We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel close to Rail Station and Zermatt”
Review of Hotel Elite Garni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Elite Garni
Ranked #70 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2011

My partner and I traveled here for one night to see Zermatt. It was booked through an agency and we a little worried after reading the reviews online. On arrival we were greated warmly and handed our room key. THe staff was very helpful. THe rooms are plain, the views are plain, the double bed is two singles pushed together. But the bathroom was great, the room was dark and quiet for sleeping and the breakfest was quiet good, continental buffet style. What you would expect for a three star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2009

I stayed at the Elite for 3 nights in December. I booked last minute and it was the only place available with a single room.

The hotel location is right in the centre of town but still quiet. It is a bit of a schlep to the lifts for the slopes but I think most places are in Zermatt. You could walk about 15/20 mins with skiis and boots or just hail an electric taxi. Most journeys around the town were 12 CHF.

The overall impression of this hotel is that it could do with an update. The reception and my room were a bit 1970's. However the staff were really friendly and helpful and the hotel is very clean.

My room was basic but had a great view of the matterhorn. It was really hot and I had to sleep with the balcony door open.

I peeked into some of the double rooms and they looked a bit more modern.

The breakfast was good, typical Alpine food to fill you up before a day on the slopes.

My overall stay was OK but if I had more choice I probably wouldn't stay again unless it is modernised.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaycharlie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Stayed for a night on one of the upper floors. The room was fine and had what would probably have been a good view of the Matterhorn –if only it hadn’t been covered by cloud! Bathroom had a shower attachment over the bath rather than a separate shower. Staff were very friendly and helpful, gave advice about walks, and were able to show webcam view of current mountain conditions on the PC at reception. Good value hotel, easy to reach from the station by going along the main street and turning left after about 200m

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonEuroweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We had a gorgeous view from our balcony and the room appeared clean. Great breakfast selection! My only complaint is the constant smell of cigarette smoke throughout the hotel. Even with the windows open all the time, it was difficult to get the smell out of our room.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snorkelersara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

Found this hotel via the tourist information office in Zermatt, for a one night stay on a ski trip over from Cervinia.

All was well, and we were very comfortable, until about 11.30, when the music from the "Pool Bar" started up... The pounding rhythms continued until 2am, by which time I had such a headache it took forever to get back to sleep.

Our room was on the first floor, which may have been a factor, but sadly this was one of the most uncomfortable nights I have spent in a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2006

I would recommend Hotel Elite to anyone that is looking for quality and hospitality at a good price. The staff was extremely friendly, even booked our restaurant reservation as we did not speak German very well. The breakfast was great. I have no complaints with this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank apwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Zermatt
Hotel Continental Zermatt
#72 of 111 in Zermatt
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
#84 of 111 in Zermatt
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#48 of 111 in Zermatt
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
#58 of 111 in Zermatt
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#31 of 111 in Zermatt
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elite Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elite Garni

Address: Hofmattweg 3, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#43 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#46 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £108 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elite Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Elite Garni is a small 3 -star hotel in the center of Zermatt . Near the train station and just 2 minutes from the nearest bus stop to the mountain railways to the ski areas. Various categories of rooms, some with Jacuzzi. In the hotel invites a small spa area with sauna / bio-sauna to relax. Interesting seasonal package offers , ideal for your summer and winter holidays . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Elite Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing