We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, great hospitality”

Alouette Apparthotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alouette Apparthotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Zermatt B&B and Inns
USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, great hospitality”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights in Zermatt for summer skiing, mountain biking and an all-around break from city living. We booked a studio with Matterhorn view at the Alouette, and were very pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and service received. The room was very spacious with a lot of storage space, everything was clean and tidy, and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook and eat-in. And most importantly, the managers of the hotel are very kind and helpful. For the affordable price, I can't imagine there is a better option in Zermatt.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtles24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights here with our two teenage sons (15 & 12).we booked a 2 bedroom apartment and the rooms were spotlessly clean, beds comfy and kitchen well equipped (there was even a cupboard in the hallway that had extra kitchen equipment ie a fondue set!). We were were lucky enough to have a 2nd floor balcony room with uninterrupted views of the Materhorn. Whilst this accommodation is not the most modern in Zermatt the family that runs it are welcoming, helpful and go out of their way to assist. Thank you so much for making our stay in Zermatt one to be well remembered.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSiepens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Advantage
View from balcony
nice clean rooms
very friendly/helpful hotel manager
You can walk to hotel but learn the maps !!!

Disadvantage
Finding the hotel (actually its near to train station)
slight steep climb to hotel

Room Tip: choose room with view of zermatt
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harker Heights, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights in Zermatt at Aloutte. The hotel manager was one of the most helpful and friendly people we have encountered while traveling. He pulled out a map of Zermatt and showed us exactly where everything was, where all the best sights to see were, and he told us some wonderful money-saving tips that really helped us out. He took interest in us and what all we were doing and seemed excited about it. It really made us feel like valued guests. They went out of their way to let us check in immediately and early and let us store our bags for hours after checkout. The hotel itself was so charming. It was everything we imagined for an "alpine hotel" to be. We had a beautiful view of the Matterhorn with afternoon sun shining onto our balcony. We loved sitting out there, sipping cider, watching the sun set behind the Matterhorn! We would definitely come back and stay much longer next time!

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the Matterhorn, you won't regret it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We rented 2 2 bedroom apartments and 1 studio for a girl's weekend and all 15 of us were happy with our stay at Alouette! The apartments are spotlessly clean, beds are comfortable and the kitchens are equipped with everything you need to make a nice meal - they even have champagne glasses :). Everyone who works there is friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. This just might be the best value in Zermatt!

Room Tip: There are also rooms in the walkout basement. I was not in one of those but I don't like to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We spent a week at "Alouette" guesthouse when we were making day hikes into the Alps surrounding Zermatt with a group of friends. All of the accommodations are suites or studios and have cooking facilities. Breakfasts are now offered at the hotel across the street. The entire facility is spotlessly clean, and Sandro and his father, owners, are most friendly and accommodating. In fact we occasionally had a bottle of wine or a box of chocolates waiting for us when we returned from a hard day on the trails! It's about a 10 minute easy walk from the train station, and is located on a small hill so the south-facing rooms have an unobstructed view of the Matterhon. We plan to return next year!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forsythpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2008

Three of us booked last minute for a ski weekend and our choices were slim. This property prides itself on week long holiday rentals and we only needed one night stay. They insisted on making us pay for 2 nights (although no one took the first night) and would not honor our reservation unless we guaranteed the first night.

Getting here was a challenge as it is a 10-15 minute walk with luggage from the train station. Do yourself the favor and get a cab, it is worth it.

The room was very clean, beds were comfortable and once we were there it was a good base for a nights sleep after a day on the slopes. The owner/operator was much more pleasant then we expected and had great recommendations for restaurants and also where to ski on the mountain.

This would be an ok place to stay for a ski week, but just don't expect much (no lobby, breakfast, etc).

  • Liked — staff recs in town
  • Disliked — paying for 2 nights
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kridot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#33 of 110 in Zermatt
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Zermatt Youth Hostel
Zermatt Youth Hostel
#4 of 75 in Zermatt
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alouette Apparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alouette Apparthotel

Property: Alouette Apparthotel
Address: Untere Wiestistrasse 17 | Postfach 410, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alouette Apparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alouette Apparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing