We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation and value”
Review of Hotel Alfa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alfa
Ranked #84 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have stayed several times at the Alfa and booked again for 2015. Alfa and the adjacent Metropol are family owned with the owners present every day.The staff is superbly trained, courteous and efficient.
We always have a room with balcony looking at the Matterhorn.
The restaurant at the Metropol a few feet away has excellent buffet breakfast and dinner.
Health Club with fitness, swimming pool and sauna is also at the Metropol.
We highly recommend both Metropol and Alfa
Dieter Langendorf

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 127DieterL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is real back to 1964 when this was opened. Rooms are tiny and if you have fobia for shower curtains and wall-to-wall carpets you may consider another place. Irrespective of the worn surfaces the hotel is very clean and that compensates. Staff is really friendly. The view (room 20) to Matterhorn makes the day. WiFi is included, fast and reliable. Location = perfect for skiers and strollers

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Johanna00100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great budget hotel for climbers and hikers which is central to everything in Zermatt
The staff were very helpful, and our rooms were quiet and spotless as were the shared WC and Bathroom.
If you want a large room which looks pretty then book the Metropol.
This is my second stay at the Alfa and I'll be back again with the same friends climbing the Matterhorn again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckofthedrawuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Karctic
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hotel served its purpose.

The hotel is centrally located, close to the Coop, train station and the two (2) gondola's. The receptionist was very friendly and the breakfast at its sister hotel the Metropol was nice to have.

As previously mentioned the rooms are small - we had a hard time fitting a backpack and a suitcase in the room with the two of us! When packing we needed to put the backpack and suitcase on the bed to allow for enough room to walk around. Zermatt is a very expensive place and the Hotel Alfa served its purpose.

If you have to choose places to visit, I would recommend Wengen over Zermatt.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawsonmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Within walking distance from the train Station. Hotel is old and tired and dated.

Pros: Zentrally located Hotel, Raceptionists and Staffs were very friendly and helpful. Room and Bath were clean, good wifi reception. They are close to the mountain railway going to Rothorn..

Cons: The room where we stayed at was so small, smell bad and bed was very uncomfortable. They hand you the heaviest hotel key ever. Some pictures on the internet were a bit misleading as they show pictures from Metropol hotel. We are not fuzzy customer ourselves but we're not satisfied with our room. We won't be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makuhlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Just returned from a week in Zermatt staying at the hotel Garni Alfa. This is a great place to stay in Zermatt at very reasonable prices. Rooms clean and warm, breakfast great, excellent location for both ski bus/lift access as well as short stroll to main restaurant/bar area of town. Excellent view of the Matterhorn from the south facing balcony. Use of the spa facilities at the neighbouring Hotel Metropol for a modest charge is highly recommended as an end to a hard day on the piste. My only caution would be with respect to timing of visit. We stayed during the annual Zermatt Unplugged music festival, and one of the main venues was right behind the hotel making it a bit noisy on one or two nights. Just avoid that week to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for south facing (Matterhorn view) rooms with private facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#72 of 110 in Zermatt
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elite Garni
Hotel Elite Garni
#68 of 110 in Zermatt
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Adonis
Hotel Adonis
#67 of 110 in Zermatt
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
#82 of 110 in Zermatt
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist-Apartments & Hotel Garni
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
#70 of 110 in Zermatt
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfa

Address: Obere Mattenstrasse 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range: £101 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alfa 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing