We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect skiing location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alpenroyal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alpenroyal
Ranked #79 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect skiing location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

A lovely traditional hotel in the perfect location for skiing. Access to the town is provided by the lift shared with neighbouring hotel and you are brought out at street level close to everything. Access to skiing is just as easy. About 150 metres slightly uphill brings you to the ski elevators connecting directly to the metro, which whisks you up to the Sunnegga slopes in 3,5 minutes. That then gives you access to all the skiing. The hotel staff are all really friendly & helpful. The atmosphere is traditional & relaxed. The food is simple but good. Our room was very comfortable with a balcony & a view of the Matterhorn. Fantastic value hotel in a superb location.

Room Tip: Superior rooms overlooking the Matterhorn, as high a floor as you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBandAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    75
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
28
69
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

The 10-15 min walk to town result in great views. I thought It was worth the upgrade for the Matterhorn view! Slightly outdated decor but clean, nice, better value than a lot of hotels in Zermatt. Great choice for the not too fancy among us!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel is not a luxury hotel, after all it's a 3 star property, however what you get is a really good 3 star and great value. The rooms are basic but clean and the furniture in our room was new, apart from the bathrooms which was older but everything worked perfectly fine. There is a flat screen TV and free wifi too. We even had a nice view to the Matterhorn. Our room was close to the pool and sauna area. The pool is a bit too cold for me but we sat in the Jacuzzi every day after skiing and used the sauna too (which is brand new as well).
The food was very very good. It's breakfast buffet in the morning and (as we were on half board) we had a 4 course dinner every night and it was always delicious. There is a salad buffet every night, followed by soup, main and desert. They even had a fondue (chinoise) night and a racelette night. Staff in the restaurant was very attentive, great service.
The hotel is also in a very convenient location. If skiing in the Sunegga area you can ski right to the hotel in the evening and in the morning it's literally a 3 minute walk to the lift that takes you directly into the Sunegga station. If you want to go to the other ski lifts, the walk to the (electric) ski bus stop is equally just 3 mins. The walk into the village center is about 7 mins.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in 3 star hotels throughout Europe with our two young girls. Most often we are surprised to the downside. The Alpenroyal is one of the few upside surprises. We got an excellent room with a view of the Matterhorn, a pull out sleeper sofa and breakfast included for 214CHF. The room had ample space for the 4 of us (ask for room #35). The view rivaled that of any other resort (up the hill a bit so even better vantage point). Breakfast was excellent (even scrambled eggs and bacon). Due to it being up the hill, there is an elevator at the adjacent hotel that brings you down to the river. From there you have a 2 minute walk to the Main Street. It gives you the best of both worlds. The service at the hotel was excellent. They went out of their way to be welcoming to us and our young children (a rarity in Switzerland). For value for money, we rank this as one of the best in Switzerland and Europe. Hope you enjoy too.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank floridainzurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I write whilst here in the hotel! Booked on a skiing deal with Inghams. For the price we paid for the whole holiday my wife and are very happy.
3 star is accurate. Room 26 comfortable and compact. Bathroom with shower very small but it has all you need! Hot water in shower brilliant but shower head should have been replaced as cracked but it worked fine. Plenty of storage space in room. Very good HD TV in room with all satellite channels you would need. Food fine (half board set menu). All staff very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast good. Small bar very nice and dining room comfortable. If you ski down from Sunnega you can ski into ski room ( well just outside) so perfect in the afternoon when returning. Nice pool and sauna, although we didn't use them. You need to hire pool robes which I thought a bit odd.
No hesitation in staying again unless we want 4 star comfort.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shliben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I had an awful time at this hotel. As a general comment, we have stayed at much smarter hotels in Zermatt for the price - for example, the shower head was held together with masking tape! (Hopefully, and from the sound of the other reviews, this has now been fixed.) However, I would not have bothered to write a review about that. What has stayed with me is the fact that a pearl necklace and earrings were taken from our locked room, and the owners attitude to this. First, we were told that we must have made a mistake; then, that we were liars. And finally, that it must have been another guest who had taken them, and that it was our own fault for bringing expensive jewellery skiing with us (hello, this is Zermatt!!). In fact, the jewellery was not worth a great deal, but was given to me by my late father, and it was upsetting and frustrating to be ignored and told I was a liar. We go to Zermatt most years and have never had a bad experience anywhere else. I do not recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel with gorgeous views, excellent service, friendly and helpful staff. The price is very reasonable and includes a very nice breakfast buffet. There were 6 of us staying here and everyone agreed it was one of the nicest places we stayed in Switzerland

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillPoplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#39 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#45 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambiance
Hotel Ambiance
#57 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpenblick
Alpenblick
#62 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenroyal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenroyal

Property: Hotel Alpenroyal
Address: Riedweg 96, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#65 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenroyal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alpenroyal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenroyal Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing