We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most reasonable hotel in our entire Switzerland trip”
Review of Hotel Elite Garni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elite Garni
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Most reasonable hotel in our entire Switzerland trip”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed at the Elite for two nights. We paid about CHF 190 for two nights including breakfast. The lady at the reception was nice and helpful. The room was nice and clean. The toilet is small but ok. Hotel is 5 min walking distance from the station. The breakfast is extremely great.Loved our stay. Book well in advance to get a great rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karanrajgarhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    37
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
45
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here for three nights. The owner/manager, a Portuguese gentleman with whom I conversed in Spanish(!) came to meet us and help us from the station on foot because the roads of the town were blocked by a wonderful carnival/procession of perhaps thirty fife-and-drum bands in colourful uniforms, so he could not use his electric taxi. Our room was on the top floor, and we had a view of the Matterhorn! The hotel has been in existence for decades, being listed in ancient Baedeker guidebooks, and has been modernised while retaining its original character. Just off the main street, it could not be more central.
The room was clean, comfortable and quiet at night. The breakfast was more than adequate, with the usual cereals, fruit, yogurts and some unusual breads. The staff were very polite and helpful, giving clear and accurate advice. Migros supermarket is very near, and a Co-op not far away in a small 'mall' by the station. The hotel has no restaurant, though, painted on its front it bears the words 'Hotel Garni', which I thought meant 'hotel WITH restaurant'.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor if you can and you will have a view of the Matterhorn, as long as you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollygeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verbier
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Nice staff, old decor in rooms but very clean and tidy. Breakfast surprisingly good

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Very good location, near big Migros Supermarket and just next to the skating rink (it was wonderful to skate with matterhorn sight). The pizzeria-restaurant in the same building was very good and cheaper than other offers in the village. Hotel is quiet and with a nice modern sauna. We had a modern bathroom with Mattherhornsight. I clearly recommend it!

Room Tip: I had a superior room at the fourth floor with Matterhorn sight (southwest)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed here with a group, and my single room turned out to be a nice large double room with a balcony. Small refrigerator. Hair dryer. Dining room downstairs for meals. I paid for internet access and it was a bit difficult to set up. Very clean. Nice staff. Very hand location. A Migros supermarket is in the same block. Bar in the building. Walk to cable cars. Short walk to the main drag with lots of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

My partner and I traveled here for one night to see Zermatt. It was booked through an agency and we a little worried after reading the reviews online. On arrival we were greated warmly and handed our room key. THe staff was very helpful. THe rooms are plain, the views are plain, the double bed is two singles pushed together. But the bathroom was great, the room was dark and quiet for sleeping and the breakfest was quiet good, continental buffet style. What you would expect for a three star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

I stayed at the Elite for 3 nights in December. I booked last minute and it was the only place available with a single room.

The hotel location is right in the centre of town but still quiet. It is a bit of a schlep to the lifts for the slopes but I think most places are in Zermatt. You could walk about 15/20 mins with skiis and boots or just hail an electric taxi. Most journeys around the town were 12 CHF.

The overall impression of this hotel is that it could do with an update. The reception and my room were a bit 1970's. However the staff were really friendly and helpful and the hotel is very clean.

My room was basic but had a great view of the matterhorn. It was really hot and I had to sleep with the balcony door open.

I peeked into some of the double rooms and they looked a bit more modern.

The breakfast was good, typical Alpine food to fill you up before a day on the slopes.

My overall stay was OK but if I had more choice I probably wouldn't stay again unless it is modernised.

  • Liked — The staff were really helpful
  • Disliked — The decor
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaycharlie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#24 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
#85 of 109 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Zermatt
Hotel Continental Zermatt
#78 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Derby
Hotel Restaurant Derby
#99 of 109 in Zermatt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Petit CHARME-INN
Le Petit CHARME-INN
#37 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elite Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elite Garni

Property: Hotel Elite Garni
Address: Hofmattweg 3, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#45 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#48 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elite Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Elite Garni is a small 3 -star hotel in the center of Zermatt . Near the train station and just 2 minutes from the nearest bus stop to the mountain railways to the ski areas. Various categories of rooms, some with Jacuzzi. In the hotel invites a small spa area with sauna / bio-sauna to relax. Interesting seasonal package offers , ideal for your summer and winter holidays . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elite Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing