We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
66
56
33
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
56
33
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews best western hotel matterhorn view apartment balcony kitchen utensils resort hotel nice cosy train station catching the glacier express open kitchen great apartment ten minute walk only stayed one night great view electric taxis full kitchen lovely balcony reception staff
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

the room itself was very nice, spacious and clean. but the logistics kinda sucked. you have to go to the best western which is far enough away to be annoying, in order to get your key or use a pool etc. it might not sound like a big deal, but when its freezing cold out, it matters. also, the hotel is up on a hill which is good for the view, but bad for being icy and slippery. the place is good value for the price, but its far away from the center of town where you kinda want to be for food etc. so just keep that in mind. you can walk to most everything like the funicular, but the distance was annoying.

Date of stay: February 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank dyhppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My wife and I stayed visited many different cities in Switzerland but this is one hotel that really stands out from the rest. In terms of value for money and service, look no further. This is arguably the best budget apartment in Zermatt! It is a less than 10 min walk from the Zermatt Train station. The service staff were all very courteous and friendly, even the technician! We had some problems with the stove and it was fixed in a heartbeat!
Great service, great location and great facilities! Not to mention all their rooms are equipped with Matterhorn view balconies!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank quanweitkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My mother and I booked a last minute trip to Switzerland and we came across the Residence Patricia. They were fantastic apartments. Very clean, all the amenities that you would need, quiet, friendly staff. The only downside is that it is a bit of a walk from the center of town. We had fantastic views and a very comfortable stay. The Hotel Patricia also includes breakfast at the Aplen Resort Hotel. Overall, amazing place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Visted this Chalet which is run by Crystal Finest in January 2012.

Chris Is a fantastic host - all of the meals where well balanced with a nice selection of Beajolais to choose from :-)

I know that chalet hosts can tend to move around but from meeting other in resort staff I am confident the the standard of this Chalet will remain high.

Room tip: Room 2 is the smallest - however it is more than adequate for a skiing holiday
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

-Booked through Crystal Ski
-Travelled over Christmas 2011/2012
-Self catering apartment
-Snowboarders

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here over Christmas, 24th Dec to 31st Dec.

ACCOMODATION:

The apartment was a very good suprise. This was our first self catering holiday for snowboarding, having been in a full board hotel before. The apartment has a small kitchen area but is very functional and has all the cooking equipment needed. There is two electric hobs, 1 small electric oven (portable type), 1 fridge with small freezer compartment, sink, draining board & all utensils.

The bathroom was very small but the shower was great, the cubicle type, the water was hot and had a decent flow rate, temperature didn't fluctuate much too. No room to swing a cat, but was one of the nicer bathrooms we have experienced!

The room had a very large bed set up, two big singles together, they actually were together so if you are sharing with a friend you might not be able to split them easily but you have loads of space. Bed was ok, did my back in a bit, but was nice enough. Quilt is warm and nice.

There is a small dividing wall into a lounge type area that has a chair, a small table and a sofa bed/sofa. Wouldn't want to have to share the sofa bed with anyone as it was small, but was great for watching tv.

TV was a flatscreen on the wall, very nice! however, hardly any English channels. BBC Entertainment, Sky News and CNN, plus Sports channel in German which you could watch Skiing, darts etc on. All other channels had great programmes and films but were in German. Also, had to pay 50 CHF deposit for the remote control or some reason, you could use the buttons at the side of the TV if you wanted to instead.

Balcony was exceptional, had a great view of the Matterhorn and a table and plastic chairs to sit in when you got back if you wanted to. Spacious to leave you board out (lock it up though).

Overall the room was excellent and VERY warm! we had to open windows and the balcony doors when it got too hot. You could spend your time in shorts and a tshirt it was that hot!

SLOPES:

The slopes were a BIG letdown for us. We snowboard, so no doubt it'll be better for skiiers, but we had a few issues.

1) The snow wasn't great, even on the snow making runs. It got icy very quickly and moguled by 11am.
2) The colour coded runs aren't right. Blue runs are what you would expect to be red runs, and some reds are red/blacks. No easy runs at all. This was our 5th holiday snowboarding and to be honest we found it a challenge! Steep sections on blues, mixed with some flat parts was a pain in the rear.
3) Lifts. As a snowboarder, you will be pleased to know you can spend all week with no chair lifts, gondola's and trains a plenty! However, the lifts are int he centre of town, so we had a 10-15 min walk into town (you can get the ski bus if you wanted), then a train or gondola up, so it took AGES to actually get on your first run. We had read about this but didn't realise how much energy it took out of you and kind of spoilt it. You can't ski back into town like you can in other resorts such as Tignes, France.
4) Cat tracks! Do not underestimate the amount of skill these little thins tracks back into town take! Myself and my boyfriend have been riding for 6 yrs and found these thin cat tracks all over the mountain, and you can't ski to the bottom lifts without going on one. They seem to last about half a mile or more and some parts have barriers and others don't. Scary and not fun, especially if you have people behind you trying to overtake, which is dangerous and impossible. Tracks are about 3m wide!
5) Navigation around the mountain was hard work. The piste map has numbered runs, so work out what number run you want and check out the direction board at a piste junction. Hard to see from a distance though and we were confused as to where we had been half the time. We went on a strange run that nobody else was on and we thought we were on a red run.. turns out it was one of their yellow runs which are ungroomed natural runs.. be careful of these as they are a bit dodgy! we ended up in a run that was a totaly mess and couldn't wait to get out of there, onto another cat track though of course!
6) Runs are thin and hard work, it was reletively quiet when we went and it was still hard going, I dread to think what it's like in busy times.

POSITIVES!

-Christmas in Zermatt is amazing! There are horses & sleighs, lights everywhere, a big tree, and it's very Christmassy! compared to France the year before where there was nothing!!

- The Gornergrat railway is brilliant, get there early and get a window seat as the views are great, even if you aren't skiing down it's worth a trip up there!

- Co-op and Migros supermarkets were very good! We used the Co-op first and it was good, but found Migro's later and it was even better, more choice and clothing and toiletries section downstairs. Expensive though, as you would expect! Steak from Migro's, 2 for 12 CHF and it was lovely! & we can recommend the 1CHF chocolate bars, they are delicious and cheap.

- River. Zermatt has a lovely river running through it and it's really nice to wlk along in the evening and helps you navigate your way through the town.

-Shopping. LOADS of shops, expensive boutiques, clothing, ski clothing, souveniers etc.. expensive but good quality! They even have a McDonalds. Lots of butchers, pastry shops, chocolate shops, bars, restaurants, a massive Chinese restaurant at the top of the town. If you have money to burn then you will find plenty to spend it on.

- Apartment. Faultless and really enjoyed the accomodation.

-Views. Wow, what can I say. The best views of all the holidays ever. The Matterhorn can be seen from nearly everywhere and it is amazing! really stunning scenery, and for us, despite the poor snowboarding conditions, we enjoyed the views and it made our holiday.

CRYSTAL REPS:
- We booked through the co-op, who were very disappointing!
- Crystal reps - could be better! We were left on our own for the last leg of the journey as the 3 reps on our coach gradually got off at other stops, and then gave us vague verbal instructions on how to catch the train into Zermatt at the end of the coach transfer. This was poor service and not ideal at all. When we arrived in Zermatt we had a rep again who arranged a taxi for about 9 of us! we squeezed in just about and headed to our apartment, got dropped off by the taxi driver over the river from a load of accomodation buildings and had no idea where to go! A fellow traveller that we didn't know said she thought she knew where it was, and luckily she did. No help from Crystal rep who was back at the train station, and hadn't given us directions. Anyhow, we got into the accomodation and there was no reception, just a lady who ran the place and couldn't speak English. We went up to what we thought was the reception we stumpled across some Crystal reps standing outside their apartment, luckily they took our board bags and told us we need to check in at the main hotel that runs the apartments, Alpen resort, a 5 min walk back up the hill. Grrr.. not impressed at all. Anyway, we checked in, no security deposit required, just the 50CHF for the remote control.. and they were very nice. But annoying that the rep hadn't informed us properly!

Overall it was a good week but we wouldn't go back to Zermatt for snowboarding, good for skiiers though, wouldn't travel with Crystal Ski again.

Travel from Geneva airport was a 3hr coach transfer and a 15 min train up into Zermatt. It's a car free zone apparently, although we came across a few cars! so not sure about that... but the train is nice enough.

Transfer back was a nightmare. Apparently a taxi was arranged for us to take us up to the train station, a 15 minute walk up a slope, it was snowing heavily and no taxi arrived! We ended up waiting 20 mins and then started walking up with all our bags, a taxi came past and we flagged it down. When we got there he tried to charge us 17CHF for a 3 minute journey, luckily the Crystal rep was there and said it was free of charge. But I reccomend fixing a price before getting into a taxi!

Hope that helps people!

Room tip: We asked at check-in for a balcony and she seemed to have no problems and said that was fine, worth a try, and we got a room with a great view of the Matterhorn.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank GEEGEE083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal_Ski_Team, Tour Operator at Residence Patricia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Hello GEEGEE083,

We’re very happy to hear you enjoyed your ski holiday to Zermatt but we're disappointed that you were dissatisfied with the service you received from our representatives in resort. We very much appreciate any constructive criticism and will ensure that your comments are brought to the attention of the resort management so that they can review the service provided to you, particularly upon arrival to the resort.

Regards,

Jon, Crystal Ski Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews