We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find, great value, great view”
Review of Hotel Alpenroyal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alpenroyal
Ranked #76 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
“A great find, great value, great view”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in 3 star hotels throughout Europe with our two young girls. Most often we are surprised to the downside. The Alpenroyal is one of the few upside surprises. We got an excellent room with a view of the Matterhorn, a pull out sleeper sofa and breakfast included for 214CHF. The room had ample space for the 4 of us (ask for room #35). The view rivaled that of any other resort (up the hill a bit so even better vantage point). Breakfast was excellent (even scrambled eggs and bacon). Due to it being up the hill, there is an elevator at the adjacent hotel that brings you down to the river. From there you have a 2 minute walk to the Main Street. It gives you the best of both worlds. The service at the hotel was excellent. They went out of their way to be welcoming to us and our young children (a rarity in Switzerland). For value for money, we rank this as one of the best in Switzerland and Europe. Hope you enjoy too.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank floridainzurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    78
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
74
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I write whilst here in the hotel! Booked on a skiing deal with Inghams. For the price we paid for the whole holiday my wife and are very happy.
3 star is accurate. Room 26 comfortable and compact. Bathroom with shower very small but it has all you need! Hot water in shower brilliant but shower head should have been replaced as cracked but it worked fine. Plenty of storage space in room. Very good HD TV in room with all satellite channels you would need. Food fine (half board set menu). All staff very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast good. Small bar very nice and dining room comfortable. If you ski down from Sunnega you can ski into ski room ( well just outside) so perfect in the afternoon when returning. Nice pool and sauna, although we didn't use them. You need to hire pool robes which I thought a bit odd.
No hesitation in staying again unless we want 4 star comfort.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shliben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I had an awful time at this hotel. As a general comment, we have stayed at much smarter hotels in Zermatt for the price - for example, the shower head was held together with masking tape! (Hopefully, and from the sound of the other reviews, this has now been fixed.) However, I would not have bothered to write a review about that. What has stayed with me is the fact that a pearl necklace and earrings were taken from our locked room, and the owners attitude to this. First, we were told that we must have made a mistake; then, that we were liars. And finally, that it must have been another guest who had taken them, and that it was our own fault for bringing expensive jewellery skiing with us (hello, this is Zermatt!!). In fact, the jewellery was not worth a great deal, but was given to me by my late father, and it was upsetting and frustrating to be ignored and told I was a liar. We go to Zermatt most years and have never had a bad experience anywhere else. I do not recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel with gorgeous views, excellent service, friendly and helpful staff. The price is very reasonable and includes a very nice breakfast buffet. There were 6 of us staying here and everyone agreed it was one of the nicest places we stayed in Switzerland

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillPoplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

In Zermatt one can spend a lot of money... this hotel, in which I stayed now for the second time, isn't fancy, but offers convenience, location, good service and is affordable. Friendly staff, a nice spa area (pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath), a good breakfast buffet and a great view of the Matterhorn. They pick you up or you walk 10 minutes from the station, using a convenient lift to get you up. Going back to Zermatt, this will again me my first choice.

Room Tip: ask for Matterhorn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here on our honeymoon for 7days in May 2013 - and cannot thank the hotel staff enough for making us have such an amazing, relaxing and memorable time, Special mention for Angie and Guido looked after us exceptionally well, food was delicious every day, we had a room with a view across zermatt and up to the matterhorn (definitely recommend the upgrade) and was very clean and comfortable. Would love to go back again and hope that one day we will.

Room Tip: Upgrade to matterhorn/zermatt view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ditzylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed in Alpenroyal for 2 nights in summer, and it was a very pleasant experience. The Hotel is located uphill above Zermatt, little bit away of the town centre. It is very quiet, and has a great Matterhorn view. Since the hotel is relatively high compared to the centre of Zermatt, a big advantage is the lift, shared with a nearby hotel, that saves you from going up and down the hill. In addition, the hotel offered as free taxi from and to the train station.
We had the room on the first ground level, and as a benefit we had a private green “terrace”. The room was very clean and spacious, the only two small complains are the lack of a fridge (minibar), and the fact the double room has a bad with two mattresses, what makes sleeping a bit uncomfortable.
The hotel has a nice and clean (however, a bit tired, but that was not a problem) pool with Jacuzzi, and sunbeds located towards Matterhorn. The hotel also advertises sauna, but it was under reconstruction during our stay.
The breakfast was very good, Swedish tables with most of the stuff you can think off, regularly replenished. The staff was very nice and professional.
Overall, the hotel is very nice and offers very professional services in a beautiful environment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsf09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.5 mi away
Alpenblick
Alpenblick
#63 of 110 in Zermatt
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
#87 of 110 in Zermatt
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#41 of 110 in Zermatt
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#52 of 110 in Zermatt
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenroyal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenroyal

Property: Hotel Alpenroyal
Address: Riedweg 96, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#65 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenroyal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alpenroyal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenroyal Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing