankaj

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pankaj_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We always read up on Tripadvisor before we set off on our holidays and when researching where to stay in Zermatt we came across The BelleRive Hotel and were very impressed by all of the positive comments.

The hotel owners, Katja and Mario have created a beautiful, relaxed 'home from home' hotel.
Firstly, the service is that of a 5* hotel. They are so friendly and happy to help with any enquiries you may have. The rooms are comfy, spacious, cleaned to a very high standard daily. Bath towels etc are replaced daily, toiletries always replenished.

Little extras set this hotel a part from other 3*'s - you can enjoy a complimentary bottle of wine, chocolates and fruit upon arrival. Rent DVDs, relax in the smart jacuzzi/sauna area.. Indulge in their delicious breakfasts - homemade jams, fresh local cheeses, variety of breads.. Hot foods are also included plus a huge variety of coffees and teas to suit any discerning guest.

We have had such a memorable stay in beautiful Zermatt, but a huge part of this is with thanks to the BelleRive.

If ever we travel to Zermatt again for a skiing holiday - we will be sure to stay at the BelleRive!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geo19456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I've just got back from Zermatt and felt I should write a review about this hotel. Although many hotels are efficient and often difficult to fault the owners of the Bellerive seemed to find that next level of personal service. Examples of this were when some of our party had to make a very early start to the station they kindly made them sandwiches to take on the train. When we missed the closing time of the ski rental shop they sorted taking the skis back for us no problems and made really good dining suggestions.
In terms of location its fairly central in Zermatt a few minutes away from the church and main street. We had a room in the eves - a great blend of modern design with exposed beams and large velux windows looking up to the mountain. Some nice touches such as the nespresso machine in the room so you can have a nice coffee rather than those little instant sachets you get in may hotels.
All of my party were very impressed by the warmth of welcome and service and I'd certainly stay again next time I'm in Zermatt

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Location: Very central, and I would say this specific location has more of a "neighborhood" feeling as compared to anywhere in Zermatt.
Hotel: Newly re-done; stylish while making the best use of the space available.
Reception & Service: Very good, they support you in everything and are always there for you.
Rooms: Good size, wooden floors - adds a lot to the "mountain" feeling.
Spa: Very practical and nicely done; the steam room could, to my humble opinion, be a bit warmer with more steam.
Breakfast buffet: Not the biggest buffet I have seen but all very tasty.
This hotel will be my top choice when I go back.

Room Tip: If you want the Matterhorn views, try to go for the south facing rooms on floors 4 or 5. The suite o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretsch5120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BELLERIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BELLERIVE

Property: BELLERIVE
Address: Riedstrasse 3, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#3 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BELLERIVE 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your BELLERIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellerive Superior Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing