We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel, Far From Downtown”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Silvana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Silvana
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Lovely Hotel, Far From Downtown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Nice hotel with beautiful views and nice rooms. However, the hotel is far from downtown and requires an expensive gondola ride to get there. The owner was also rude and unaccommodating. The food was fair. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    22
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
46
65
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Sylvana is probably the best restaurant on the ski slope. You can access the resto either from piste 51 from schwarze or 5 minutes wlak from furi tele cabin. Menu is varied with lots os traditional swiss products. I had a delicious lamb fillet while my wife had great macaroni with swiss cheese and dried meat. The dining room is well decorated as a swiss chalet.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyrilleFabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dany B, Manager at Hotel Silvana, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear Cyrille Fabre

Thank you very much for your nice assessment.
We are happy, that you enjoyed our swiss food.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

The Silvana Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

By stark contrast to the Zerms of Zermatt (term for describing waiting staff who really see your visit to their restaurant as an interference to the working day) the waiting team at this restaurant were genuinely interested in everything about our visit. It was not one individual but the whole team who shone through. Our waiter was thrilled to serve us, the food, atmosphere and genuine attendance to detail and service delivery was exceptional. The food was brilliant, the location is wonderful and the sledging back from Furi to Zermatt was additional dessert. If you go to Zermatt, this was by far the best restaurant of all I tried.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWoburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dany B, Manager at Hotel Silvana, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear JohnWoburn

Wow, thank you very much for your assessment and for your time with us. We are glad, that you had a good journey in our restaurant gitz-gädi.

We hope to see you again.

Yours sincerely

The Silvana Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Embarking on the sledging evening from Zermatt (Tuesdays and Thursdays from Matterhorn cable car 19.30) we dined at above restaurant in the Hotel Silvana. The friendly atmosphere and welcoming to our teenage children was lovely and they were extremely accommodating splitting menus for them to try and share. The food was of an excellent standard and delicious. The sledging back into Zermatt under the bright moon finished off a perfect day !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dany B, Manager at Hotel Silvana, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear AlfieR

Thank you very much for your wonderful assessment. We are happy, that you had a perfect evening.

The Silvana Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

The hotel has so much potential, but just fails in so many ways. The breakfast buffet is so poor with not enough choice. They only offer slices of bread in the morning, white or brown. Really? That's so cheap. No pastries like pain au chocolats or croissants, ... The fruit juices and yoghurt are not chilled. On the buffet they place a boiling pot with eggs on a heater, so dangerous with kids running around. Breakfast is only from 7 untill 9.30. People are on holiday, schedule it at least untill 10AM.

The half board food for hotel guests was of such poor quality and cheap, while the à la carte food is really good. Coming from the same kitchen, it should be at least the same quality. One night we were given rösti with raqluette cheese on top, that's it. While someone from the à la carte restaurant was given the same dish with a sausage on the side and onion sauce. Is it really that difficult to just add some meat or sauce?

The hotel expects you to dine at 7PM and when you are a bit late the manager is so rude. He called to our room to say we had to come down for dinner and one evening we were sitting at the bar having a drink he suddenly said the following 'people, can you go to the table'. First of all, do not address us wih 'people' and be a little more polite! We do have a family name!

The staff on the other hand were so friendly, special thanks to Anne, Jacob and Christopher. They made our holiday. The manager can learn a lot from his staff! Normally it should be the other way around. The rooms inside are okay, but the isolation of the rooms is the worst I've ever experienced. We could hear the people next to us talking and the water pipes were so noicy during the night. When the people above us flushed the toilet, we heared everything. You would expect high in the mountains to sleep quietly, but sadly that wasn't the case.

We will never stay at this hotel again. There are much better hotels in Zermatt for a much better price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteP1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dany B, Manager at Hotel Silvana, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Google Translation
Guten Tag Charelle

Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, um eine Hotelbewertung über unser Hotel Silvana zu schreiben. Dies hilft, uns stetig zu verbessern.

1. Frühstück
Wir entschuldigen uns, dass wir nicht Ihren Geschmack getroffen haben. Wir sind ein Dreisterneberghotel und es ist logistisch eine grosse Aufgabe alle Produkte auf’s Furi zu transportieren. Wir liegen 300 Meter oberhalb von Zermatt. Unserer Meinung nach, haben wir ein abwechslungsreiches Frühstücksbuffet. Wir nehmen Ihre Anregungen gerne auf.
Herzlichen Dank, dass Sie uns aufmerksam gemacht haben, dass Eierstation an einem gefährlichen Ort steht. Wir werden eine Lösung suchen.
Wir sind ein aktives Sporthotel und damit unsere Gäste möglichst einen langen schönen Skitag erleben können, können die Gäste bei uns zwischen 7.30 und 9.30 Uhr das Frühstück geniessen. Sicher haben Sie bemerkt, dass es auch um 10.00 Uhr noch Frühstück gab.

2. Abendessen
Bei unserem Abendessen können Sie immer zwischen zwei Hauptgängen (eines mit Fleisch und ein vegetarisch) wählen. Bei der Rösti haben Sie die vegetarische Variante gewählt. Gerne hätten wir Ihnen, auf Ihren Wunsch hin, etwas Fleisch und Sauce hinzugefügt.

Es stimmt, bei uns fängt das Abendessen immer um 19.00 Uhr an. Damit unsere Mitarbeiter zur rechten Zeit Ihren Feierabend geniessen können und nicht zu viele Überstunden leisten müssen und damit zufrieden und freundlich bleiben.

Unser Chef ist ein fürsorglicher und herzensguter Patron und wir vom Team finden es schade, dass Sie ihn derart kritisieren.

Es tut uns leid, dass Sie im Zimmer die anderen Gästen gehört haben, baulich wird es schwierig dies noch zu verbessern. Unser Hotel liegt mitten in den Bergen auf knapp 1900 Metern und so müssen wir leider einige Kompromisse eingehen und Nachteile einräumen, die in einer Stadt oder in einem Touristenort nicht auftreten. Im Gegensatz dazu werden unsere Gäste mit Berghüttenromantik und mit einer unvergleichlichen Atmosphäre entschädigt.

Wir hoffen trotzdem, Sie wieder einmal vom Gegenteil zu überzeugen.

Alles Gute und vielleicht bis zum nächsten Mal.

Das Silvana Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We spend the Christmas holiday at Silvana and shared a triple room with our two kids. It was very comfortable and the family room the last night was even better, with an entresol for the kids. It is beautiful and peaceful at Furi (on the mountain, not in town!) and not having to get back to a hotel in the centre saved the kids a lot of time for playing in the snow and the large indoor pool in the afternoon. Since we don't care for a long diner after skiing, next time we would skip the four course half pension and order a la carte. Breakfast was good, lots of cereals for the kids and fresh fruits. The location and the views are magic so we had a great time. I would love to return here in summer too!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist22300910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dany B, Manager at Hotel Silvana, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Google Translation
Herzlichen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, um unser Hotel zu bewerten.

Es freut uns sehr, dass Sie sich bei uns wohl gefühlt haben.

Wir hoffen, Sie wieder einmal begrüssen zu dürfen.

Das Silvana Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel along with 30 friends for a birthday party ski weekend and highly recommend it. The hotel and bar staff were extremely tolerant, patient and pleasant, the food was brilliant - and the spa and bedrooms were well equipped. The separate lounge and bar areas were a great addition - and the dog was lovely too!
I can imagine having a great week here either in a couple or as a group.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tritravellerZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dany B, Manager at Hotel Silvana, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Hallo tritravellerZurich

Thank you very much for your nice assessment.

We are happy, that you had a good time with us.

Your assessment motivate us.

We hope to welcome you again.

The bar team will be glad.

The silvana team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
1.1 mi away
Riffelalp Resort 2222 m
Riffelalp Resort 2222 m
#50 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riffelhaus 1853
Riffelhaus 1853
#58 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
3.0 mi away
3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat
3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat
#30 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#19 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Matthiol
Hotel Matthiol
#48 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#13 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silvana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silvana

Property: Hotel Silvana
Address: Furi 265, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#24 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#27 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#50 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silvana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique hotel Silvana is located 300 meters above the town of Zermatt and easy to reach with the Matterhorn-Express-Gondola in 10 minutes. It offers all the comforts you can expect. 21 cosy rooms, wellness spa with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath, native lounge, bar and an unique restaurant with open fireplace, personal and familiar service and plentiful food. Let’s make our home your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Silvana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvana Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing