We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the greatest lodging/apartment values of...”
The main balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The main balcony
Exterior - Mischabel is the second floor: balcony on left is sitting room and right is main bedroom Evening view from dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The main balcony
Exterior - Mischabel is the second floor: balcony on left is sitting room and right is main bedroom
Evening view from dining table
Sitting room
Study area of sitting room
Games are provided
Breakfast bar looking over towards dining area
Kitchen fully equipped with microwave, nespresso coffee machine etc
Master bedroom (super king or twin bed)
Master bedroom set up as family room (the sofa become a full king sized bed)
En-suite bathroom to master bedroom
Hallway leading to bedrooms 2 and 3
Bedroom 2 (super king or twin beds)
Bedroom 2 from the hallway
En-suite bathroom to bedroom 2
Bedroom 3 (king size or twin)
Shower room next to bedroom 3
All bathrooms are stocked with Cath Collins' 'orange flower' range of products
Hallway detail
Happy Christmas
Welcome to The Mischabel
Where we are
Floor plan of the Mischabel apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Zermatt, Canton of Valais, Swiss Alps

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
LeMacduVi...
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“One of the greatest lodging/apartment values of my life.”
Reviewed 24 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Superb 150 sq. meter (1,500 sq. ft.) modern, clean, alpine-style apartment on one full floor close to the center of Zermatt. Huge picturesque windows over a patio, very elegant wooden walls with new furniture and rugs. 3 bedrooms fitting 6 persons. Full kitchen with dishwasher and full complement of dishes, glasses, utensils, etc. Large wall TV. Two showers. Swiss cleanliness. There is a washer/dryer downstairs (great European machines that clean at a longer and higher-temp. level). As a result, I was able to travel very light for a ski vacation. The boot room is ample, with shelves for each floor's apartment (there are two other apts. in teh building, both also owned by Lizzie and Angus; one is also rented out.) This ensures that no mess gets tracked upstairs, and is a small, but important, reason we had such a great time.

The thing that really amazes is the hospitality of English hosts Lizzie and Angus. Lizzie makes herself available by cell phone whenever you need her advice on a restaurant or how to find anything in town. She will call taxis for you and get a reservation for you at a local restaurant, and her recommendations are always excellent. Lizzie got us our ski-lift tickets before we got there, and recommended getting insurance on the tickets; this helped when Zermatt closed on one of our days there. She found us our ski guide on the two days we decided to opt for one, and he was outstanding.

Beds are a little bit small, but this is literally the only negative I found.

If I ever go back to Zermatt, my first organizational call will be to Lizzie.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2018
I am so sorry that this reply to your lovely review is so late - for some reason I never got a notification of it and then just happened to see it today!
But thank you for taking the time time to do such full and generous review of your stay with us. We know that guests have a lot to chose from when they are looking to stay in Zermatt and we do our best to make sure that our apartments, and the standard of our service, stand out - so it means so much that you have highlighted both in your review - thank you!
And from our point of view it was lovely to see a group of friends from law school getting together and great that you chose "Chez Nous" as the base for your annual get-together.
We would be delighted to host you again if you are ever headed back our way and in the meantime very best wishes to you all for the rest of 2018, Lizzie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon H
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Value, Extremely Helpful Owner”
Reviewed 19 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I am just about to finish my 2nd stay here at Chez Nous. This trip was my first here in winter. All of us here agreed that what sets this flat apart is the owner, Lizzie, and how helpful she was for our ski vacation. From getting our lift tickets ahead of time, to making at least 10 lunch and dinner reservations this week, to arranging a ski guide, to fetching us at the train station, to arranging our taxi tomorrow morning as we leave, Lizzie has helped us with numerous logistical details with our stay. Having never skied in the Alps before, her assistance made the whole experience much easier. Oh, and her apartment is very lovely as well. If I am lucky enough to come back to Zermatt, I will happily stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2018
Hi Jon
Thank you so much for doing such a lovely review before you even left (just as well that we all got out that Saturday because Zermatt has had even more snow since then.... great for future powder ski days but not so great for people trying to leave!). It was so nice to be able to welcome you back to us and I am really glad that all your friends got to see Zermatt with you in the winter. Do come back again - we would be delighted for all your family to see Zermatt in the snow.
Very best wishes to you for the rest of 2018, Lizzie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tooheyspe...
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Apartment &Terrific Hosts”
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

A beautifully furnished 3 bedroom 3 bathroom unit with outstanding views of the Matterhorn from the living room & main bedroom. It is a short easy walk to the restaurants, bars, shops, Sunnegga & bus stops. Lizzie met us at the train station with a taxi, dropped us at the ski rental shop & then arranged for another taxi to pick us up from the supermarket. She had also prearranged all 5 of our lift passes and instructors before our arrival. So with 3 young kids in tow on a Saturday afternoon it took a lot of pressure out of our hands. Both Angus and Lizzie are dedicated to making your stay a positive experience. This unit was exactly what I was after. Recommend it to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2018
Thank you Peter - we are so pleased that Chez Nous fitted the bill for you and your family and it is nice to know that you found the extra things we did helped your overall enjoyment of your week. We really enjoyed having you, Robyn and the children around over Christmas and it was great to see how much the kids seemed to get out of the whole experience - it is a magical time to be in the mountains!
Very best wishes to you all for the rest of 2018 and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back at some stage (it's also beautiful in the summer!). Lizzie and Angus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nathaliej...
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 14 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

That I am writing my first TripAdvisor review in 20 years of extensive traveling is a testament to the phenomenal hospitality provided by Lizzie and Angus at Chez Nous.
We chose Zermatt because, compared to other resorts in the Alps, it's relatively easy to access by train from major airports (eg ~3.5 hr from Zürich). It's perfect for intermediate level skiers. The majority of "free style" advanced runs are not usually accessible very early in the season, but the ones that were open, were great. The city is very pretty and submerses you in typical alpine culture. The Matterhorn was spectacular! We could see it clearly from our living room and dining room at Chez Nous. This place scored 10/10 for location, cleanliness, amenities, space and windows/natural light. The most notable for me was the exceptional personalised attention that Lizzie provided to her guests. She booked all our reservations to restaurants, obtained our ski passes and had food/beverages/wine waiting for us at our chalet when we arrived. She guided us when mother nature gave us too much snow- a concept that was foreign to me as a North American skier.
Overall, we had a wonderful and memorable family vacation. I recommend Chez Nous without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2018
Thank you so much Nathalie (for navigating your way through TripAdvisor as much as anything else!).
It was a genuine pleasure to host you Chez Nous and particularly to have your enthusiasm in the building during a week when the weather threw rather more snow than we could cope with at us!
But I am so glad that you all got to start and finish the week with views of The Matterhorn and that you could ski Paradies together.
Very best wishes to you all for 2018 and I hope that at some point we may be able to welcome you back to Zermatt. Lizzie and Angus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas G
2 reviews
“Excellent Apartment with perfect view of the Matterhorn”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent 6 nights in Chex Nous Mischabel apartment this summer. The apartment was very nicely furnished and very comfortable. It was an easy walk to restaurants and stores. You could not beat waking up every morning and having coffee on the porch with the perfect view of the Matterhorn. Then again for drinks in the evening, the view never got old.

The host Lizzie was great. Prompt in responding beforehand to question. She arranged dinner reservation for the first couple of night in restaurants she recommended that were excellent. From meeting us at the train upon arrival, answering questions and to seeing us off, she was always prompt, courteous, friendly and very helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Dear Doug
I am so sorry that I am so late in replying to this - for some reason I have only just seen that is was there! But thank you for taking the time to do the review for us and I am so glad that the holiday with us was a success and that you appreciated our service as well as the views. It is all starting to look quite wintry now so quite different to when you were here but the mountain is still there presiding over everything!
Very best wishes to you all and thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for your generous review. Lizzie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jcarden
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unwelcome Tired Middle Age Host - No Bath allow after 10:00pm!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stay in Mischable in Feb 2017 for one week. After a long day of travelling at the last part of the train transfer to Zermatt, we got a text message from Liz saying they can’t meet us at the station because they are busy with other groups, she told us just get a taxi, ok - as we know Zermatt well. Than two of our guest arrived a hour after us received the same message 20 mins before arrival, Liz said, "we can’t get you now as we are busy, here is the address just get in a taxi yourself.” Our guest told Liz they don’t know Zermatt it is their first visit, but Liz said is fine just show them the text message with the address on, so of course the taxi took them to a wrong apartment. Not a good start!
When we arrived at the foot of the apartment, we were meet with a tired middle age women call Liz, she appears running the apartment for the owner for a long time and clearly lost interest of her job. At the entrance we were told we cannot wear shoes inside, so from the front door on the left is the ski / shoes room which had the most awful smell coming from the 30 also pairs used dirty slippers at the corner that Liz will tell you to wear them. So four of us in this tiny space with our backpack on, suitcases in hands taking our shoes off before we were allow to move a feet further.
Next - Up to the apartment, immediately we were present a book of rules!
-when you leave the apartment, you are to leave your key in the un-lockable post box outside, but if the apartment got break in, it is your own responsibility not them but if you lost the key than again your fault, 200 chf charge for replacement.
-Oh, Liz will also spend the next 20 mins to ensure you understand her rules how to deal with your own rubbish, not the standard recycle staff inside the apartment, after 7 days stay you are responsible to take all six peoples rubbish in different type of bags and walk up the hill to a commercial area to dispose them.
-Not allow kitchen hood after 10:00pm
-Not allow running bath after 10:00pm - Apparently Liz said this is the rule in Switzerland.
Not once during our stay Liz contact us to check if we need any help. On the day we leave she was there to make sure she check through the apartment before letting us go. And of course nothing damaged and everything were there as they should.
But because she so worry about our apartment she let the downstair guest leave without walk round it with them and turn out their kids damage the B&O speakers and did not tell her.
Host should never judge your guest and should always treat them all the same.

We have seven ski trips this years and been to Zermatt the last three season, I would not recommend this apartment, you can easily found a nice hotel / apartment in Zermatt with the same cost or less but without the rules or a head teacher type of host to deal with.
For us this is not a holiday it was like you stay at your school friends house and their parents forever watch you, in case you damage their house, (Ha!! that would be free) not at a cost of over 5000 chf. Lesson learn and you have been warned.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I am sorry that you felt this way about your stay. All feedback is welcome, and this is helpful because it is obviously very different to the kind of review we usually get, so we will make sure to take your comments for improvement on board.
Kind regards, Lizzie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia B
1 review
“Nothing too much trouble”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Utterly wonderful. Lizzie and Angus welcomed us to .Zermatt weeks before we got there! They booked restaurants (and changed them for us with no fuss), ski passes and school and instructors..., They advised us about the train, the ski conditions, the lifts ... everything to make our holiday as straightforward as could be.

The apartments are absolutely lovely. They are filled with personal touches, delicious soaps, superbly equipped kitchens, such comfy beds and sofas and have a wonderful feel about them. Huge windows - without neighbours looking straight in - and a view of the Matterhorn to rival any other. An easy walk to the ski hire shop and the main lifts is very simple.

We would highly recommend Lizzie and Angus to anyone and their skilful management of all their guests, with their various demands and the apartments in general is admirable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2017
Thank you Lucia for such a generous review - and we are both so glad that you and the children all enjoyed this trip to Zermatt. It was so nice for us to see the apartments being used in the way we hoped they would be when we set them up - for families and friends to get together, ski, look at The Matterhorn, play card games, watch rugby, drink wine and just "be" after a hard day on the hill. And thank you for noticing some of the extra touches (especially the soap which I shall pass on to the lovely Cath Collins in Devon).
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back but in the meantime very best wishes for the rest of 2017 to you all. Lizzie and Angus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing