We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast - very comfortable and friendly”
Review of Hotel Tannenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tannenhof
Ranked #4 of 32 Zermatt B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Tannenhof. Since last year, a new owner has taken over and we saw a real improvement, both in the warmth of welcome and in the breakfast (coffee and muesli my favourites).
Recommended - including for an end of trek stay.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Lath012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is located just off the main street in Zermatt and just a short walk from the railway station.
Staff are very friendly and helpful, no hairdrier in the room but one was produce when I asked. The breakfast was very good, plenty to eat and there was fresh fruit on offer too.
The room and bathroom were small but plenty big enough for our needs. The bathroom was modern, clean and worked perfectly.
Really good value for money in a place where hotel rooms are so very expensive.
What more can we ask?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

5 stars for the great staff that lugged our bags upstairs. 4 stars for the clean room and the lovely continental breakfast. 2 stars for the lack of electrical outlets. 5 stars for the bidet. 2 stars for no elevator with a third floor room. 2 stars for no A/C and the flies that crawl on you when you want to sleep. 5 stars for the cheap price and comfy bed. 3 stars for the internet that works great only in the lobby. 1 star for the crappy view from our room #14.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Lovely little hotel, in the middle of this beautiful town. Perfect for short breaks or weekend get aways. Dont expect glamour and luxury for this price in Zermatt. We didn't. ;) Simple but very tidy lovely clean rooms with clean bathroom and simple buffet style continental breakfast. Our only problem was the receptionist guy or manager who knows. He is simply way too much. He was behaving rather like a concierge in a catholic elementary school than a receptionist. Telling us what not to do, and constantly spying suspiciously around everyone in the hotel. How could you possibly walk quietly in snowboard/ski boots on marble surfaces? I'm a paying guest and haven't got used to this kind of behaviour in a hotel, from the staff. Otherwise everything was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Hotel is not too bad, the sleep was great in the comfortable bed. The Room is very small but clean, barely worth the prize. Even tough be prepared that they charge you extra cost wherever they can. What seems to be included is manly not!
The worst part was the Staff. The person at the reception is really not a good reputation for the hotel. He also answered, why do I care, it is not my hotel. This is very bad for a person at the reception. The lady at the breakfast service area does not speak German, so do not even try to ask for anything.
Hope they will improve!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerryhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The rooms were clean and functional. What really stood out for me was the lengths that the manager went to help us. We changed our reservation several times and had to move from Tannenhof to the sister hotel Primavera and he was very accommodating and helped move our luggage. Nice guy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixalexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Petit CHARME-INN
Le Petit CHARME-INN
#43 of 111 in Zermatt
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#5 of 111 in Zermatt
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adonis
Hotel Adonis
#69 of 111 in Zermatt
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Welschen
Hotel Welschen
#1 of 32 in Zermatt
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antika
Hotel Antika
#2 of 32 in Zermatt
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tannenhof

Address: Englischer Viertel 3, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Zermatt
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Tannenhof 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Tannenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing