We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great place”
Review of Hotel Alpenroyal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alpenroyal
Ranked #77 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
lv
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is a great place”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Although a bit dated, this is a great place to stay in a great location. The craftsmanship of the lobby area is fabulous. Was probably the best in town in the 80s and 90s, but still very good. Its a bit spendy, but look where you are!

Room Tip: Get a view of the horn! higher rooms will have abetter view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    77
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
73
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed one week in Sept 2012 and in short had a great time. The hotel is all that you would expect from a Swiss Hotel. It it was clean, staff were pleasant and helpful, the rooms were well furnished with comfortable beds and breath taking views of the Matterhorn, The quality of food was excellent. Meals are served in a cosy restaurant with views of the Matterhorn. All staff spoke English and went out of their way to help. In the basement is a swimming pool again with views of the mountains just in case you have any energy left after climbing mountains. The hotel is accessed via a tunnel and lift as it is located above the main town of Zermatt or you can walk up a bending road. Main railway stations are within 10 minutes walk as is the main shopping street . Would we stay again definitely. Its a great place to explore the surrounding mountains

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room with balcony and views of the Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chas85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We have just returned from our second ski trip to Zermatt, staying at the Alpenroyal for the last two years. We never go back to the same place twice but when fate threw up the chance to return here we had no hesitation in accepting the opportunity.
The Alpenroyal is perfectly placed at the bottom of Rotthorn and you can ski back to the hotel doors in the right conditions which given the altitude is most of the time. Although in an elevated position above the wonderful town of Zermatt it is perfectly positioned for access to both the slopes and the town due to use of two elevators which drop through the mountain to accessing all facilities in seconds. The ski run down to the Alpenroyal gives the opportunity to experience a number of great apres ski bars but in particular the wonderful Cervo which provides live music and a great atmosphere to end your day in magnificent surroundings. The Alpen royal has suffered because of the success of the new Cervo bar but does offer a more traditional ( if somewhat quieter) apres ski experience in traditional surroundings and you will often find many locals and ski instructors end their day here.
We paid for an upgrade to enjoy a south facing room and it was worth every penny. The fantastic uninterrupted view of the breath taking Matterhorn led to us leaving our curtains and blinds fully drawn back both day and night in order that we enjoyed every second of this ever changing mountain. In 30 years of skiing I have never had a better view of any mountain. The Matterhorn alters by the second giving hugely emotive views day and night.
Rooms in the hotel are large and comfortable offering all that you need for your holiday. Elevators are available for the upper floors.
The staff of the hotel are wonderful and keen to ensure that they can do everything in their power to make your holiday a success. This was true from the moment we arrived in reception where we were dealt with like Alpenroyalty . The welcoming hotel bar is traditional design with wood clad walls and a roaring log fire to welcome you in from the cold. However it is in the restaurant that the hotel has its prized member of staff. Miguel runs his restaurant with all the efficiency you would expect from a Swiss experience but also with the warmth and good humor of his native Portugal. It is a joy to simply drift around conversing in more than half a dozen languages perfectly and bringing laughter and joy where ever he lights. His supporting staff are well drilled and although they may lack his outstanding skills they are everything you would want in in a restaurant. The food served is excellent. My only criticism would be that the hotel operated a set menu with no choice. They would however always offer something else if you told them in advance of a particular dislike.
If skiing is not your thing the hotel offers and excellent pool with magnificent views of the Matterhorn along with an excellent sauna,jacquzzi, steam room and delightful resting area.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough.
Zermatt is a great place not only for skiers but fantastic for walking, historical tours, museums or shopping. Not to mention the incredible array of cafes, bars and restaurants, even one at over 10,000 ft which is accessible to all via the Gornagrat railway. We love it so much we are going back in the summer. Thanks again to everyone at this regal hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank philipneale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a cosy rooms with a lovely view of the Matterhorn from our windows and balcony. The hotel is not central but ideally placed for easy access (via lifts) to one of the main routes up to the pistes and buses to the other routes. Everywhere else including the village is an easy walk.
The breakfast is simple but with a great selection - cold meats and cheeses, sliced fresh fruits, yoghurts, cereals, juices, bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, selection of breads and rolls and I am sure I have missed some things.
Dinner is ample and sticks to simple but good food. There is a great salad bar and usually a soup, main and dessert course. If the menu doesn't suit you can ask for variations.
The service is lovely, informal and friendly. They can't do enough. One thing that I would have liked is access to laundry facilities but they only offer serviced washes.
The room had an older decore but was spotlessly clean, large bathroom with double sink, bath with shower over, lovely windows (we had a corner room so windows on two sides), very comfortable beds and bedding.
There is a small bar in the hotel which is lovely for a drink after skiing or if you prefer something a little more upmarket there is Hotel Cervo 2 mins up the road for a lovely balcony, music and drinks experience after skiing.
All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulaledieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The hotel is situated on the hillside outside the centre of Zermatt but there are lifts and access to the town and the ski lifts is good. You can ski back to the hotel door. The rooms are small, we did not have a balcony or a bath but we were comfortable and the room was nicely furnished and clean. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the food at breakfast and dinner was varied and of a good standard.
The most positive aspect for myself is as a vegetarian of many years I have experienced some terrible food on skiing holidays. This is by far the most effort a hotel has gone to to accommodate my needs in that respect, and the food was delicious. It was a set menu every night but if anyone was not keen on any of the menu the staff would just arrange an alternative.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have baths our bathroom was very small with a shower cubicle which was fine for us, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryR908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This is a small hotel which on the map seems to be a little way from the main centre - however, there is a very fast way down to the town once you have checked in (via some stairs and a lift). The staff and friendly and very helpful. The waiters were great fun, always happy to chat and to give helpful tips about Zermatt. The restaurant and bar are reasonably priced and have a simple but tasty menu. There are clearly places where you can spend much more in Zermatt, but for keen skiers who are prepared to walk for 5 minutes to get to the lifts, this hotel is perfect. Our room had an excellent view of the Materhorn and a useful balcony. WiFi was being installed on all floors while we were there and seemed to be working well.

There was no mini-bar in the room, but we kept our drinks on the balcony and this worked well.

Room Tip: Ask for a Materhorn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prevessin Moens, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

To access the hotel, you have to go around with the street and climb a bit. Otherwise, there is a lift at the end of a tunnel that we didn't see for the first time. It is a very shorter access.
The room we booked was one of the most expensive.
Good things : The view on Matterhorn and on Zermatt was perfect, the receptionnists were very kind and professionnal. Jacuzzi was very pleasant, swimming-pool also. Breakfast was very good too, with a great choice.
Poor things : No minibar, no fridge, no internet in the bedroom. For internet we had to go to the reception. We also had a very bad sleep probably because temperature in the bedroom (and generally in all hotel) was very high. There was no way to low it down except opening the window...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remyf93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.5 mi away
Alpenblick
Alpenblick
#61 of 110 in Zermatt
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#35 of 110 in Zermatt
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.4 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.3 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#26 of 110 in Zermatt
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenroyal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenroyal

Property: Hotel Alpenroyal
Address: Riedweg 96, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#65 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenroyal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alpenroyal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenroyal Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing